We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“deliciously beautiful and private”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“deliciously beautiful and private”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

if you want to hide in private splendour, eat decadently and luxuriate in detail - this is the place to do it! what a beautiful romantic and delicious private world we entered into - absolutely unique and super special experience - thank you!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gia & Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    51
    22
    8
    11
See reviews for
25
271
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a change from the every day hotel, really special.
The start is your pick up at the parking, I am glad they did not want me to drive up there, and it is the last you see of your car till your departure.
The rooms are surrounded by trees and are positioned well away from each other so you are in fact alone in the forest.
The bathroom is to die for, bath and shower over looking the Knynsa lakes area, stunning.
The staff are very professional and the kitchen staff really know their stuff. The chef Robyn, made this a most memorable evening with a menu from heaven, coupled with a good wine selection.
Well done this is really a gem on the Garden Route.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drymen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed one night in this beautiful place in Dec 2013 as part of our honeymoon. The overall impression was great: nicely decorated villa with a good view and very tasty dinner at the restaurant. The villas are located quite far away from each other, which makes your own villa to feel very private. The massage was in a very unique premises with an open sky window! Unfortunately there was an incident that happened to us just before leaving the hotel. While my wife was in a massage, there was a member from the staff (luggage carrier) who jumped in to the villa from the window while I was staying inside. The staff member started to check our luggage and after realising myself started to explain about something that needed to be fixed in the villa. He totally paniced. As you may imagine, I was surprised - and not in a good way! I contacted the reception immediately to explain the situation. The staff was helpful in a way but I felt that I wasn't taken seriously enough. We understood that this had happened previously too and few weeks later we learned that the member of the staff was fired. When checking out apologies were given - but more important was to get my credit card details right. No compensation on this incident was considered. The situation was handled ok but not as we expected given the high standard of the hotel and amount paid. Overall we were left with quite negative feelings and only because of this.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKontio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

To all the staff at Phantom Forest Eco Reserve a heartly thank you for the professional and friendly service we received. Our experience at Phantom Forest contributed in making our Honeymoon adventure memorable.

100/100 for hospitality, good and lodges!

The Beukes 10-13 May 2014

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I spent four nights at Phantom Forest for our honeymoon. The accommodation was great - clean, private, luxurious. Delicious food at the restaurant, beautiful views, and an awesome and friendly staff made for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Beautiful place if you are looking for a quite place and privacy. Very special rooms and ambient. The rooms are very nicely furnished. Taking a bath on the deck of your room is just faboulus. Friendly staff and delicious dinner and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank hprw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Friends recommended strongly that we stay at phantom forest during our recent trip to South Africa. I can't thank them enough, it was wonderful. We stayed in one of the well appointed tree houses. With cool evening temperatures it was great to have underfloor heating in the bathroom. The rooms are set in amongst the Knysna forest and are wonderfully quiet and peaceful.
We had a package that included breakfast and dinner. The food was excellent and innovative. The dining and bar areas were wonderfully decorated and the bar boasted a great view of the Knysna inlet. The service was exemplary, the staff could not do enough to make our stay a wonderful experience. We appreciated the breakfast pack they prepared for us to take on our early morning drive to Port Elizabeth.
It was worth the long drive from Port Elizabeth to stay there. I highly recommend it as a relaxing and indulgent experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
6.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
802 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.0 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
16.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve

Property: The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Address: 27 Phantom River Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Phantom Forest lodge and boma restaurant is situated in a private reserve on the Knysna River estuary, a magnificent setting of indigenous forest, fynbos and estuarine wetland. Designed to create only the lightest footprint , Phantom Forest offers superb luxury in complete harmony with nature. Accommodation consists of fourteen evocative "tree suites", perfectly integrated into the forest. Nature lovers can explore the reserve via forest and fynbos trails or canoe trips along the river. The Boma restaurant offers international cuisine served in the classic style while the body boma wellness spa provides a range of natural treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and South African Hotels so you can book your The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve Hotel Knysna
Phantom Forest Eco Reserve Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing