We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tour but not outstanding”

Featherbed Nature Reserve
Ranked #7 of 76 things to do in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featherbed is a privately-owned, registered Nature Reserve and a South African Heritage Site, No.59. It is a pristine piece of paradise situated on the Western Head of Knysna and is accessible by ferry only.In order to protect the splendour of the natural beauty, access to the Reserve is controlled. Numbers are limited and visits are only permitted in the company of the Reserve's specialist guides.
Sneek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good tour but not outstanding”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I liked the nature on the Hill / mountain we die not see much animals. The lunch is marvellous that took more time than the hiking tour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natasja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    276
    85
    22
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Now please understand that I took a boat ride, an all terrain vehicle ride, did a hike, and had a great meal. I did not stay overnight. Nonetheless , this is a little piece of paradise, where, nestled under the overhanging milkwood trees, with dappled sunlight filtering through , you can see the splendor of the entrance to Knysna Estuary, where the River and the Indian Ocean join. There are many broken boats and ships down there, but you would never know it, swallowed up as they are by the constantly changing natural Elmer's. The guided are very knowledgable about geology, flora and fauna, and environmental concerns such as soil erosion and the need to fight introduction of alien plant species.
You have a great time, while learning a great deal. Money well spent.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 4749Anzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The whole experience was fantastic. Ali the tour guide was friendly, informative and a great raconteur with stories of the past and present about the nature reserve. The experience included lunch and a downhill trek for a couple of kms
It was great to learn some more of the local history and see the transition between the Indian Ocean and the Knysna lagoon
The value for money with the lunch and excursion was definitely there

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Need to get more user friendly with regards to small tour operators needing information on pricing and timings”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I called in at 081.15 when planning my groups day. I got stories about the phones being a problem! I could not get. The rates i required to book the business.I hesitate to take advantage of this offering with its great potential! Ted

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Topnotchted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne P, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Ted

Thank you for taking the time to review our business.

Generally tour operators email us their requests which allows us to build a relationship with them and get a full profile on their business.

Kindly contact our Business Development Manager, Nicole Tunmer, on sales@featherbed.co.za

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“intersting ride”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The ride up and around the reserve was very interesting if a little bumpy. We had a choice at the top to either walk down or return on the trailer. At the bottom there was a cafe with hot and cold drinks. The ride over on the ferry was very good with a very knowledgable guide giving us information about the reserve.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank teddy673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Featherbed Nature Reserve also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Featherbed Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing