We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Knysna River Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knysna River Club
Ranked #28 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were here in may and had a wonderful time. Clean and a great location. Secure and friendly staff, cleaned daily. Only negative was the wifi tokens had to be collect each time they run out as they give you limited access with each token, but unlimited omens which are free... Odd system and just inconvenient, but there's a Ames room and pool, as we went in winter we didn't swim. It's on the lagoon and there's a great walk along the water straight from the resort. Lovely chalet with BBQ area and fairly secluded. We had a great stay with our 2 kids and my folks in the 2 bedroom units, baby in cot supplied by them, but the sleeper couch was very uncomfortable and we couldn't use it so luckily our eldest was small and could also fit in the king size bed. The beds however were great!

Room Tip: We had a chalet second from the public water walkway which was nice as it had great views and was pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    59
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
62
59
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Close to the city centre. We were checked in by a very friendly young gentleman. The log cabin was very spacious with everything one needs in a self catering situation. There were no frills very basic but clean and adequate. I was a little dissappointed that we were in a unit set far from the lagoon as I did ask for a unit on the lagoon when I made the reservation, but not a train smash as we did not spend too much time there in any event. Their advert states The Ultimate Lagoon Resort.......I would not agree with that description. As I stated, in my opinion adequate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24Howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a very lovely place to stay. The chalets are amazing, spacious and clean. The kitchen a bit outdated but does the job. The BBQ stands on the patio was the highlight for us. We went into the village to buy meat and BBQ our dinner.
They could benefit from giving information to guests in the rooms. Like guest files, which tells you when to check out, attractions you might be interested in. They say free wifi but it isn't really. It's 2 hours free and the rest is chargeable. It doesn't work on iPads or iPhones as well which is a bummer. We needed to check out where to go for sightseeing etc and we couldn't access the net.
But besides that it is an amazing place. I am sure they will come right and update themselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We really had a great time in the roomy chalets. We had a riverside chalet, which is a fantastic place to have a BBQ. The furniture is a bit outdated, but I did not mind, you have a nice and large bedroom, large living etc. so definately something for the family or a couple if you enjoy your space. The rest of the "club" is very uninspiring, just as the reception, they have all these prizes on the wall, but the lady owner was complete bored out everytime we met her. You are from a walking distance from Knysna downtown, which is nice, you can have a some easy going wine and oysters as the oyster bar. We had some noises coming from the waterfront kids, but hey there's nothing the club can do about that, security is well organized.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted_and_Chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the Knysna River Club. Although the chalet need some modernisation and there is a lack of extras such as complementary toiletries etc our chalet (number 3) was right on the lagoon and was spotlessly clean. The little kitchen had everything one would need for a comfortable self-catering stay and we loved the caring touches such as the heater and electric-blankets being on when we arrived. I think it would be an ideal place to stay as a family as there is a comfy sleeper couch in the lounge and lots for kids to do nearby. Would definately recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the lagoon for best view - rooms 2, 3, and 4 are ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is a lovely place to stay in Knysna. The cabins are made of wood, and you get the sense that you are in the forest. It was very spacious, with a self catering kitchen, a lounge area, a bedroom and a bathroom, with both shower and bath. The view was beautiful - right the way across the lagoon, and we could see to the Heads. Really spectacular. It was very close to the waterfront as well, which is convenient. We did not make use of Boogies restaurant, but there was a small braai on the deck, which we used. There are also small canoe's which you could use to get to the waterfront or just enjoy the lagoon .If you are looking for a break away from everything, this is the place to be. It is just so beautiful and really very charming.

The one gripe was that the reception was not very friendly at all. We arrived quite late on a Friday night, and were met by a security guard who gave us a key. In the morning, we were not sure if we needed to check in and fill in any papers.SO we I went to reception to ask and we were not even greeted with a "Good morning". I also asked if we could take the walk from the rover club along the lagoon to the waterfront. The reception just answered "yes". No added information was supplied. I really felt that they could have been a little more friendly, and it would give this little gem even more charm. With that being said, it was a lovely place to stay and we had a very relaxed weekend away.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the lagoon are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Migandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mashhad
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

my family and i stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in 2-bedroom wooden chalet with kitchen and living room,we felt safe and secure at all times.the hotel is an excellent location it,s about 20 minutes from water front/boat harbour where you will find more shop and restaurants.staff were all very pleasant and friendly and the lady who serves at the breakfast time was particularly lovely,the breakfast was quite good.boogie,s restaurant run by very good man he is really gentleman and very helpful when we couldent get a taxi he took us to thessen island (free of charge)he is good man always smiling.2 niggles..big niggle was that wifi was inoperative through of our 3 nights stay and small niggle was no safe in chalet,knysna is a very beautiful place and knysna river club is excellent base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hamidrezamonshizadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
7.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Knysna Chalets
Knysna Chalets
#86 of 126 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.5 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 100 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#15 of 126 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna River Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna River Club

Property: Knysna River Club
Address: Sun Valley Drive | Costa Sarda, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna River Club 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the water's edge of the Knysna Lagoon, Knysna River Club is a private enclave of charming, luxury self-catering log chalets in the heart of South Africa's Garden Route coast. Surrounded by shady trees and well-tended gardens, the resort offers security, privacy and comfort for guests looking to unwind, and is the ideal venue from which to explore the quaint lagoon-side town of Knysna. Whether you want an active holiday or the chance to relax in the tranquil surrounds, we offer you a value for money accommodation, in a convenient location close to all amenities, the warm hospitality of our friendly staff, the comfort of our upgraded chalets and the opportunity to experience an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knysna River Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna River Club Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing