We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An average stay ”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Must say that the more I stay at this hotel the more average it becomes.
No one goes out there way.
Breakfast is just very average and service still lacking a bit.
The hotel rooms are clean and there is a beautiful view of the lake
Very well situated.
Only reason I keep staying over is because it is part of the protea hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EugenevanLogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear EugenevanLogg,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor.

Please note that our Rooms Division Manager has personally responded to your concerns via e-mail, to follow-up for further investigation.

Should you have any additional questions/concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel at 044 382 5005.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    397
    135
    19
    18
See reviews for
196
394
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jabalpur, India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

one of the better located hotels in knysna, good spacious lobby with outdoor swimming pool is inviting. the dining area is nice and quiet. we got a lagoon facing room and could see yachts lined up just outside our room. overall an excellent stay. also they gave us complimentary 2 hrs wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParinSayani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear ParinSayani,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review after your recent stay here at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

Your highly valued feedback helps us understand what we are doing right, therefore thank you for helping us strive towards excellence.

It was a pleasure to accommodate you and we hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, soon!Please be sure to contact us directly for your next booking, to assure our personal attention at all times.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

After a long drive for Cape Town this hotel and it's location was a nice surprise. The rooms overlooking the bay were just beautiful. The rooms are modern with the regular amenities, nice shower and views of the harbor. I can imagine this place to get really busy with the boats that park outside of room views as even in the off season when we visited we could hear people talking in their boats.
The service was excellent with an extensive Buffett breakfast that was included in our room price. Every where we walked in the hotel, staff would smile and ask us how everything was going which was really nice.
I am taking one star off- because they make you pay for parking 25 rand which if you have a car you have no choice but to pay it since there is no other place to park your car. It seemed unfair given that rooms are pricey here and parking should be validated for hotel guests.
Overall I would stay here again if we were to visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lyah78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Lyah78,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of the sufficient service of our STAFF are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job!

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. With regards to the parking charge mentioned; our secured parking is charged at R25.00 per night, but our GUESTS have the option to make use of the Waterfront parking adjacent our entrance, which is free, but unsecured. We apologise for not communicating this information to you and please be sure that this has been taken up with the relevant department for corrective action.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon.

We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Very friendly staff and excellent location - secure parking. The hotel has no restaurant ( except for breakfast) - and I understand room service is ordered from restaurants at the waterfront. The bed was not great - probably need a new mattress.THe other negative is that the hotel is noisy - the walls or doors must be very thin because we were woken up early in the morning by people walking past our room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEALLLUVTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Greetings WEALLLUVTRAVEL,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

Your valued input, together with the others that we receive, is of vital importance to us, as we always want to, not only meet, but exceed all our GUESTS' expectations on a daily basis.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment you experienced with regards to our bed quality, as this certainly does not reflect the high standard of service that we at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays are usually proud to offer. Our mattresses are checked on a daily basis,but we have addressed this matter with the relevant management and STAFF, to ensure that this does not happen again.

As for the noise levels, unfortunately our lagoon-facing corridors are made of black slate tiles, as our corridors are open-aired. Please be sure to mention this concern upon your next booking, in order for us to suggest a room type with carpet corridors.

We hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best, and we look forward to hearing from you, soon!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My family and I stayed for a weekend at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. Our room was perfectly situated overlooking the Lagoon and Knysna Heads. We were walking distance from the waterfront,shops etc.. Defenitly a must if you visit Knysna.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahdeelf1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Ahdeelf1308,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the TripAdvisor review that you completed after your stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We value your positive feedback, as it is vitally important to us to ensure that all our GUESTS' expectations are met, with each stay.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at the Knysna Quays hotel previously. The location is good as it is situated right on the lagoon with a view over the harbour. It is also within walking distance of the Waterfront, so all in all a good area to stay in.
Unfortunately the service at this hotel has deteriorated since we stayed there previously. Apart from the front desk staff, I didn't see one other staff member smiling or greeting us. The rooms are OK. It is not really very big rooms, but if you have a lagoon view room it is actually not too bad. The shower could be a bit cleaner - it was dirty and mouldy in the corners, but apart from that the room is not too bad. We didnt have hot water on the first morning, but we mentioned it to the front desk and they explained that they were aware of the problem and that it was already taken care of.
The hotel have a dining area, but it is only used for breakfast. Hotel guests can order room service from the restuarants situated in the Waterfront and for supper you are encouraged to dine at these restaurants as well. We arrived late Saturday afternoon and we wanted to order a sandwich in the bar area but were told that we couldnt order anything. It would have been nice to be able to just order a sandwich from the kitchen. The hotel has a kitchen, why can they not have the option of sandwiches?? Then I tried to order a gin and dry lemon - sorry no dry lemon!! And no, they didnt stock dry lemon for the whole weekend! The wine list is also not great at all! The barman didn't seem to be very interested in being there either!

So all that the dining area is for is for breakfast. So surely breakfast should be good. Well..... NO! It is probably the worst breakfast that we have had in ages. The lady behind the egg counter seemed like she was doing us a favour to prepare us some eggs, there was hardly any of the overdone bacon and sausages left, twice we had to ask for more bread. The one morning they were serving something like a mince and cheese bake - it was so oily that one could'nt see what it was - it was just covered with oil. And why would they serve mixed veg from a frozen packet for breakfast?? No guys.... really aweful breakfast. So if you are going to serve breakfast only - try and get it right or do not offer breakfast at all. Staff came to clear the tables while we were still siting at the table. They were clearly not taught how to remove a dirty plate from the table. They would stand opposite you and just hold out their hands so you can pass your dirty plate to them. Not the way it's usually done!

Two mornings we woke up with screaming children running around in the hotel. In fact - one actually knocked on our door at 6.30 in the morning. It seems like they have tour busses bringing these people to the hotel and they are VERY noisy.

So will we stay at this hotel again.... NO!! This is a Protea hotel and we really expected a bit more from this hotel - 3 stars only for this hotel. Bit of advise - staff training!!

Room Tip: Must be lagoon facing rooms. Try to eat breakfast elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Michelle T,

Thank you for completing a online review after your recent stay with us here at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We appreciate that you took the time to report your constructive criticism as it is absolutely necessary for us to know how our GUESTS experience our service and facilities. We value your feedback as an extremely important tool in our day to day operations, as this helps us to improve our GUESTS' stay on a day-to-day basis.

Your interest and concern are truly invaluable to us. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further assistance whatsoever.

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is very well situated in Knysna. Right on the lagoon, with views over the small craft harbour. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The staff were friendly, the breakfast is buffet style, and excellent. Rooms are modern, well equipped and comfortable. It was quite cold during our stay, and I found the aircon had only a cooling function, no heating. This hotel is very good value and quality for money. Would stay here again and recommend it. We stayed 2 nights and used it as a base to travel to the surrounding area. No kids activities though! Large, non-heated pool.

Room Tip: Get a lagoon facing room, the others face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Johan B,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the TripAdvisor review that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

Further to your comments; fortunately our outdoor pool is heated and maintained at an average temperature of 30 degrees, daily. This is however affected on a day-to-day basis by the outside temperature and weather. With regards to the air conditioning units they do have a dual function of heating and cooling.

Nevertheless we trust you enjoyed your break in Knysna and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
812 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing