We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed just after christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The rooms are not huge, but its nice. The hotel is brilliantly located. The breakfast is plentiful and fresh and hot. There is hotel parking and its very very safe to walk anywhere from here. We went as a family of four and had a room with two double beds and a balcony overlooking the small but nice pool.. It was big enough for all of us and all our luggage and we have super memories. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was good. We liked it.

Room Tip: we had a two double bedded room wth balocny overlooking the pool. We liked it very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear CarolineJames,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. I wish to assure you that we will congratulate the TEAM for doing an outstanding job!

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Knysna and the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again in the near future.

From all of us at the hotel, thank you again.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We visited the hotel during the busy season of the Xmas holidays. From the moment we arrived at the hotel parking, we were greeted and welcomed by the staff - even the cleaning staff from the contract cleaning company made a special effert to greet us with a friendly smile. This can only be achieved by dedicated management.

The hotel is very child friendly without making adults feel out of place. The hotel is part of the quays with plenty of options of restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the marina side on one of the upper levels for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenE0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear KarenE0

Wow, thank you for this wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Pros: Spacious rooms, friendly staff, great location (1 min walking distance to the pier and all the shops/restaurants), free breakfast, free internet, cheap car parking (R25 per day), heated salt water (no chlorine) pool!

Cons: Bathrooms could definitely use an update!. Our travel agent had requested non-smoking rooms at the time of booking, but when we arrived they had assigned us the ONLY 2 smoking rooms in the whole hotel, saying they never received that request! After some pushing, they switched one of our rooms to a non-smoking room but were unable to do the same for the second room. Disappointing experience, given we had made the reservation over 2 months in advance!!!

Overall, not a bad hotel. I might stay here again but I'd definitely triple check to make sure they weren't giving me a smoking room! Also, make sure to request sea-facing room - the view/noise does make a difference.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear candyichiban

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in South Africa?

Please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment you experienced as a result of the allocation of smoking rooms during your stay with us.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

I can assure you, should you stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again, that every effort will be made to ensure that you enjoy our true hospitality!

From all of us at the Quays, thank you again and we wish you a wonderful New Year!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
65
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Room is far too small for what you pay. Shower could only cater for small people. We stayed there for 2 days and for almost half that period we had no water to bath or drink or flush toilets. They did not have any backup systems. Does not compare to any other protea hotel we stayed at while travelling! Will never return!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel had be booked for us as part of a package by trailfinders for our honeymoon. The location of the hotel is good, however it is in no way a hotel for honeymooners

The rooms are very basic. They are clean, had wifi but a bit dated. Breakfast was included in price and was ok. Swimming pool is heated but small and when we were there was full with kids and could not get in

In short fine for quick business trip but not for a romantic stay

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JonnyandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear JonnyandJules

Thank you for completing a TripAdvisor review.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a sports tour. A very nice location with the Waterfront just behind the hotel. It is equipped with a nice swimming pool. Check in was smooth and easy, rooms were spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and there was a wide selection. Overall, the hotel and service was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atiwary389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear atiwary389

Thank you for completing this review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

We were delighted to receive your feedback about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

We agree with your comment, the Waterfront makes for the perfect backdrop and the location is easily accessible to all major activities and attractions.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in South Africa!

Yours Sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The stay at this hotel will always be cherished, wonderful location, excellent spread of breakfast, friendly staff. However the pool needs more cleaning...but nevertheless the stay was was comfortable overlooking the harbour.
we would definitely recommend our Indian friends and relatives to visit this property when in South Africa... Big thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Nisha N

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us, it is much appreciated! We are delighted to receive your feedback and we have noted your comments regarding the pool – we are monitoring the quality of the water very closely.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
848 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £95 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing