We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome boat trip”

Southern Yachting Academy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our sailing activities include offshore learn-to-sail adventures in Knysna as well as yachting skippers courses. Recommended for adventure seeking individuals, couples or family outings, corporate team building and offshore sailing training on the Garden Route, South Africa.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Awesome boat trip”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a very good time with out skipper Brett sailing around the lagoon and out to the open ocean. Eventually our sailing trip turned out to be a delphin viewing trip. Our trip was complemented with a swimm around the lagoon. It was unforgetable and we often think of this nice day.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O, Owner at Southern Yachting Academy, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for the kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome sailing ”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

What a spectacular opportunity to learn to sail. Being a novice I was nervous ... Now I feel excited to progress further and tackle the next opportunity. The skipper was professional, considerate, patient and safety conscious. I was memorized and hooked on the rush of gliding at pace through the water.

Helpful?
Thank Garth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O, Owner at Southern Yachting Academy, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for the kind review. Loved having you guys with us aboard for a few hours as crew on the Mercury. Fair winds back to Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Deep Sea fishing trip ever”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have been fishing for 19 years along the west coast, Mosselbay, Stilbaai, klein brak river, Gaurits river and many more. Never have a caught so much fish as i did with Nicky on Wave Dancer 3. A few things that i can mention that i have never realized or even could confirm from the other charters as i can from Nicky. Most important of all, safety comes first with Nicky, if the ocean does not look calm or safe, no chances will be taken. All persons on deck to wear a life jacket before leaving the dock. By taking his customers to his favorite place of fishing, he ensures that if the catch is bad, that he still entertain the people. It was a 1st as well that nobody on deck got sick, because there wasn't time to get sick with all the fish biting. With Nicky knowing the law of fisheries
helped a lot, we knew exactly which kind of fish we caught, is it endangered or not and how many we can keep and size. We caught 10 Geelbek, 20 Santer, 4 RedRoman.
The next time i visit the western cape, i will drive through to knysna even if i am in cape town. he makes the trip worth every cent.

Thanks Nicky for the best trip ever, i will recommend this charter everywhere i go

Sias Schoonraad
Nelspruit

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SiasS1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O, Owner at Southern Yachting Academy, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you Sias for the kind review as a very seasoned fisherman. We appreciate you joining our fishing charter and look forward to seeing you aboard again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect fishing trip”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Absolute professional skipper and good boat for fishing. Went out in the morning and nikki got us to the hotspots. Bag limits were reached weithin 2 hours and even then the skipper tried hard to find other species in biting mood. One of the best professional trips i've ever done. Good Luck for the future and i definitely come back One time for fishing with wavedancer 3

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiraxud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O, Owner at Southern Yachting Academy, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review and for enjoying a great day on the water with Garden Route Fishing Adventures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great fishing trip”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My girlfriend and I recently went out deep sea fishing with Nicky. It was the first time for both of us and we were not 100% sure of what to expect. Nicky was extremely helpful and explained exactly what was going to happen every step of the way. As we were leaving the heads he saw that it was extremely misty and was not safe to go through, even though three other boats pushed through without clear visibility Nicky waited until it was completely clear of mist before he went through. My overall opinion of Nicky and the trip is that he has the guests best intentions at heart, safety is his main priority and he has years of experience that shows from the second you meet him. We would recommend his tours to everyone, old and young with any level of experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keesha303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O, Owner at Southern Yachting Academy, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you Renier for the kind review, we do hope to have you aboard again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Yachting Academy also viewed

 

Been to Southern Yachting Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing