We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cottage in a tranquil setting.”
Review of Belvidere Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belvidere Manor
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a tranquil setting.”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This is a lovely place to get away from it all.Spacious cottages with views over the Knysna Lagoon.It is really peaceful here,beautiful gardens and the Bell Pub to have a good meal.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    78
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
71
149
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Belvidere Manor Hotel is the place to be when visiting Knyna. The cottage was cozy, and spacious just what me and my partner was looking for.The view of the lagoon was beautiful. Breakfast was lovely so was lunch at The Bell Tavern.The staff is so helpfull and friendly. A specials thanks to Jeffery and Yandiswa u guys are the BEST. Thank you for an exellent experience and making our stay pleasurable....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

In the words of Geoff "Wonderful. SuperDuper. Excellent !!!"

Geoff runs around all day, with the biggest brightest smile you have ever seen. I have never seen anyone so happy to be serving people. He makes you feel like royalty.

We made a pretty last minute booking, so weren't even sure what kind of accommodation we'd be getting, but upon arrival, were blown away by the comfort of the cottage. 2 large bedrooms, each with ensuite bathrooms. A lounge, dining room, kitchen and large deck.

The perfect place to lie back and recover.

My only regret is that we weren't there for longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Garden Cottage. No view of the lagoon, but the pool was about 30 seconds walk away, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed at the Belvidere Manor for three nights, with four friends, and couldn’t fault it. The individual cottages were spacious and an ideal place to unwind. It was like having your own cottage in a little peaceful village. A lovely breakfast was served each morning, either on the veranda or the lawn, and evening meals in The Bell pub were plain, but wholesome delicious, particularly when washed down with a pint or two of the local beer. If you are exploring the area, then Belvidere Manor is certainly the place to unwind after a hard day being a tourist.

Room Tip: Couldn't see any bad ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shug402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breasted Chart
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

"Hotel" is more of a series of self-catering cottages in beautiful grounds. Our cottage slept 6 & was a little chilly in winter; there were oil-filled radiators in the bedrooms & wood provided for a fire in the lounge, but the lounge still remained chilly. The Bell Tavern on the complex is very handy & served reasonably-priced lunches & dinner, the quality of which was good, for pub food. Breakfasts on the terrace were of good quality & with plenty of choice. All the staff were friendly & attentive, providing a good level of service. The wi-fi is not free, which was a bit disappointing. The grounds & location were both very good, if you want a peaceful break. It is about a 10 minute drive to Knysna which we found a little disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole_rumsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I would highly recommend Belvidere to anyone looking for accomodation in Knysna. The service was unbelievable friendly and accomodating. They helped me plan my proposal and made all my wishes come true. The cottage we stayed in was beautifully situated on the Knysna lagoon and we woke up with breathtaking views of the lagoon. Being a perfectionist myself the rooms were as clean and comfortable and fresh as to my liking.

The breakfast was delicious and was an excellent way to start a jam backed day of tourism. The staff also helped us every morning to book and plan our day.

There is also a very quint pub with steaks that are really tasty. Draught on tap to complement the steak.

i am looking forward to next years marathon too have the change too go back.

Room Tip: We didn't see the other rooms but the honeymoon cottage was a little out the way of all the peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquesRood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We travelled with Knysna with friends to do the Forest Marathon and stayed at the Belvidere! Supurb accommodation, friendly & efficient staff, excellent breakfast...sorry we couldn't stay longer...but we will be back and will bring our children next time. Thank you Belvidere!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRam_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
5.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.6 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvidere Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvidere Manor

Property: Belvidere Manor
Address: Lower Duthie Drive | Belvidere Estate, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvidere Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Knysna's lagoon, historic Belvidere Manor built in 1849, is situated in landscaped gardens and offers spacious accommodation in 28 serviced cottages, each with comfortable lounge, a full kitchen and 1, 2 or 3 en-suite double bedrooms. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace of Belvidere House, then relax poolside, take a boat trip, walk forest trails or pristine beaches, all a short drive away. Savour dinner at Caroline's bistro in Belvidere House, or hearty pub meals at The Bell Tavern, voted a Garden Route "Culinary legend". We offer preferential golf rates at Simola & Pezula clubs and a pretty garden wedding venue for up to 60 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belvidere Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing