We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”

Featherbed Nature Reserve
Ranked #7 of 76 things to do in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featherbed is a privately-owned, registered Nature Reserve and a South African Heritage Site, No.59. It is a pristine piece of paradise situated on the Western Head of Knysna and is accessible by ferry only.In order to protect the splendour of the natural beauty, access to the Reserve is controlled. Numbers are limited and visits are only permitted in the company of the Reserve's specialist guides.
Knysna, South Africa
2 reviews
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Don't leave Knysna without seeing the Featherbed Nature Reserve. An enjoyable boat trip with wonderful views of the area and an informative, humourous, history thanks to Allie, our guide.
On arrival a short walk to a truck/train pulling several open carriages and a scenically magnificent drive to the top of a mountain allowing breathtaking views. Mode of return is optional - the train or by foot. We chose foot. The downhill path and steps are not overly challenging for most people and scenic outlooks along the way of the Indian Ocean crashing through the narrow channel are superb. The walk ended with a splendid buffet lunch eaten in a most picturesque courtyard overlooking the lagoon. A highlight of visiting Knysna.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lily190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Lily190

Thank you for your comments. It is always very rewarding when our guests enjoy themselves. We will convey your comments to Allie.

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    277
    86
    22
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A great excursion”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We were taken over on a small boat and then we boarded a 4x4 truck to take us up to the top of the western head. The guides gave a very informative commentary and were very entertaining. Once we were at the top of the head we were left to walk back down at leisure. We had about an hour and a half to walk down which was plenty of time to explore the marvellous surroundings. There were caves and rock formations as well as the flora & fauna. The guides were visible at specific points on the walk and ready to point out additional paths and viewpoints. The walk ended along a coastal path followed by a buffet lunch of hot & cold food. After lunch we were taken back across the lagoon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear HeatherL

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
266 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Invigorating Walk through Nature”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Start off by taking a ferry across the lagoon, then take a ride in a trailer to the top of the hill where you get off and hike down the side of the hill until you get back to where you started. have a great lunch, worth taking this option and then sail back across the lagoon. Well worthy of a recommendation to travellers

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelFeetZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear TravelfeetZA

Thank you for the positive comments.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Must in Knysna if you are a nature lover.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I am glad that we did Featherbed nature reserves. There was a ferry ride from the bottom of mountain. Then we took 4 wheel drive to the top of mountain with spectacular views of Knysna heads and Indian Ocean. You have a choice to take 2.2 km trake to the bottom or use the 4 wheel drive back.We had 4 and 7 year sons with us, but having done similar activites in the past, decided to go ahead with it.Glad we did. The 2.2km 1 hour trake offered us stunning views and excellent photo opportunities. We saw sea caves and could even walk in it.The lovely host was always there giving loads of information on the way.
It is the best kept secret of lovely Knysna. Don't miss if you think you can handle the 2.2 km trake.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mangesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear MangeshP

Thank for exploring our secret with us!

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A lovely afternoon trip, enjoyable boat trip and walk”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was a really pleasant way to spend one of our afternoons in Knysna. You start with a nice boat trip with commentary across the lagoon and then are taken to the top of the Reserve by a jeep/trailer - quite bumpy at times but good fun! The guide then led us back down to the landing point, giving us the opportunity on the way to climb to a hilltop viewpoint (she said it was steep and rocky but it wasn't particularly either and anyway only took a few minutes to get there!) - the views were well worth it - and also to go down to some sea caves (definitely worth the 120 steps each way, as it is very atmospheric as well as a great close encounter with crashing waves!). The walk generally is not difficult and very enjoyable as there are some great plants and views as you go along, but although we did hear signs of life we didn't see any animals or birds at all.
We didn't eat anything on our trip but did have reasonably priced drinks at the end; there is also a small, but quite good, shop.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Merrowmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Merrowmum

Thank you for your complimentary comments. We do always rather advise that it is steep and rocky for safety measures however we are so pleased that you found it comfortable and worth doing the whole hog!!

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Featherbed Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Featherbed Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing