We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Knysna)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
258
51
22
8
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
51
22
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoontree houseboma restaurantmoroccan suitecourse menumagical placetwo nightsbreakfast and dinnerstunning viewsunderfloor heatingworld classgarden routelounge areasouth africabarrelmonkeysforest
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Out stay in this charming phantom forest Eco reserve was the perfect complement to our 3 week Capetown beaches and wine route experience. Knysna is about 6 hours from Capetown and well worth the drive. It's a charming town on the garden route but the Eco lodge up in the forest transports you to another world. Dinner was included our first night..a 6 course affair with lovely choices. Breakfast is also included and is delightful. And if that's not enough, a picnic lunch is also avail. The accommodations are charming, rustic and secluded. A family of monkeys entertained us a few feet from our porch one evening! It's quiet, calming and everyone that works there seems to genuinely like working there:). One of the several group lounging areas has internet so you are not totally "unplugged" while there....though the environment is amazingly conducive to total relaxation.

Room Tip: Personally I prefer the rooms with the forest view ....truly transports you to the tree house mentality and you're more likely to see monkeys:)
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

If we were any more relaxed during our stay we would have been in a coma! Phantom forest has to be one of the most relaxing, romantic and magical places to escape to from the 'real world' and we relished every moment! The setting is magnificent, the food amazing and the staff are wonderful. It was hands down the best Valentines weekend of my life!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lixiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Phantom is an amazing experience. The location is outstanding with the most beautiful scenery and surroundings. The rooms/ chalets are very,very nice and allow stunning views whilst in the bath and shower.
The food is equally good, with the 6 course dinner menu providing wonderful tastes of S.A. cuisine.
My wife and I will be back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Beatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your review on the Phantom Forest eco-reserve. We are delighted that you had a good stay and we look forward to hosting yourself and your wife in the future!
Regards, the Phantom team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were delighted with our visit, which surpassed our expectations.

We stayed three nights, and just wandering around on the wooden walkways saw monkies and deer, and from our deck saw many beautiful birds. A guide to them is left in every room, which is a nice touch. The suites are all completely private and set apart from other suites, and beautifully decorated providing you with your own romantic little sanctuary.

Perhaps the best surprise for us was the quality of the food - everything was fresh, expertly cooked, with a variety of flavour combinations and textures which made every mouthful pure pleasure.

Finally, the staff were super - very friendly, genuine people who made us feel at home. If we ever come back to Knysna, this is the only place we will be staying.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elinor & Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your awesome review that you left about our lodge! We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in our piece of paradise and that you managed to connect with the elusive wildlife living in our forest.
Your comments have helped to keep the team motivated and we look forward to hosting you in the future.

Take care
regards from the Phantom team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stumbled across this gem of a place quite by accident and had the most fantastic experience. The secluded tree huts are stunningly luxurious and the food is absolutely 5 star. We were even greeted by a beautiful little Bushbuck. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Definitely the upper tree camp suites that boast an outdoor spa bath.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoniS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your review that you submitted about our lodge!
Besides the cuisine, we are delighted that you experienced one of our elusive bushbuck!
We hope to and look forward to hosting you once again in the future!

Regards
The Phantom team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews