We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“waterfront”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed on our trip to South Africa late this year a couple of nights at the Protea Hotel in Knysna. A Great Hotel in the middle of the Knysna Waterfront. High standard, large room with
huge beds overlooking the marina. Nice pool and garden. However the rest of the hotel is nothing special. The breakfast was plentiful. There are great restaurants on the waterfront. By car it is not far from the beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhishekG_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear AbhishekG_Mumbai,

Warm greetings from the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again soon.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder

General Manager
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    392
    134
    19
    18
See reviews for
192
389
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2011

From the helpful & friendly car park attendant, my experience just got better & better, the check in staff knew my name before I had even introduced myself & everything was ready & waiting! Rooms & views are awesome! Fantastic experience overall, thank you!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM26DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear MM26DS,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

Wow, I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated all of them for doing such an outstanding job!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Paul Fielder

General Manager
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Hotel is in a great position close to the waterfront with all its restaurants and shops. Our room was good with a nice view over the water. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of food offered.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here for one night on the journey between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth. Not only is this a great location, with several resturants nearby, the room was well appointed and very comfortable.
Breakfast was included in our package and was excellent.
The staff were very helpful.
If we have the privilege of returning to South Africa this is a place we could return to.

Room Tip: We had a lagoon view room with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twowheelstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Stayed at this hotel as part of our south african holiday.
we had just come from a Protea hotel in george which was just as bad. The hotel seemed really nice on the outside. We got to our room and there was a mold problem in the shower and when i opened the tolit lid i was horrified. I at first assumed my partner had used the toilet and the flush hadnt gone properly or it wasnt working but he hadnt used the toilet! there were both types of human waste in there so obviously the cleaner hadnt cleaned the toilet since the last people were there. they staff offered to have some one come up and flush and clean the tolit but as we had been out all day in outshoorn and driven there and wanted to go to bed we didnt worry about it. breakfast okay great area not great hotel.

dont use any protea hotel in s.a except for fire and ice capetwon.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelagent1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPlace, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Knysna Quays has beautiful views of the lagoon and waterfront with many stores and restaurants. It's a short walk to main street where you'll find local history and more shopping including grocery stores.

When we first arrived the bathroom door was closed and when opened the smell was bad; we left it open and when we returned from dinner the smell had dissipated. Light bulb was missing in lamp over desk, but was soon replaced by housekeeping. Space between tv console and desk was very tight.

Everything else about the hotel was very good. Room 237 overlooked the front parking lot, but the room was very quiet. It was clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast buffet was good and varied, with eggs cooked to order.

Free internet. Staff was polite and helpful. No surprises at check-out.

We were there for two nights, but would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grip652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Great location near all the shops and restaurants.
Rooms are clean but quite basic.
The heater/air conditioner was incredibly noisy - in hindsight maybe it was faulty and we should have reported it.....
Breakfast buffet is good - lots of basic choices

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TempeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
6.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing