We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous stay”
Review of Falcons View Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Falcons View Manor
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

What a beautiful place to stay. It is so tranquil and yet so near to Knysna. Yes it is up a steep hill but we knew that before we went and you wouldn't get the spectacular views otherwise.

The gardens are immaculate as is the hotel. We had dinner on one night which was superb and would have used it on the second night but it was chef's night off. Not a problem - we had spent a busy day and so Sue arranged for us to have a sharing platter of cheese and cold meats on the veranda with a cold bottle of Sauvignon Blanc. How nice is that with extensive views across the night skies above town?

Breakfast was delicious served in the courtyard.

We needed more time in Knysna, there is so much to do and see. We will return to South Africa as soon as possible and will come to Knysna and will stay at the FVM again - no reason not to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

To get the great views you have to get up the steep hill, not to be recommended for walking. The garden and pool area is large and well maintained, and the verandah offers views across Knysna, but not the ocean. I enjoyed the public rooms, sadly I could not try the restaurant. Service is very friendly and efficient. My criticism is about the lighting: at night the car park and outdoors are poorly lit making it difficult to maneuver your car in the tight spots. And, I had the most ghastly bed side lamps you can imagine. Made out of metal wire they look like giant candy floss giving poor light and dangle 2m from the ceiling. Rooms are very spacious.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank ManchesterRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location and has a lovely old world charm. With a grading of 5 stars, I am not sure I would have rated the 4 rooms we booked in at that level. From the colour scheme to the bedroom layout it did not do it for us. These rooms did not have the majestic views & I am assuming that the main building rooms would be of 5 star status. Nevertheless all rooms should reflect the 5 stars.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank raymondtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Falcons View Manor is fabulous. We had a great four day stay and wished we could have stayed longer. The location is perfect with stunning views from some of the main house bedrooms overlooking the Knysna bay. This stay we had a garden view suite, which was very spacious with a lovely bathroom. The restaurant is great..delicious locally sourced meat and fish served with great attention to detail. The restaurant is usually closed on one night of the week - but there are some great restaurants in the area, too

Room Tip: If you haven't been to the area before choose a lagoon view room in the main house..whichever ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a stunning room with a huge bathroom. We loved the breakfast on the patio and had a very good dinner in the restaurant. There were two very helpful ladies on reception and they were charming and very knowledgeable. Pool area is lovely and we sore some monkeys!

We will return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JFlowerStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was our second visit to Falcons View Manor (the first visit was 18 years ago!) and we had another great stay. The colonial style of the old house is very pleasant and the rooms are well equiped. The main differentiator is the service which is truly exceptional. The staff is incredibly friendly, attentive and efficient. They even washed our car during the night! The breakfast is also great. Highly recommended. We will certainly visit this guesthouse again if we come back to Knysna.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Spent 2 nights here and loved every single minute. The house is just a quick 5 minute drive from the center of Knysna, with safe parking and really stunning views of the bay. We were welcomed with a glass of wine on the porch while the staff whisked our luggage from our car to our room upstairs. The room itself was gorgeous, comfortable and quiet - everything we were hoping for. All of the staff were truly friendly and approachable, and had top notch recommendations for everything to do and see in the area. We ended up spending most of one day on a totally deserted beach, then hiking a stunning, secluded trail through a nearby park courtesy of the owner's recommendations. As for the food, the breakfasts are great, and we had a lovely dinner there as well - would definitely recommend staying in for dinner one night. The tables are set up in a really beautiful little courtyard, and the setting is truly the best way I can imagine starting your day. All in all a spectacular place to stay!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs in the manor house are beautiful and quiet. The suites out behind the house each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaurav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
3.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
869 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.2 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcons View Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcons View Manor

Address: 2 Thesen Hill | Upper Central, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: £74 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Falcons View Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falcons View Manor is a small Boutique Hotel on Thesen Hill in Knysna. Spectacular Views from the Victorian Veranda across the lagoon, beautiful garden and a small restaurants for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Falcons View Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing