We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view and comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I loved the Protea Hotel, Knysna Quays.The view from our tiny balcony was amazing. It overlooked the swimming pool of the hotel and the breathtaking Knysna Lagoon.I could not stop taking photographs of the lagoon. Every hour the beauty of the lagoon changed with the change in sky colour.The different coloured little boats with hulls parked at the lagoon added to the beauty.

I liked the centrally placed wooden staircase of the 3 storied hotel. It always tempted us in walking up and down rather than taking the lift. The staircase was a special attraction to my young daughter. The heated and warm swimming pool also gave a lot of joy to her.

The room was also very comfortable. The Eartherapy body wash and shampoo smelt like our Indian Multani mitti, which reminded me of home.

Only the absence of Disney Channel in the TV upset my daughter a little.

Believe me! The stay and view was and is memorable.

Room Tip: Take a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mukherjeeparamita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Dear mukherjeeparamita

What a wonderful way to start the day!

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments as we always strive to meet and exceed our GUESTS’ expectations. Also be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder

General Manager
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

Location is close to the main waterfront strip, a few minutes walk away which is great for restaurants. However our room was on the ground floor, far from the reception and too close to the waterfront main strip (Approx 1-2 meters between the bedroom patio door and the public walking strip) with just a small railing in between so for security purposes this could be improved especially with being on the ground floor. Bedroom is of a 3 star standard, fine for a short stay. Car park is large and secure. Pool area is fine however took a while to get a drink - This however could have just been a off day as we were only there for 2 days. Overall its good value but ask for a room on +1 level.

Room Tip: Request a room on upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charl-w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Charl-w,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor and to write down your additional feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Paul Fielder

General Manager
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This was our first stay at a Protea property. It will not be the last. My spouse especially selected this hotel as one of the best hotels on our SA tour. The location of the property on the waterfront was nice enough. Then the rooms were the kicker, the cherry on top, so to speak. The roooms were roomy, had nice baths and just all around nice with a contemporary look. The fact that it was easily accessible to Knysna shopping and restaurants made our stay throughly enjoyable. The staff was very good and were always helpful. We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Good day FloridaCaribman

Warm greetings from South Africa!

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Paul Fielder

General Manager
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a SA tour in September and the location is probably the best in Knysna town with the waterfront and shops just outside. We had rooms on the lagoon side with lovely views of the Marina. Worth noting that the rooms had multiple electricity sockets , including standard UK.This is a very modern property so perhaps lacking a little in character, but it is a very attractive and well appointed hotel, a good 4-star standard
Maybe it was just me, but I thought the beds were supremely comfortable and slept really well here ! Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice.
All in all, a very good stay, would be happy to visit again

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Dear PowysWales_UK,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor further to your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and that you enjoyed your stay with us on the Knysna Waterfront. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Warm regards from sunny South Africa!

Paul Fielder

General Manager
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed in this hotel earlier this year. I had pre-booked and pre-paid for three nights, but could not get there on the first night, I had let the hotel know about it. I arrived mid morning on the second day and expected to be allowed into my already paid for room, only to be told by the receptionist that I could not get into the room until sometime in the afternoon. I was not too impressed with that response. Fortunately another receptionist was a bit more switched on and sorted the matter out. The best thing that the hotel has going for it is location. The rooms were average, however the a/c was noisy. The best thing about the hotel was the breakfast.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank JockBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Dear JockBerks,

Thank you for your feedback further to your stay with us in January 2011.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong.

Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hotel Knysna Quays Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder

General Manager
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Very well located in the Knysna Waterfront. The town main road (more shops and bars) are 5min by foot away. Quiet hotel with an open airy feel. Beautiful views towards the lagoon and jetty. Great restaurans and shops literally outside the hotel. Rooms are averge for a 4* hotel but comfortable. Breakfast is ample and the staff is attentive. Polite and at hand. The best thing about this hotel is its tranquility and location.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carelbotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Good day carelbotha,

Thank you for the positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder

General Manager
Protea Hotel Knysna Quay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed on our trip to South Africa late this year a couple of nights at the Protea Hotel in Knysna. A Great Hotel in the middle of the Knysna Waterfront. High standard, large room with
huge beds overlooking the marina. Nice pool and garden. However the rest of the hotel is nothing special. The breakfast was plentiful. There are great restaurants on the waterfront. By car it is not far from the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbhishekG_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear AbhishekG_Mumbai,

Warm greetings from the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again soon.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder

General Manager
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
829 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £99 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing