We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort, stunning location, great service and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing resort, stunning location, great service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed at Phantom Forest in January, and found it to be a wonderful place. The location is absolutely stunning, high in the treetops looking over the big lagoon near Knysna. It is so peaceful and beautiful, we even had monkeys in the trees near us. The rooms are beautiful - private and peaceful, the decor is very natural yet luxurious, every amenity catered for. There is a fridge, beautiful day lounge and bedroom, the bath and shower look out past the deck to the lagoon and we had the outdoor bath which was divine. The meals are great - big breakfast with choices, and the dinners were delightful - delicious, tasty and a gorgeous setting. The staff were polite, friendly and courteous. The lodge has a strong environmental slant, and was very sympathetic to the surroundings. I just wished we could have stayed longer than the two nights we were there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kibrannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    48
    22
    8
    11
See reviews for
24
261
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
163 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This must be one of my favourite places. In nature high above the hustle and bustle and with of the best food around. The bubble barrel was lots of fun too and having nature so close just reminded me of how good it is for my soul. We will be back! PS Management I broke into our room using a credit card as the key was upstairs, Maybe something you look at fixing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClemD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Public Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hello Clem
We are always pleased with feedback from our guests and glad that you had a good time at Phantom forest.
Thank you for your suggestion with regards to security. We have addressed this problem and are in the process of upgrading the front door locks to our tree suites.
Hope to see you on the Garden route and at Phantom in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Got engaged at Phantom Forest. Everything went down very well!!! We loved the supper, food was amazing. The room was beautiful & very romantic. Service from all staff was really good. Thank you Sandy & Team!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Phantom Forest for three nights on our honeymoon and it did not disappoint! It’s very peaceful and relaxing there, we had such a wonderful time. Nothing was left unthought-of. The attention to detail and little extra touches made it a very special experience. For example, coming to our tree hut of an evening after dinner to find strawberries dipped in chocolate by the bed as well as finding a scrolled little story on our pillow. The staffs are very welcoming, and can’t do enough for you.
The restaurant food is very good. Every evening they have, I think a 5 or 6 course taster menu with an either or selection for each. They have a simple lunch menu, of which I believe changes every day, and you can order picnic baskets to take away should you have a day trip planned. The smoothies at breakfast are yum.
The views are out of this world. We opted for one of the upper tress houses which had a bath tub on the balcony. I strongly recommend turning all lights off in the evening, sitting in the tub with a glass of bubbles and checking out the stars. Amazing!
They have a great selection of massages, we both had a full body and head massage with the aromatherapy oils and it was really good. One of the best I have ever had.
The have two pool areas, both with stunning views of mountains and Knysna lake. The sun beds are kitted out with comfy towels, and there are several Moroccan style lounging areas.
If you want you can go canoeing in the lake (it’s a 5 minute drive away). Just book at reception and a driver will take you there and pick up. Should you do this, be aware that either side of the jetty is quick sand. When coming out of the canoe we thought it would be easier to pull up and exit on the shore instead of the jetty. My husband had a hairy moment, running and sinking in it upto his thigh!), but was quick to get out by using the canoe ore to leaver himself out! Stick to exiting on the jetty.
I will definitely come back and highly recommend the Phantom Forest as a truly relaxing and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our first visit for part of our honeymoon 5 years was amazing. Our second visit, just for dinner at the Boma was again something special. This, our third visit, was very disappointing.

This review is only for the restaurant.

Being our 5 year wedding anniversary, and this time also taking my parents with us (who were celebrating their wedding anniversary too) we were really hoping for a special experience.
Unfortunately we felt very let down from food to service.

We brought a chilled bottle of French champagne, that we asked to be put on ice while we showed my parents around the rest of the lodge (up to the Chutzpah). We were gone about 15-20mins, but when we made it back to the bar for our pre-dinner drinks, the champagne hadn't been put on ice yet, and also it took quite a while to be served while we waited. The menu and food choices are made before dinner during pre-drinks - but we didn't receive the menu's to even have a look at it for a very long time. Service felt very inattentive.

The meal costs R400 per person and at this rate, and comparing it to Cape Town restaurants that offer similar 6 course meals for the same price, we were expecting something of top quality.
Each course was disappointing and poorly presented. Our main meals (we had game meat and my mom had lamb) were all terrible. The meat was overcooked and the vegetables it was served with were limb and tasteless.
At this point we did mention it to the manager who tried to rectify it by offering a glass of dessert wine at the end.
It doesn't make up for a very disappointing meal and experience which is a shame and such a big change since our first visit. I think that either the chef was away, or the lodge isn't as focussed on creating an exceptional experience as it was 5 years ago.
For the price it definitely wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thanks for your review Kim, and for visiting us for the third time. Our boma restaurant prouds itself with the quality and excelence of food that you have previously experienced. Unfortunately you did not give our Chef the opportunity to discuss these issues with you personally on the night with regards to food quality.
The service issues have been taken up with our lodge management and staff.
We hope to see you back in the future for an amazing dinner experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at Phantom Forest over Christmas and it was a magical Christmas. From the moment we arrived we felt so happy with our decision. The staff, food, treehouse and location were all wonderful. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa & Cate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the lodge for 3 nights in one of the Moroccan suites and found the setting, views and all round service to be excellent. This Porcupine Suite is large, with great views and incredible privacy allowing one to enjoy the views from every angle .. the shower, the bath, the bed, the lounge, the balcony..... Being in the treetops also allowed us to enjoy the birdlife.
The food was excellent, with amazing menus for breakfast and dinner. A culinary delight, and from my personal point of view the best food in Knysna. I found the experience extremely relaxing.

Room Tip: The Porcupine Suite, is furnished in a Moroccan style and is large, private and has incredible views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryWilcox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
6.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.0 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
2.2 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve

Property: The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Address: 27 Phantom River Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Phantom Forest lodge and boma restaurant is situated in a private reserve on the Knysna River estuary, a magnificent setting of indigenous forest, fynbos and estuarine wetland. Designed to create only the lightest footprint , Phantom Forest offers superb luxury in complete harmony with nature. Accommodation consists of fourteen evocative "tree suites", perfectly integrated into the forest. Nature lovers can explore the reserve via forest and fynbos trails or canoe trips along the river. The Boma restaurant offers international cuisine served in the classic style while the body boma wellness spa provides a range of natural treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, South African Hotels and Ebookers so you can book your The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve Hotel Knysna
Phantom Forest Eco Reserve Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing