We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OYSTERS, SUNSETS AND EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY”
Review of Lagoon lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lagoon lodge
Ranked #42 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Knysna has a history that is embedded in my genetics and a recent trip to dig deeper into my roots led me to a charming selection of 3 guest houses that belong to the same family/group.

Lagoon Lodge is situated at bird perch level overlooking the lagoon and on the Sedgefield side of Knysna and it is undoubtedly one of the best bed and breakfast I have stayed in over the past 10 years (rest assured I HAVE STAYED IN QUITE A FEW IN MY LIFETIME).

From arrival to depature you are met with kindness and treated as if YOU are the only guest (which you are not).

Rooms are tastefully decorated, fresh crisp bedding and spotlessly clean, THE 3 COURSE breakfast is fresh and WI-FI access is fast, for the telly addicts there is a selection of DSTV that is more than ample.

Safe Parking.

You will not be disappointed and value for money - please look at B my guest and Salt River Lodge as alternatives if Lagoon Lodge is full (I stayed at all 3).

Room Tip: A top floor room with a greater view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank remitance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

The rooms are immaculately clean. The service staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great too. The views are beautiful, be prepared for a bit of a walk into town though. I was just dissapointed to find that the "free wifi" wasn't working at all.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gandrevanwyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights - Beautiful view of The Heads, service was excellent, host friendly and knowledgeable - rooms were lovely, breakfasts were delicious! Value for money Definitely would recommend it and also stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traceyt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

cheap place considering how expensive the rest of knysna is. average accommodation, not within walking distance from where you want to be and can get a little hot in there but reasonably comfortable. okay views from the room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Awesome rooms ..well maintained ..well decorated with good upholstery ...excellent breakfast. Location of lodge is very good with beautiful scenic views. We enjoyed our stay ....true value of money :)

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Meena81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

Finding affordable accommodation during SA's peak holiday season can be quite a challenge, but this place makes it possible. Great location, beautiful views and delicious breakfast. Unfortunately, the room is so HOT and STUFFY, you can hardly breathe, and sleeping is quite unpleasant if you constantly have to shower just to cool down. Not the place for afternoon naps. Perhaps better suited for winter visits as the room is equipped with a heater, but no fan or aircon.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Totally recommendable. Nice and comfortable rooms with a cosy atmosphere. Excellent breakfast. We stayed for two nights and got the best recommendation for trips in the area. Very nice and helpful people.

Room Tip: The two rooms in the top floor are great and have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinchen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.3 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#16 of 30 in Knysna
249 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
101 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#37 of 127 in Knysna
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkes Manor
Parkes Manor
#35 of 127 in Knysna
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#11 of 127 in Knysna
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon lodge

Address: 140 Old Cape Road | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £33 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagoon lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you need to break-away to an elegant and romantic setting, or a ideal setting for a golf trip, as it is just down the road from a renowned golf course.(special excursions can be arranged for the non-golfing partners. We serve a recommendable 3 course breakfast in the dining room or balcony overlooking the lagoon. 7 elegant double rooms with bathrooms each. Dstv and each a amazing view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lagoon lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing