We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Stayed at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays for two nights in October 2010 in a lagoon facing room. Service was excellent at the hotel especially one particularly barman who entertained my three children with tricks. There is a heated pool and the restaurants are approximately 15 meters from the hotel. The hotel only serves breakfast which was not a problem as there are approximately 15 restaurants in walking distance. Only problem encountered was the colour of the water coming out of the taps which was brown and there was a sewage stench when we stayed there. Nice to wake up and watch the fisherman sorting their catch and oysters. Internet was free and parking was in a safe environment. Lots of tourists milling around and a good vibe. Definitely going back again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene261202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2010

Must say while the location is great the service lacks the international standard it strives for. I was disappointed with my so called "cove view" room since trees were blocking the view. Called the front desk for an alternate room and without making an effort they informed me they were sold out. Later on I found Cockroaches roaming thru the room and on the bed. I did not contact the Front Desk since I already was told they had no rooms available. Next morning when I complained around 9am, they inmmediately showed me 2 alternate rooms...so much for being sold out the previous night. No efforts were made to compensate for the 1st night by the duty manager. On second day noticed that the internet wa not working. Took them a day and a half to resolve the problem. Great location for roughing it on your vacation at a premium price but do not try to stay here if you are on a business trip. Perhaps by local standards it's a great hotel but you end up paying premium price for lack of service.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miles65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Waterfront location is what i found most appealing. Apart from that there is a shopping area just next to the hotel.The hotel is clean and comfortable . The view is one of a kind , the posterior part of the hotel is flanked by many yacht's. The internet is free and available to all.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler_advisor137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

This was far far better from capetonian in Capetown. A welcome change after 3 bad nights in capetown. It had much more than i expected. The rooms were good. There was everything i needed there. It was right next to the waterfront. We reached there on saturday evening which gave us very little time to explore the area around as markets are closed on sundays there. however the waterfront was open. this hotel being in the waterfront itself proved to be very comfortable for us. it is located excellentley. Very comfortable and soothing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankurgupta76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

The waterfront area is literally less that 15 footstepaway. Bed were comfy and had a good sleep there. So many shop and places to eat on the waterfront. If you in Knysna or doing the garden route well worth a stay for the price and location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cutieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Stayed at the Protea Hotel for two nights, rooms were clean. Parking was good. View from my room wasn't great as it was facing the street but that never bothered me as we weren't in the room much as there's a lot to see and do in Knysna. Location of the hotel is good right on the waterfront and close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trev81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

The location is excellent.The rooms are large and well appointed. However the rest of the hotel is nothing special. . No luches or dinners are served at the hotel (althought there are restaurants nearby) there is no bar fridge. The hotel has more of a motel feel. I dont feel it deserves a 4 star rateing and personaly would rate it as a three star. At a 4 star price range you could probaly do better.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
849 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#9 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £95 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing