We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“positive surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I thought the biggest plus of this hotel is the perfect location at the Knysna Waterfront but I was pleasantly surprised by the excellent breakfast, a very helpful staff at reception, big TV channel selection and a clean room. Only downside at my room was the noise since it was located close to some (probably) washing machines. Will be back..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JogM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear JogM M,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations.

I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete an online GUEST review after your recent stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve our service standards and facilities, where necessary.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered by our reception STAFF - I will certainly congratulate our TEAM for doing such a great job!

We apologise for the inconvenience caused as per the noise that you mentioned. Kindly inform our reservationists about this room when making your next booking, in order to avoid allocating you in that room again.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel is great place to base yourself mid route. Rooms are clean comfortable and the staff helpful and there is good secure parking.
Breakfast menu is good and the hotel is near some excellent restuarants for evening meals.
Swimming Pool in the spring is good as they heat this in the summer months this would not be needed. You need a room overlooking the bay as the inside facing rooms do look a bit souless. Views from our room however were stunning.

Room Tip: In the summer months I think the breakfast restuarant would find it difficult to cope. I would sugge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Chris W,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you completed during your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance/queries you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again and to be hearing from you soon again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed overnight in lagoon facing room 209 overlooking the lagoon & marina.
Rooms are spacious with everything you need & well maintained.
Excellent breakfast buffet with wide variety, probably one of the best breakfast selections I have experienced along the Garden Route.
Very friendly & attentative staff who makes you feel welcome & at home.

Room Tip: Go for lagoon facing if you can. Non lagoon facing rooms with same amenities, however, facing parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Miriam C,

Thank you very much for posting a TripAdvisor comment after your recent stay with us here at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, our service standards and facilities, where necessary.

GUESTS', as well as our CLIENT's perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations.

Miriam, we were delighted to receive your expert commendations about the impressive service offered - Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays once again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night while on our honeymoon - the staff knew this and had a welcome/congratulations sign for us at the front desk and a bottle of sparkling wine in our upgraded room. Despite the upgrade we still found it very expensive for what you get. The hotel is very clean and quiet - perfectly situated at the marina attached to many cute shops and restaurants. Our only regret was having breakfast at the hotel, it was very pricy for the area, and there were many other restaurants nearby we could have gone to instead.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Tanya L,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the Trip Advisor comment that you posted after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate our STAFF you commended for their exemplary service during your honeymoon.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again in the near future!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Lovely clean hotel with staff that is friendly and knowledgeable. We ate our evening meals in one of the many waterfront restaurants that are adjacent to the property. I can/t think of a single negative.

Room Tip: ask for a lagoon-view room-wonderful to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkdkdkdkdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear dkdkdkdkdk,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you posted after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service. It warms our hearts knowing that we have satisfied our GUESTS' needs in every possible way!

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We hope to have the priviledge of welcoming you back to our hotel, soon.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A very comfortable, clean hotel with excellent views of the lagoon. Convenient location for the shops and a short walk to a new shopping mall. Arrived in heavy rain and had to move rooms because of an electrical issue. This was done efficiently by very helpful staff with minimum fuss. Breakfast good choice and variety, very good omelette. Enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lagoon for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear ajb52,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a online review on Trip Advisor and to state your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

I am delighted to hear that our STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations.

Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Modern, clean, light and airy, open plan reception with patio area and pool right on the quayside.
Very busy for breakfast but very good selection and a nice relaxed feel about the place. Good access to quay or town centre all walking distance with a nice safe feel. Also walked to Thesen island with nice cafe's.

Room Tip: Rooms face either the lagoon or the road. we had road facing but superb double/double glazing = no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear berni p,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the Trip Advisor comment that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are most delighted to receive your compliments. We feel rewarded when we meet AND exceed our GUESTS expecatations.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
861 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
2.5 mi away
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#9 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £94 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing