We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Our room had the best view imaginable of the lagoon and Knysna Heads. No balcony but large sliding glass door. The room was spotless and everything in it appeared new. The hotel was very busy (New Year) and breakfast was a shambles. Long queue for eggs and only 1 chef and to make matters worse it was necessary to part this queue to access the 1 toaster. The pool was also very cloudy, we didn't use it. Would certainly stay here again but some rooms overlook the car park and the water view made it for us.

Room Tip: Room 205 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear rdv

Thank you for completing a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    389
    133
    18
    18
See reviews for
191
385
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed with you from the 20th-22nd of Decémber 2011. Was absolutely wonderful! Staff are very friendly and helpful. Had such a wonderful time and on our way back to CT we decided to stay over for one more night. Unfortunately a smokers room was allocated to us without us knowing it. As we are non smokers the smell in the room and bedding wasn't nice at all. If we knew it was a smokers room we wouldn't have stayed there. As we already paid by the time we reached our room, there wasn't much to do about the situation. Despite this, we will still go back to the Knysna Quays Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liezelpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear liezelpace

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor and to write down your additional feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job! We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the allocation of the smoking room on your return to our hotel.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hotel Knysna Quays Hospitality at its best!

Yours Sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The rooms are quite small, bt there are many luxuries in the rooms, the best room to get is the lagoon facing room because the view is extremely beautiful,and the staff are very helpful.The shops are basically a few metres away from the hotel itself and the pool at the hotel is clean

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hanro567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear Hanro567

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate my TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Wishing you and your family a wonderful Festive Season!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

This hotel has rooms facing inland and to sea. I would strongly recommend the sea view rooms. The lagoon has no wave noises so it is possible to sleep with the french window at your balcony open all night. Although the quay shopping and restaurants are literally outside your window there was hardly any noise as most of the restaurants were shut after 10o'clock.The swimming pool is wonderful, clean and sparkling, just as you'd want it. Walk out of the back gate and you are shopping and eating.....wonderful. The breakfast is very, very good, so stock up for the day. The town of Knysna is on your front door with all the shops you would expect to find in SA, plus more restaurants..........all in all a really good hotel and location.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear Dennis C

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations.

I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities. We were delighted to receive your commendations about the hotel facilities and location. Please be assured that I will also congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

From all of us at the Quays, we wish you a wonderful Festive Season!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Great location, beautiful setting! Our room was very comfortable. The location was convenient to the waterfront and shopping. The view of the lagoon outside our guestroom window was lovely. Our breakfast was included and very good. I connected easily with home via the included wifi. I have absolutely no complaints.

What I loved was the walking tour of the Featherbed Reserve and lunch under the milkwood trees!!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaMapleSyrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear CanadaMapleSyrup

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the TripAdvisor review that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are absolutely delighted to receive your compliments!

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Wishing you and your family a wonderful Festive Season!

Best wishes,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west england
Level Contributor
394 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here for three nights as part of a tour group. Hotel is modern and well placed on the waterfront. Rooms are nicely furnished , with two double beds, and there’s coffee making facilities in the room. They offer a very efficient same day laundry service.

The hotel does not offer dinner and breakfast was by way of a rather disappointing buffet service. Eggs are cooked to order but we found most other supposedly hot items to be barely warm. This might just be understandable towards the end of service but not at 7am. The other problem was getting served with hot drinks, particularly top-ups. The staff seemed disorganised and it was evident there was no manager on duty giving supervision.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank harters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Good day harters,

Thank you for completing a review on TripAdvisor. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during breakfast service. Your experience of the service delivery overall most certainly does not reflect the high standard that Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that your concerns have been addressed with my Food and Beverage Manager and that corrective action is being taken to rectify the shortcomings.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again in the near future. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder

General Manager
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This hotel rooms were comparable to a mid-priced American chain hotel. Rooms and bathrooms were only okay. Our the view of the lagoon was nice. The serious downside was that most of the people staying there seemed to arrive on tour buses, and they were often noisy and inconsiderate into the evening. Breakfast was plentiful, a large buffet with made to order eggs. We felt very sorry for the staff in the restaurant because many of the "guests" were rude and pushy. Staff was nice and helpful. I would be hard-pressed to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mxalpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear mxalpert

Thank you for taking the time to complete a GUEST review on TripAdvisor. I can assure you that your comments will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service levels and facilities.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment you experienced as a result of the noise during your stay. I can only assume that your stay was over a period when we had several tour groups in-house and the evening bulk arrivals or dinner departures resulted in the noise as referred to above. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

I can assure you, should you stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again, that every effort will be made to ensure that you enjoy our true hospitality!

Should you require any further assistance from our side, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Kind regards,

Paul Fielder

General Manager
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
801 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
6.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing