We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Under Milkwood Chalets
Ranked #1 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Perfect location within walking distance to two lovely restaurants right on the beach. Lovely cottage with very good amenities. Very peaceful.
Friendly staff
Free canoes for your use.. Would definitely return

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kazdavhug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    85
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
160
87
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've been staying on and off at Under Milkwood for the past 20 years and have enjoyed it every time. The accommodation is excellent, the staff always friendly and helpful, and the setting superb. We first visited Under Milkwood as part of our second-marriage honeymoon and we hope to be returning for at least the next 20 years.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RydhTybyans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

the scenery around is quiet and beautiful, the service people is polite and nice.and you can do self catering in the room, very convenient.and there are many beautiful site around the room, such as the view point on the top of valley, the waterfront, the sea beach.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank xuqin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We fell in love with Under Milkwood the moment we walked through the door! The boys loved the kayaking, dad insisted on braaiing with a view like that and mom was more than happy to cook multiple meals with gorgeous Le Creuset equipment. Staff was helpful and friendly. We will most definitely be back to enjoy this luxurious environment!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anetha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

In spite of the miserable weather the venue provided electric heaters an sufficient bedding to stay warm. Great place to stay with friendly staff. Parking space is rather tight, and would not be sure for inexperienced drivers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 184ick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Under milkwood is a great place for a family to book. The cottages are nicely furnished and it is well kitted on in terms of the kitchen. The views are amazing and the little beach with the rowing boats is really great for kids of all ages. The position is great and allows easy access to the heads and the main road to Plettenberg bay. Access to the Knysna waterfront is also easy. It is a place that we would go back too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This place got recommend by one of my SA friend and god we were not disappointed. Place was absolutely gorgeous and do quite. We had a chalet by the waterfront, it was so charming. Loved every minute, the hardest part was actually to leave. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kicouine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
7.8 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
3.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
2.0 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Under Milkwood Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under Milkwood Chalets

Property: Under Milkwood Chalets
Address: 13 George Rex Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Under Milkwood Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the tidal shores of the famous Knysna Lagoon, lies a collection of 16 self-catering timber chalets, nestled amongst leafy vegetation and indigenous Milkwood trees. The tranquil setting offers guests a haven of leisure and comfort. It is the only resort at the world-renowned Knysna Heads to have direct access to the beach, which is framed by the Featherbed Nature Reserve and the majestic Outeniqua Mountains on the far horizon. Perhaps while relaxing on your patio, you will even catch a glimpse of one of South Africa's most striking birds, the scarlet-winged Knysna Loerie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Under Milkwood Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing