We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belvidere Manor
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
193
91
29
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
91
29
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbell tavernthe cottagessmallest pubcottage numberpub lunchlagoon deluxegarden routebed cottageknysna lagoona la carte restaurantthe main houseself cateringlovely cottageidyllic locationcold buffetwell equipped kitchenan update
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful coastal regions along the Indian ocean in South Africa. We stayed in a 3 bedroom cottage with porch and enjoyed the garden, the terrace breakfast, the evening BBQ -braai organised for our group (15 people). Knysna city and its lagoon is a real gem, take the boat tour on the lagoon and visit the park on the opposite border and don't forget to try the local oysters.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

This place is gorgeous. Part 3 of our honeymoon in South Africa and first have to wind down. The garden cottage was lovely but the best parts about this place was the breakfast on the terrace and the pool. The view out to the lagoon is amazing. A wander onto the jetty is just so romantic. The little pub on site is great for a bar type meal. Really great staff and very comical guy serving the breakfasts. The whole place is however a little like a set from Stepford Wives - but that's ok.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Top of our list for a revisit after we stayed here 10 years ago - little has changed - staff (especially the irrepressible Jeffrey) as friendly as ever. Expensive but worth every penny. Beautiful private cottages (2 or 4-person) surrounding a lovely garden filled with birds. Delicious breakfasts with an amazing view from the terrace out over the Knysna lagoon. The cottages could not be better equipped: eg. providing a clothes line, with pegs; a torch for walking about the grounds in the dark and walking sticks for any elderly guests who might feel unsteady. You could easily self-cater - plenty of space for eating inside the cottages or on the veranda. The pub around the back of the main house does very decent, good value food (try the butternut pasta and the cheesecake!) and wine. There is also a main restaurant for a more formal meal, but it did not seem to be operating on the nights we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights to attend a wedding at Pembrey's up the road, but fell in love with Belvidere Manor. Although expensive we can now understand why, it really is a beautiful serene place.

We were lucky enough to get in touch with the owner of 24 Belvidere and although we didn't book directly with the Manor we were treated like one of their guests.

The cottages all seem to have different furnishings and decor, but most seem to be a grand old dame, with classic decor. But they are absolutely spotless, and cleaner than some of the 5 star resorts we have stayed in.

Although we stayed in one of the garden cottages I would rather recommend paying a little bit extra and staying in the single story lagoon cottages which are clustered around the pool, especially in winter I could imagine the garden cottages getting a little cold.

Dining at the Manor was an absolute pleasure, we enjoyed dinner at the Bell Pub which has the most wonderful charm and atmosphere, with great food.
Breakfast was served out on the patio overlooking the pool and the lagoon and we could sit here for hours.

Belvidere Manor really goes out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible, we loved the way they remembered our names even though we had just arrived we felt welcome at every turn.

The staff and surroundings make this an unforgettable holiday, and we will be back soon. Just this time for a little bit longer to really experience the magic and charm of Belvidere Manor.

Remember to take a stroll around old Belvidere, you will be amazed. We were there over 15 years ago and it remains as beautiful as ever. While we were there we never once spotted a shop or cafe, which we absolutely loved.

Room Tip: The cottages all seem to have different furnishings and decor, but most seem to be grand old dames, with classic decor. Although we stayed in one of the garden cottages I would rather recommend paying a little bit extra and staying in the single story lagoon cottages which are clustered around the pool, especially in winter I could imagine the garden cottages getting a little cold.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is an outstanding place to stay, the position perfect, the staff exceptional, and you have everything to hand if required. We could find no fault in the whole experience of staying at Belvidere Manor, except if we had known we would have chosen a property that was in a sunnier position, but it was booked by an agency and so it was out of our hands. We would not hesitate to go back there again and to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: House No. 25 is in a rather gloomy position under trees with no area for sitting in the sun, if you are a sun worshiper, make sure when booking that you choose one with a sunny outlook. Also we noticed that some houses had sunloungers for sitting outside, maybe you need to request this.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews