We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only monkeys are allowed to laugh....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“only monkeys are allowed to laugh....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Nice place and nice staff , BUT
We stayed 2 nights with our 15 ,13 and 12 yr old children ( 3 bedrooms) and have been very badly talked to when they laughed in the swimming pool : "It's a honey-mooner place here,shut up " by a sort of dragon popping up from behind a fence ... it was 6:00 pm, not very customer friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Claude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    48
    22
    8
    11
See reviews for
24
261
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Enjoyed a 3 night stay here and would return. On arrival, you park the car and a driver with the resort comes down to pick you up and drive you (and any luggage) up the fairly steep hill to reception. The chalets are separated by fairly thick forests from each other, so there is a high degree of privacy and seclusion. The shower had one wall that was a glass window with an amazing view over Knysna Bay. The amenities were top notch and there is certainly lots of room to spread out, sit on the veranda and take in the sun or share a drink.

While we certainly enjoyed the included breakfasts, usually served outdoors, sometimes with monkeys in attendance, the meals in the evening were more formal than we usually like. There was a relatively limited dinner menu and perhaps too much creativity than we prefer. The meal service was a bit slow at times and more staff may be required at certain times.

While the location is simply beautiful, in a forest preserve, it is necessary to have a car to tour around the Knysna area which is a real gem on the Garden Route.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allyurwishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is a beautifully located eco lodge with fabulous tree chalets set remotely in the woodlands above Knysna. However, as we are long past our honeymoon stage the delights of double showers and lush baths with views over the forest do not have quite the allure they might once have had!
This hotel has become known for its food but I would give a warning about this. Yes it is of a high (ish) standard but you have to have the 5 course evening meal or nothing! As we like a bottle of wine with our meal, we did not want to drive into town at night so were kind of stuck with things. I did mention this and ask if we might not be able to have fewer courses and was told " yes of course, but you must still pay for five!" I rather thought that the needs of the guests were not entirely bein met here, especially as only one restaurant was open.
Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay and rather more food than we would have liked.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muscadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great eco experience in a unique rural forest setting where no lodges were overlooked by another, as far as we can tell. Accommodation was large and comfortable with great views. With a five course breakfast and a six course dinner made to perfection we cannot fault this. Staff was friendly but we felt the lack of a dedicated manager interacting with the guests was missed. Can recommend it for romantic break aways.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Swan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Out stay in this charming phantom forest Eco reserve was the perfect complement to our 3 week Capetown beaches and wine route experience. Knysna is about 6 hours from Capetown and well worth the drive. It's a charming town on the garden route but the Eco lodge up in the forest transports you to another world. Dinner was included our first night..a 6 course affair with lovely choices. Breakfast is also included and is delightful. And if that's not enough, a picnic lunch is also avail. The accommodations are charming, rustic and secluded. A family of monkeys entertained us a few feet from our porch one evening! It's quiet, calming and everyone that works there seems to genuinely like working there:). One of the several group lounging areas has internet so you are not totally "unplugged" while there....though the environment is amazingly conducive to total relaxation.

Room Tip: Personally I prefer the rooms with the forest view ....truly transports you to the tree house mental...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

If we were any more relaxed during our stay we would have been in a coma! Phantom forest has to be one of the most relaxing, romantic and magical places to escape to from the 'real world' and we relished every moment! The setting is magnificent, the food amazing and the staff are wonderful. It was hands down the best Valentines weekend of my life!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lixiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Phantom is an amazing experience. The location is outstanding with the most beautiful scenery and surroundings. The rooms/ chalets are very,very nice and allow stunning views whilst in the bath and shower.
The food is equally good, with the 6 course dinner menu providing wonderful tastes of S.A. cuisine.
My wife and I will be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your review on the Phantom Forest eco-reserve. We are delighted that you had a good stay and we look forward to hosting yourself and your wife in the future!
Regards, the Phantom team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
6.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.0 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
2.2 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve

Property: The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Address: 27 Phantom River Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Phantom Forest lodge and boma restaurant is situated in a private reserve on the Knysna River estuary, a magnificent setting of indigenous forest, fynbos and estuarine wetland. Designed to create only the lightest footprint , Phantom Forest offers superb luxury in complete harmony with nature. Accommodation consists of fourteen evocative "tree suites", perfectly integrated into the forest. Nature lovers can explore the reserve via forest and fynbos trails or canoe trips along the river. The Boma restaurant offers international cuisine served in the classic style while the body boma wellness spa provides a range of natural treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, South African Hotels and Ebookers so you can book your The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve Hotel Knysna
Phantom Forest Eco Reserve Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing