We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything to offer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everything to offer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

This hotel is superbly situated on the waterfront at Knysna and has everything you need for your stay. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the service from all the members of staff is great. The best point of all is the wonderful selection on offer at breakfast time. There is a wide variety of fresh fruits, breads, cereals and muffins as well as a cooked breakfast. A member of staff holds court to prepare eggs or individual omelettes while you wait.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs if you stay in the summer months. The air con units work very well but they are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear t4resaxx,

Thank you for completing a review on TripAdvisor after your stay with us.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon.

We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Kind Regards,

Paul Fielder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    381
    128
    18
    17
See reviews for
179
377
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here quite a few times but this was the first with both our kids. We had very welcoming staff especially the one porter (regrettably we didn't catch his name), smiles all around, great buffet breakfast, very clean lagoon facing room with double beds and room service for when the kids were tired! Or perhaps we were the tired ones...? Our only concern, which we have never had before, was the beer bottle and cigarette stompies outside our lagoon facing door (on ground level) and after returning from the day out, we found it both unlocked and slightly ajar. We assume this was the cleaning staff. Nothing was missing thankfully and we made a verbal report to reception who undertook to investigate it further. Otherwise great as always!

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank peLIPPSTREU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear peLIPPSTREU,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a online GUEST comment on TripAdvisor by writing down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of one of our porters in particular are highly valued.

We are extremely saddened by your feedback regarding the beer bottle, cigarette buds on your ground floor, as well as your lagoon-facing door being found unlocked. As you are aware, Protea Hotel Knysna Quays prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently. We will attend to this matter and address the neccesary STAFF members.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again soon.

Paul Fielder
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Amazing location BUT be sure that you get a lagune facing room. After numerous requests to the Hotel to be allocated a lagune or waterfront facing room we got a train station facing room. Terrible!!! The busses start their engins early morning - we have kept the curtains closed the whole week-end. Our Prokard dining benefits were not allocated to us - I had to request this - sorry but this is not the service I want to received from a 4 star hotel. Will not go back.

Room Tip: Please make sure to get a lagune facing room. If nothing available contact another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariette101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear mariette101

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient and friendly, personalised service. Your comments, together with the others we receive, are being analysed and will be instrumental in helping us to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

We sincerely apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. Further to your feedback as stated above, we have e-mailed you a personal response to your e-mail address on Monday, 04 March 2013.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss your service experience with me in more detail.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

nice clean hotel with very decent internet (not all places in SA have this) and close to some nice places to eat. A nice place to break to garden route into two. Breakfast was very good as well and staff were excellent

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Martin M,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a online review and to give us your personal feedback regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel knysna Quays.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient and that you find our internet service helpful.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations.

Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again soon.

Your Sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Very average, bland, run of the mill hotel. Rooms were very small especially with a baby, there was literally no room to move at all. If we had to go back to our room we basically went to sleep because it was so cramped and there was nowhere to go without waking the baby. The pool area was ok, nothing special. Location wise it was good for the marina but we were very underwhelmed with the restaurants there - all chips and meal deals! Would not stay at is hotel or in this part of knysna again if we came back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear tam75,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a online review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient and friendly, personalised service. Your comments, together with the others we receive, are being analysed and will be instrumental in helping us to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

We are extremely saddened by your feedback. As you are aware, Protea Hotel Knysna Quays prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently. Your overall experience is therefore very concerning to us.

Could you please contact us should you wish to discuss the shortcomings in more detail in order for me to investigate your comments thoroughly.

Kind regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Like the other Protea Hotels we stayed in on our trip , this hotel is in a great location but it is an ordinary hotel trying to present itself as something special. Everything in this hotel is just OK ,nobody goes the extra mile! The walls to the rooms are thin, so pray for good neighbours.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear David F

I refer to your recently completed review on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely saddened by your feedback. As you are aware, Protea Hotel Knysna Quays prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently. Your overall experience is therefore very concerning to us.

Could you please contact us should you wish to discuss the shortcomings in more detail in order for me to investigate your comments thoroughly.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further assistance whatsoever.

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Really nice and relaxed hotel right on the front of the Quay.

Ideal base to explotre Knysna for a couple of days, staff were very relaxed and helpful, breaksfats were superb, and rooms very comfortable

Room Tip: sak for a lagoon facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PRSLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear PRSLeicester

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the housekeeping and breakfast STAFF for their excellent service!

Your comments are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays in the near future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
6.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.5 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing