We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Hotel is in a great position close to the waterfront with all its restaurants and shops. Our room was good with a nice view over the water. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of food offered.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    382
    128
    18
    17
See reviews for
179
378
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here for one night on the journey between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth. Not only is this a great location, with several resturants nearby, the room was well appointed and very comfortable.
Breakfast was included in our package and was excellent.
The staff were very helpful.
If we have the privilege of returning to South Africa this is a place we could return to.

Room Tip: We had a lagoon view room with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twowheelstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Stayed at this hotel as part of our south african holiday.
we had just come from a Protea hotel in george which was just as bad. The hotel seemed really nice on the outside. We got to our room and there was a mold problem in the shower and when i opened the tolit lid i was horrified. I at first assumed my partner had used the toilet and the flush hadnt gone properly or it wasnt working but he hadnt used the toilet! there were both types of human waste in there so obviously the cleaner hadnt cleaned the toilet since the last people were there. they staff offered to have some one come up and flush and clean the tolit but as we had been out all day in outshoorn and driven there and wanted to go to bed we didnt worry about it. breakfast okay great area not great hotel.

dont use any protea hotel in s.a except for fire and ice capetwon.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelagent1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPlace, Louisiana
Level Contributor
277 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Knysna Quays has beautiful views of the lagoon and waterfront with many stores and restaurants. It's a short walk to main street where you'll find local history and more shopping including grocery stores.

When we first arrived the bathroom door was closed and when opened the smell was bad; we left it open and when we returned from dinner the smell had dissipated. Light bulb was missing in lamp over desk, but was soon replaced by housekeeping. Space between tv console and desk was very tight.

Everything else about the hotel was very good. Room 237 overlooked the front parking lot, but the room was very quiet. It was clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast buffet was good and varied, with eggs cooked to order.

Free internet. Staff was polite and helpful. No surprises at check-out.

We were there for two nights, but would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grip652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Great location near all the shops and restaurants.
Rooms are clean but quite basic.
The heater/air conditioner was incredibly noisy - in hindsight maybe it was faulty and we should have reported it.....
Breakfast buffet is good - lots of basic choices

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TempeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
118 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Would recommend this hotel based on the nice modern rooms, locations and views. Some things did go wrong during our stay: the PC stations had no Internet connectivity and there were issues with the hotel retrieving the reservation and billing the breakfast charges in time for check out. Breakfast was very good. Felt that it was a little overpriced as the property itself is quite basic but would recommend staying here based on the location and standard of the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

The hotel is located just next to the waterfront which is full of nice shopping and eating options
Besides the superb location the rooms we had were wonderful -nice sized quay facing rooms .
Breakfast was also a nice buffet with good options
The hotel had a PC on each floor for the guests which was an added bonus
There was nice lobby area on each floor if you just wanted to relax
The check in and check out was smooth
The only negative is that this is a very popular hotel for groups so sometimes you do have a lot of noise at the reception due to group check in/check out
We strongly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farimads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
6.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.5 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing