We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Under Milkwood Chalets
Ranked #1 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our booking for this location had made from Australia some 6 months prior to our arrival. John had raved about the location and the chalet style accommodation so it was with some expectation that we entered the narrow roadway into the encampment.
2 x double suites had been requested and reconfirmed prior.

Approximately 5 hours from Cape Town along the Garden Route Knysna is a beautifully location with Under Milkwood located over a lake and close to the heads out to sea.
The cabins are old style wooden log builds that have decks and sliding doors to enable the enjoyment of being under the large Milkwood trees that are prevalent in the area.

Issue. John had specifically asked for 2 x double suites. We now ended up with the lakeside suite and John and his partner were in a ...... Wooden box with 2 single beds that filled the room....not good.
A dispute over the booking ensues. John up to the office.
We are here for one night on our way to Jeffery's Bay and I feel that the accommodation is an incorrect choice for the time on site. Under Milkwood is best suited to longer stays and the activities provided indicate it is popular with families.

Great views and panorama back over the lake and mountains in the distance. Well appointed for self catering. Outside Braai (BBQ) for those who feel inclined.
Big negative - the Wifi is a bit of a rort. 70mb for free then you pay. 4 people in one cabin sharing 70mb?? You are not told this until the wifi drops out.

John has a small win the next day as the administration recognises that things could have done better. A larger chalet to suit a larger group could have been made available to suit the requested needs. A reduction in the tariff is offered and accepted.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoelDPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

For a first visitor to Knysna, I am glad I stayed at Under Milkwood. The chalets are delightfully furnished with cookware which makes you just want to cook gourmet food. The setting makes you feel like you're on the French Riviera with the quiet beach on the lagoon, the lovely walks to The Heads and the views. The staff was very friendly and helpfull especially since we had a toddler. She loved the canoeing, hunting for shells and chasing crabs when the tide was out. Milkwood is ideal for anyone seeking quiet bliss in a fabulous town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

One of my most favorite places to stay - beautiful cabins, awesome crockery, stunning views, comfortable beds, great bathroom facilities, friendly service, cozy, slightly prices but worth it!! I can't wait to stay at Under Milkwood again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Callyjean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very good value for money. The Le Creuset equipped kitchen is any food lover's dream. Will definately go again and recommend to all my friends
The location of the chalets is also perfect for travelling with kids

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elsje S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was a lovely resort IF you stayed in a beachfront cottage. The beach is lovely and great for toddlers when the tide is out. It's pretty much a private beach. The staff were nice, the kitchen had every imaginable utensil, the rooms had block-out curtains. The biggest down side was the cramped parking and the "traffic" outside the bedroom window. The middle cottages are surrounded by parking bays so there is little privacy and some noise.

Room Tip: Beachfront. Not middle cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deranged_fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great wood cottages along the Knysna Heads only a few metres away from the stone-sand beach. Well equipped cottages with open plan kitchen, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and own terrace/balcony. Steep driveway, but understandable at the mountainous location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernst38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We recently spent a wonderful few days at Paquita Lodge at Under Milkwood. The house is beautifully situated at the edge of the lagoon, and is exceptionally well equipped. Every comfort has been thought of, and the staff were marvellous. They were friendly and efficient, and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. The views are fantastic, and we loved sitting on the deck enjoying our beautiful surroundings. The resort is very well situated, close to good restaurants, a lovely beach and wonderful golf courses. We will definitely go back, we loved every minute at Paquita!

Room Tip: Paquita Lodge is beautifully situated and perfect for a family or group of friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
848 reviews
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 23 in Sedgefield
454 reviews
2.4 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
282 reviews
3.3 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Under Milkwood Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under Milkwood Chalets

Address: 13 George Rex Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: £55 - £824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Under Milkwood Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the tidal shores of the famous Knysna Lagoon, lies a collection of 16 self-catering timber chalets, nestled amongst leafy vegetation and indigenous Milkwood trees. The tranquil setting offers guests a haven of leisure and comfort. It is the only resort at the world-renowned Knysna Heads to have direct access to the beach, which is framed by the Featherbed Nature Reserve and the majestic Outeniqua Mountains on the far horizon. Perhaps while relaxing on your patio, you will even catch a glimpse of one of South Africa's most striking birds, the scarlet-winged Knysna Loerie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Under Milkwood Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing