We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost like home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pumula Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pumula Lodge
Ranked #19 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Uvongo
1 review
“Almost like home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

A very gracious hostess who made us feel very welcome, where nothing was too
much trouble, we had the use of a fridge and chocolates next to the bed was a very nice touch. She also suggested a very good place to have supper.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    59
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
94
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartenbos, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very good sevice and hospitality. Our purpose was an overnight stay for hospital admittance next morning, excellently situated for this purpose. Rooms a bit small but purposefull. TV can include DSTV channels

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lourens V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pumula01, Owner at Pumula Lodge, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Lourens

Thank you for taking the time to review Pumula Lodge, your comments are highly appreciated.

We are aware that the rooms are not spacious but this was determined by the layout of the original building and it was not viable to make the rooms larger. However, we try to make up for this by offering guests a communal kitchenette with lockers, a private patio, secure undercover parking, covered barbeque, a beautiful swimming pool and good service. The Tourism Grading Council of SA considers us as a 3 Star establishment which we are happy with.

We wish you well and look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
Peter and Rensia Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a fantastic place to stay, made so mostly by the owners who are wonderful at making people welcome and looking after them.. nothing was to much trouble ... please let them advise you on things to do and where to eat as they have great local knowledge Ian and Cathryn

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcatle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

A very professionally run establishment. Everything we needed in the room. A lovely welcome, and loads of information about the area, and some useful recommendations. Never felt there was any query that could not be answered.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David & Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at the lodge for 1 night on 17th March. The rooms are fairly basic however the standard of the lodge was much higher than expected. The host is great, breakfast fab and the gardens gorgeous!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ClairePrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I recently spent 3 nights here, and what a great place to rejuvenate and relax. Lovely big garden, with loads of bird life !!. Rooms are nice and basic, but really good value for a 3 star setting. What I enjoyed most about the lodge, was the Host !!. Rensia was a star, and really makes the place a home away from home !!.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capeguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was one of the nicest places we stayed on our trip around the garden route. Pieter and rensia made us so welcome. We so enjoyed the birds that were so tame in the garden and just everything about the stay was so special.
Thanks to all at the lodge(especially the ladies who did such a fab breakfast)
Roger and Ann

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank huntChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
8.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
3.8 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#15 of 126 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#18 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#12 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Bamboo the Guesthouse
#31 of 126 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.9 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pumula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pumula Lodge

Property: Pumula Lodge
Address: 7 Lindsay Street | Hunter's Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pumula Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the town of Knysna and the famous Knysna Heads, lies Pumula Lodge - "the place of rest". The lodge, with its tranquil, parkland setting where nature lovers can enjoy the abundant bird life supported by the beautiful gardens. Over 100 species have been identified.Private entrances to en-suite bedrooms each with a patio overlooking the gardens and swimming pool. "Tree-top" breakfasts, secure undercover parking and communal kitchenette with microwave. Large covered barbecue facility. Close to golf courses, bird sanctuary and restaurants. Regret no children under 10. Master and Visa Credit cards. Non-smoking lodge.Wi-Fi. TGCSA - 3 Star B&B. Accredited with Knysna Tourism. Birder and Eco-Friendly Establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pumula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing