We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular B&B”
Review of Falcons View Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Falcons View Manor
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spectacular B&B”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Spent 2 nights here and loved every single minute. The house is just a quick 5 minute drive from the center of Knysna, with safe parking and really stunning views of the bay. We were welcomed with a glass of wine on the porch while the staff whisked our luggage from our car to our room upstairs. The room itself was gorgeous, comfortable and quiet - everything we were hoping for. All of the staff were truly friendly and approachable, and had top notch recommendations for everything to do and see in the area. We ended up spending most of one day on a totally deserted beach, then hiking a stunning, secluded trail through a nearby park courtesy of the owner's recommendations. As for the food, the breakfasts are great, and we had a lovely dinner there as well - would definitely recommend staying in for dinner one night. The tables are set up in a really beautiful little courtyard, and the setting is truly the best way I can imagine starting your day. All in all a spectacular place to stay!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs in the manor house are beautiful and quiet. The suites out behind the house each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    33
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
289
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The old victorian villa ist very well run, spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and the staff extraordinary. Both manager ladies are beyond of hospitable, super informative and always there to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They serve a delicious breakfast and their chef is the best ever. By far the most delicious meals we had on our trip. The only issue is that the kitchen is not open daily for dinner, if you have eaten there once, you'll desire it every night. Home made ice cream...any more questions? Bit hard to find if you use google maps. Follow the instructions on their homepage.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed two nights at the Falcons View Manor and it was a really pleasant surprise. The place is much nicer than the pictures on the homepage suggest. It consists of a main building with a large porch in the front and a nice terrace facing the garden in the back and comprises a beautiful garden including a pool and a second building in the back.

Both buildings are colonial style with lots of wood and nice old furniture. Our room was in the second building in the back. The room itself was big and had a large, modern bathroom attached to it. The rooms in the second building all have small private terraces overlooking the garden and the small pool.

A very good breakfast was served on the terrace in the garden and in the evening you can enjoy some vine on the porch overlooking Knysna and the lagoon. Beautiful!

In general the place was very well maintained, spotlessly clean and the staff was always very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sodasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, Essex, England
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a couple of nights. It is a stunning old manor house set high above the town, providing stunning views across. The house is literally an old manor house which had been renovated. I found it very nice but some may feel it a bit old fashioned. The grounds, with swimming pool, are excellent. From having breakfast on the delightful patio to drinks on the veranda looking at the view, it is hard to fault. Service from all the staff was excellent, and nice that the owners are around a great deal and take the time to chat to people. Eat in the restaurant one night and food and wine very good.
It is walkable into town but the walk back would be quite a challenge for most people as hill is very steep.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaveC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisborough Green
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent three nights at Falcon's View, a delightful Victorian guest house, which commands an outstanding view high above Knysna. The balcony is the perfect spot to appreciate this view, enjoy a Sundowner and watch the sun set. Falcons View has many features including tasteful décor in the house, a courtyard dining area where we breakfasted each morning under parasols in the warm sunshine, served by friendly and efficient staff, a pool and peaceful and private gardens. Our room was large with all the facilities we required as well as its own secluded and private patio opening onto the garden. We dined in-house on two evenings and the food and service were excellent. We received a very warm welcome on arrival from Danielle but saw more in the following two days of Sue. Both ladies were most friendly and informative and made us feel very relaxed and welcome. Without a doubt, Falcons View is to be highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My family had 2 rooms at Falcons Manor for 5 nights this January. The place itself is beautiful although up a very steep hill so you would need a car and the rooms were great. Sue and Danielle were the perfect hosts and organised everything we could ever need. We didn't have dinner there but heard other guests very much enjoyed it and judging by the amazing breakfast I'm sure it was! I would definitely recommend this as the place to stay in Knysna.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had the pleasure to stay at Falcons View Manor for 12 days this December. We can highly recommend a stay whether for a short or longer stay. The hotel is all bout excellent and an all round service. We received requests from Sue the manager on booking for New Years eve dinner, and New year a month in advance of our stay to ensure that we could enjoy these days in the manner of our choice.

The hotel is an old house of the Thiesen Family, with beautiful views on the Knysna Lagoon and the Knysna heads. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean. We can also highly recommend the dinners served at the hotel.The food is outstanding, although the menu selection might look limited,the quality is supurb.We tried some of the top restaurants in the area, but after having had dinner at the hotel on new year's eve we chose to dine in most evenings.

The staff were very friendly and were willing to assists with all our requests in an efficient manner and always with a smile. We also enjoyed the time we spent with the owners they are very hospitable .

I would highly recommend this hotel for South African's and for overseas travellers. The location is central to popping into town or to accessing the main roads to Plettenbergbay and to George.

This would be our hotel of choice for the next visit to Knysna.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irmakilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
6.4 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.6 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.2 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcons View Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcons View Manor

Property: Falcons View Manor
Address: 2 Thesen Hill | Upper Central, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Falcons View Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falcons View Manor is a small Boutique Hotel on Thesen Hill in Knysna. Spectacular Views from the Victorian Veranda across the lagoon, beautiful garden and a small restaurants for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HRS, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Falcons View Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing