We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Nearby Hotels
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hide Away Guest House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$271
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (929)
Filter reviews
929 results
Traveller rating
295
442
151
21
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
442
151
21
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationknysna quaystwo double bedslagoon facing roomheated poolmodern hoteldirect accessgarden routechoice of restaurantsgood sizebuffet breakfastwater frontsecure parkingwaterfront areacape towncomfortable roomssouth africa
Filter
Updating list...
496 - 501 of 929 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Here for 3 nights and the room was very small and dark with no balcony and views from a small window over the car park and the car parking attendant's hut. Hotel was very quiet and we asked if we could change our room but the staff would have none of that unless we wanted to pay more money so they were obviously not out to please their guests. Breakfast was very good. Restaurants on the Quay at first sight appeared to be of the 'fast food' type which was not what we expected but after a good checkout we did find a couple of pleasant places to eat. Would look at the Plettenburg area if we visited this area again.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room on the Marina side.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Lynne H,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. We would, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a online GUEST review after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. I can assure you that your comments will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service levels and facilities.

Unfortunately the room that you booked, is one of our standard rooms, which would explain why you were quoted the extra R300 upgrade fee to our superior room-type, i,e our Lagoon Facing rooms. We apologize for any inconvenience caused throughout your stay, as this is not the standard that we strive to achieve with our highly valued GUESTS.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us and we thank you for helping us strive towards excellence.

We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely

Paul Fielder,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Loved our recent 2 night stay at this Hotel.

The very sleek, modern design is a real eyecatcher. Lovely pool area. Free internet stations on every floor is a real winner (why don't all Hotels offer this??). A+ location, a 1 minute stroll to the waterfront restaurants and bars. A super comfortable double room with a water view. What else do you need? An excellent breakfast buffet with enough hot and cold options to suit every taste to complete the package.

It's a 10 minute walk into town for other services (mail, laundry, shopping etc). There's no better place to enjoy beautiful Knysna than a stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear CBK23,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor comment after your stay with us. We assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about our hotel and very pleased knowing that we have met your expectations, as this is what we strive for with each and every one of our GUESTS.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Warm regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Spent 2 nights here whilst travelling on the garden route. This modern hotel is located on the busy quayside which is very convenient for the shops and activities here but means that you need to walk a little to see the rest of the town. Breakfast is served in the hotel but you need to go out for dinner - which isn't a problem given the number of restaurants around.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maybeormaybenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Maybeormaybenot,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the TripAdvisor comment that you posted after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying at our wonderful property.

It was our utmost pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Having stayed one night in this hotel in the past and driving up from Cape Town where we stayed in another Protea. I was hoping the hotel was as good as I remembered and I wasn't disappointed. All the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. When we got to the room we were completely surprised to find a bottle of beautiful wine from Tangled Tree and shortbread. What an amazing surprise that I just had to tweet about it!!!!!! Breakfast was lovely and kept us going until dinner. Julius on the bar makes the best cocktails (quay cruise) and nothing was too much trouble for staff. The location is brilliant. JJ's do a good meal. You must visit Knysna Elephants, Monkeyland and Birds of Eden if you like animals. Thank you Protea Knysna Quay for a lovely stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ChezUK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear ChezUK25

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor comment during your stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Not the worst hotel in the world. Maybe I'm being unfair as I've came here from 5* hotels. Clean. Friendly enough. Average breakfast.
Lovely location and 1 minute walk from the first of 10 or so bars and restaurants nearby.
Does what it says on the tin really...

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear JKC999,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a online GUEST review after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

Your feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotels again in the near future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews