We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I had spent one night in Knysna. The location of the hotel is great. My room view overlooked the Knysna lagoon. No complains there! Comfortable stay with clean room and bathroom. Quite peaceful. Staff extremely polite! I would definitely stay here again if they offer more variety in the dinner buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landwater_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
landwater_travel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a online review after your recent stay with us here at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

I am delighted to hear that our STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated the TEAM for doing such an outstanding job!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations.

Thank you for helping us strive towards excellence.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    397
    135
    19
    18
See reviews for
196
394
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I travel regularly between East London and George.
Knysna Quays is simply my home away from home. I could stay in George but I find that KNYSNA Quays offers that bit of sanity you need after a long business trip.
Staff is always helpful and tries to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BiggyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear BiggyC,

Thank you very much for taking the time during your busy schedule to post a review on our TripAdvisor page.

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I'm very happy to hear that you can call Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, your 'home away from home', as our GUESTS' experiences, are of most value to us.

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your destination in Knysna!

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next reservation and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent only one night but enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable, clean and functional, with excellent views of the marina and yacht basin. Staff was friendly and helpful with check-in and check-out quick and simple. Breakfast was good and with ample variety. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelSX4787JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear MichaelSX4787JL,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your additional comments on our TripAdvisor page.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

As a hotel, we strive not only to meet, but also exceed our GUESTS expectations, with each and every stay.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Overall it is what you expect a Protea to be, however there was some serious shortcomings in our room 308, the first annoyance was the wifi, the signal was strong but there was no speed, would take 5 minutes just to log on, then could not even download or send e-mails, my daughter could not get onto whatsup, we went to the lobby and the wifi was at least working but still sluggish,
A few maintenance issues in our room it was cold so we tried the a/c heat, it made a lot of noise and did not seem to do anything until we figured out that the flap was not opening, so switched it off.
Lastly what's with the minibar fridge and nothing inside ? not even a water bottle.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear JoVoyager

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor.

Please note that our Rooms Division Manager, Eugene Barnard has personally responded to your concerns via e-mail.

Should you have any additional questions/concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel at 044 382 5005.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here while on our honeymoon. Altough there was not a lot to do in Knysna, this hotel is in a great location for checking of the marina, restaurants and walking into town (which we did to pick up some supplies). The hotel was well appointed in terms of decor, but nothing over the top. The room was a good location, but it overlooked the pedestrian mall which meant we couldn't really open the windows. The breakfast was more than sufficient and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Jeremy W,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review of our property.

I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your honeymoon, and that our STAFF were so friendly and efficient.

Your feedback is imperative to us, as without it, we would never know what we are doing right but more importantly, what we are doing wrong!

Thank you for helping us strive towards excellence.

We hope to be accommodating you soon, in the near future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Welcome drink on arrival. Tasteful ship-like decor throughout. Rooms recently refurbished and spotless with bath and separate shower. Free wifi (200mb/day) + desktop and printer on first floor. Breakfast was good and the pancake machine entertained the kids. Beds a little soft for my liking, but a great place to stay in this quaint town with nice views over the marina.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DRS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
DRS2009,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review after recently staying with us here at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

Your feedback is highly valued and we appreciate your compliments, as our mission is not only to meet our GUESTS expectations, but to exceed them.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay along with your family and we hope to accommodate you in the future again.

Thank you for helping us strive towards excellence!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel was very good....good view over the harbour....two big beds in the room but the bathroom was a bit on the small side...breakfast was good the next morning but really not much to do at all....there's a few eateries and shops around the corner....we chose the ocean basket for lunch and spur restaurant for evening.....no bottled water in the room...they use a water filtration system so supposed to be able to drink it but it doesn't taste so good? Overcharged on our drinks from the bar..be careful what you're signing for....would stay at platenberg bay next time

Room Tip: We had lagoon view room but it was right at furthest point of the hotel...dunker didn't work for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillandDorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear BillandDorothy,

Thank you for completing a online review after your recent stay with us.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
812 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing