We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tree-house bliss and excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tree-house bliss and excellent staff!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This place is simply perfect.

Upon arrival, we were collected by a driver who escorted us high into the lush, green mountain, where the lodge is based. Our bags miraculously found their way to our room, while we were welcomed at the reception area.

Every member of staff was extremely professional and attentive and our tree-house room surprised us with its spaciousness and luxury! Upon returning to our room after dinner, we found a scroll on our bed with a Zulu story (which had thankfully been translated into English for us). This kind of detail typifies the standard of hospitality which these guys have clearly worked so hard to perfect.

The 6-course dinner was incredible - and the breakfast in the trees was brilliant, especially the coffee!

10 of 10.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonothan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    51
    22
    8
    11
See reviews for
25
271
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 night on our honeymoon in one of the upper tree houses, it was an amazing experience, the food was exceptional and the rooms were wonderfully decorated, i would go back in a heartbeat

Room Tip: The upper tree houses are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This resort provided amazing and creative vegan meal options (including more than one choice!), for dinner and for an amazing picnic basket they prepared for us one day. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Would be great if there was more wildlife to see within the forest where the lodge is located, but the staff advised me that they are working on bringing wildlife back to this area, so hopefully in the future that will happen.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kljwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Phantom Forest presents a fantasy, forest location! We spent out honeymoon here and were just wowed by friendly service, delightful, tasteful decor and a private forest setting that just didn't disappoint. The Morrocan upper deck was a delightful surprise and we relaxed at the pool with great views of the Knysna lagoon. Dinners at Phantom were a taste sensation of discovering never before tasted combinations from a top level chef. Stay at least 2 nights and include a massage and try out the forest sauna and hot tub as well as many bubble baths as you can fit in in your room's bathroom with a forest view - just wonderful!

Room Tip: We had Saffron and were delighted, but many other good rooms on offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planetcalire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Not much more to add to all the amazing reviews below. The rooms are wonderful, stay as long as you can, dinner isn't 6 courses but you don't mind at all. Highlight of a pretty long trip and I would go back in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilbur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We got screwed. We stayed only 1 night because we didnt understand what we were going to witness. This place is heaven in Knysna. We took the cheapest room there and it felt like we got the presidential suite. The toast bread that they use to make sandwiches are so good im still dreaming of them. There is a 6-course dinner option available and i highly recommend it but dont be fooled - it is not really 6-courses. They counted a serving of sorbet to be a full course, which we all know is just meant to clean your palate. There was also another "bite" that was delivered that they counted as a full course. Net - its a 3-course dinner that is really good. I just had the expectation of getting 6! :) still very satisfied with this amazing place!

Room Tip: get the cheapest ones! they are just as amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wael j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Having originally gotten engaged at the Phantom Forest 2 years ago we decided to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary -this time for dinner only - at this very special and memorable location, hoping that it would have remained as we'd left it. In a nutshell it was perfect, once again!
Upon arrival at the Eco lodge we were collected and driven high up into the forest canopy, leaving the world as we know it behind us. A few short minutes later we arrived at reception - in another 'dream' world entirely. Surrounded by peace and calm, nature welcomed us to this woodland paradise. The lodge has remained beautifully cared for, everything connected by wooden boardwalks. On this particular evening it was cold and wet, so out evening started with a welcome drink in their beautiful lounge next to the roaring fire. Looking out from the lounge bar you have magnificent view across the lagoon and towards the Knysna Heads - it just couldn't get any better. Thereafter we went up to the restaurant for a scrumptious 6-course dinner, beautifully prepared and lovingly presented. Compliments to the chef on the amazing seafood risotto - a must!
All of the staff are so kind and caring, service with a sincere smile is the name of the game - they simply couldn't do enough for us. You really are made to feel at home, comfortable and relaxed. It made our evening and our anniversary - we only wish we could stay in this wonderland for ever! Can't wait to book and return again as soon as possible!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Duo_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
6.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
16.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.0 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
2.2 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve

Property: The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Address: 27 Phantom River Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Phantom Forest lodge and boma restaurant is situated in a private reserve on the Knysna River estuary, a magnificent setting of indigenous forest, fynbos and estuarine wetland. Designed to create only the lightest footprint , Phantom Forest offers superb luxury in complete harmony with nature. Accommodation consists of fourteen evocative "tree suites", perfectly integrated into the forest. Nature lovers can explore the reserve via forest and fynbos trails or canoe trips along the river. The Boma restaurant offers international cuisine served in the classic style while the body boma wellness spa provides a range of natural treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and South African Hotels so you can book your The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve Hotel Knysna
Phantom Forest Eco Reserve Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing