We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamtime in Belvidere”
Review of Belvidere Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belvidere Manor
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Outstanding facility and wonderful staff! The food is outstanding and the elegant cottages are perfect for a family or couple looking for the best resort in South Africa. The location is excellent and you can do day trip or enjoy Knysna and the Garden Route

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tim292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Belvidere Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hi,
We had booked this hotel through a travel agent looking for family self-catering lodge so that we can enjoy our stay and do things at our pace. the most important thing for us was to use the dishwasher and washing machine as we have travelled far and would not want carry lots of clothes in luggage.
The stay was perfect. Accommodation impeccable.We had unit 27. Everything for a self catering unit with full kitchen was in place. There was a stark contrast to the beautiful residence that the dishwasher and washing machine were of cheap brand. Though the equipment was in place we were not allowed to use it. The reason given that the owner of the unit did not like other people using the equipment.
I was quite surprised by the response.
I cannot understand that if you advertise a fully equipped kitchen how can you not allow the guests to use the equipment?
If the owners deemed it fit to have the equipment installed for their own requirement how can they think that guests would not need it?
I would like to know the reason why the owners do not want the guests to use the kitchen equipment.
Do they think that we are not competent to handle a dishwasher and washing machine which we use in our daily life?!

The staff is excellent. The location is perfect. I would recommend this stay for perfect holiday in garden route. It is nearly in the centre of all possible destinations you can hope to travel in the eastern part of garden route. The small room for kids on the upstairs does not have fan and can get quite hot in evenings during summer.
regards
Sid

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 406sid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We were upgraded to a Deluxe cottage, it was wonderful. A lovely bedroom with two sunny balconies. The view of the lagoon was gorgeous from there and also from the dining terrace. Breakfast was excellent. An ideal place for complete relaxation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Always wanted to stay here as it's set in such beautiful grounds. Stayed in one of the lagoon cottages which was very well appointed and clean. We had our best night's sleep in ages. Dined in the Bell pub and we both had one of the best Boboties ever. The Staff are charming and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank HelenB067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is not a hotel in the conventional sense. It is a collection of 30 something cottages in the grounds of the original Manor. The grounds are beautiful and perhaps that is how this place achieved its 4 star rating. We were given cottage number 25. It was dirty, in dire need of refurbishment and redecoration and for accommodation that was billed as 4 star we could not have been more disappointed. The bathrooms were shabby, dated and entirely unappealing with severely chipped baths in both bathrooms and rust and grime in the master bath. In the second bathroom the floor under the outlet from the WC had turned brown, possibly through lack of cleaning or even a leaking waste pipe. The showers were over baths that were difficult to get in and out of! Filthy chipped paintwork with skirting boards that had long housed a collection of spiders and dust in their cobwebs and dead bugs where the carpets met the skirtings was, we thought, good grounds for complaint and a request to be moved.

We were informed that there was no other accommodation available and were surprised to learn that the cottages were privately owned and Belvidere Manor rented them back. We realised there was no necessity for there to be any standardisation throughout the properties.

No-one would come and look at the reason for our complaint but said they would get it thoroughly cleaned while we were out, and the owner personally apologised at breakfast time on our second day for our disappointment. The beds were made but not much in the way of cleaning was done that day after all. We received a consolation prize of a bottle of white wine, which neither of us drink, so we left it in the fridge for the next occupant. The following day a maid arrived and spent 90 minutes doing her best to clean away some of the grime and some of the spiders. She did not use a vacuum cleaner and the carpets looked as though they had not been vacuumed in a long time. On the day we left we showed one of the under managers a photograph of some of the dirt in one of the bathrooms and she, belatedly, came to look and expressed her horror and said she would speak to the owner. But for us it was too late because we were leaving.

We are now awaiting comments from Belvidere Manor in response to the photographs we provided of this shabby, dirty cottage number 25 via our Travel Agent. In the meantime, we would not recommend this establishment to anyone. We stayed in wonderful 4 star guest lodges throughout our trip in South Africa and could not fault them in any way. If this cottage could achieve 2 stars in any rating system we would be surprised and would not recommend anyone staying at Belvidere if there was any chance at all of getting cottage number 25.

The lack of interest in our complaint was extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

The guests concerned addressed their problems with their travel agent at the time, and on their return home, and correspondence has been exchanged with regard to this unsatisfactory occurrence. We have accepted full responsibility and are refunding them in full. This was certainly not the standard accepted or expected at Belvidere Manor and we obviously regret that it occurred and have apologised once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

its a great place to stay, however, be warned... the Bell bar gets very busy over holidays, get there before 8 pm if you want to eat.... otherwise enjoy the views, good food and great service... lovelygubly

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed 5 nights over Christmas in a cottage overlooking the lagoon.
The accommodation is excellent, very comfortable and a home from home.
Staff are all excellent and always friendly and helpful.
The Belvidere estate itself is lovely and you can walk/jog in safety. Don't forget to walk along by the lagoon shore to the next jetty and past the church.
Previous reviewers have commented on the internet access & I would say this is the only down side. Maybe it was me but we struggled to skype on Christmas Day, although the problem may have been me!
All in all probably one of the best locations in the Knysna area, particularly if you want to relax and enjoy the views.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a cottage overlooking the lagoon.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
5.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
822 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
2.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
3.2 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvidere Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvidere Manor

Address: Lower Duthie Drive | Belvidere Estate, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: £98 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvidere Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Knysna's lagoon, historic Belvidere Manor built in 1849, is situated in landscaped gardens and offers spacious accommodation in 28 serviced cottages, each with comfortable lounge, a full kitchen and 1, 2 or 3 en-suite double bedrooms. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace of Belvidere House, then relax poolside, take a boat trip, walk forest trails or pristine beaches, all a short drive away. Savour dinner at Caroline's bistro in Belvidere House, or hearty pub meals at The Bell Tavern, voted a Garden Route "Culinary legend". We offer preferential golf rates at Simola & Pezula clubs and a pretty garden wedding venue for up to 60 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belvidere Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing