We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The location of this hotel is fantastic, right next to the waterfront and just seconds from the bars and restaurants. Super views from the sea-facfing rooms. Our room had 2 double beds and was spacious enough for 2 adults and a child. Free Wifi was appreciated. The swimming pool is lovely and warm and a decent size - great for the children. Drinks are a sensible price. Breakfast was good for food options but poor for service. We often waited for a long time to get someone to bring coffe/tea and the clearing of the tables was slow. The dining room is quite small so when it gets busy it can be difficult to find a seat and some guests had to eat in the bar - not a particular problem except that it was even more difficult to get the attention of staff for tea etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear sophia27,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor review after your recent stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

We apologise for the inconvenience that you experienced in our Breakfast restaurant due to the lack of attention, which led to poor and inconsistent service. I can assure you that this is not the proud service that Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is usually proud to offer.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. The matter has been addressed with the relevant Management & STAFF members.

Thank you for helping us strive towards excellence!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

A nice hotel in an excellent location. Positives: Convenient for restaurants and bars, secure parking is reassuring, breakfast excellent with a huge array on offer and spotlessly clean.
Negatives: a little characterless but it is a chain hotel
Worth paying the extra to get a view of the marina rather than over the town

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy_200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Daisy_200,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel is right next to the secure waterfront shopping area and restaurants and it's just a few minutes from the town centre. I stayed as part of an organised tour but was very happy with it. helpful reception staff too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear kuepper,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the Trip Advisor review that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. .

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again soon!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Modern hotel with a room overlooking knysna lagoon and harbour. The hotel offers an excellent breakfast buffet , they do not offer evening meals but the hotel is within the harbour area that has many restaurants and eateries. In an ideal location for accessing the featherbed nature reserve which is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ensure that you have a harbour view as the other side of the hotel overlooks a carpark.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear S R,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review after your stay with us and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about our fantastic location.

Please be assured that I will congratulate our restaurant TEAM for doing a great job on our delicious buffet breakfast.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We liked this hotel. It is clean, modern and comfortable, with a lovely setting right next to Knysna harbour. Breakfast was good but that is the only meal available. There are however good restaurants close by - JJs was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the harbour
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POSH94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear POSH94,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you have posted after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We were delighted to receive your compliments and it was our pleasure to accommodate you.Your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

We apologise for the disappointment with regards to our hotel being a breakfast restaurant only, as we try to provide our GUESTS with a variety of restaurants to choose from, within the Knysna Waterfront.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel on honeymoon for three nights in honeymoon. It had a great location on the waterfront at Knysna. We were disappointed to find that the hotel does not serve lunch or dinner and there is no room service available. We found the breakfast at the hotel to be average at best. The pool which was heated was quiet dirty on the floor which was a bit off putting. On checking out we found the staff member to be quiet rude. We were not asked how we enjoyed or stay but simply told to 'fill this out' which was a customer review sheet. Overall I could only describe this hotel is average at best. It is a push to be a four star hotel and after staying in fantastic guesthouses and hotels through out our stay in South Africa this was well down the pecking order.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Engynumber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Engynumber2,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online GUEST review after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We apologise for the inconvenience which you experienced throughout your stay. It is most certainly not the standard we strive to achieve. Please be assured that your comments has been addressed in detail with the relevant management and STAFF, to rectify the shortcomings.

We would kindly like to point out that Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is contracted to four restaurants within the Knysna Quays waterfront, which gives our GUESTS the option to bill the account to their rooms. Two of the restaurants we are contacted to, offers room service for GUESTS, being the Falcon Creek Spur and JJ's restaurant.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was by far the worst hotel we had stayed in during our trip to South Africa. The rooms were small, the bathroom was basic and the breakfast in the morning can only be described as a scrum. This hotel was so full we ended up eating at the tables situated outside the restaurant entrance for breakfast, the plates got cleared very slowly, the food was not replenished quick enough and the staff attentiveness was not very good at all. Our room was located in an outside corridor with a stone floor, so throughout the night we heard cases being dragged past our bedroom door. It was not quiet. We did submit our comments to the hotel on departure, surprisingly enough, there has been no response since. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juliah_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear julia_8,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We are extremely saddened by your feedback. As you are aware, Protea Hotel Knysna Quays prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently. Your overall experience is therefore very concerning to us.

Could you please contact us should you wish to discuss the shortcomings in more detail in order for me to investigate your comments thoroughly.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further assistance whatsoever.

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
822 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.7 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
380 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £87 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing