We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a 5-star experience at Knysna Hollow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We would like to thank you for an amazing experience. Your true warm South African hospitality was evident in ALL aspects of our stay. Your extremely well-furnished accommodation, crisp clean linen, modern bathrooms with 5-star amenities created a wow-experience to us! The service excellence which your staff practice, shows that your establishment truely care about their guests, both local and foreign. The selection of food and wines on offer during lunch and dinner was outstanding. Thank you for caring about us, taking care of our needs throughout the day and night. Your created an experience never to be forgotten. We gladly recommend your property to any traveller, with a smile. You have gone the extra miles in allowing us to experience true South African hospitality. Well done and we will see you again on our next Garden Route Holiday.

Room Tip: It is worth paying that little bit extra for a cottage, The cottages offer their own lounge with fir...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CleverClive, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you very much for the fantastic review and we are all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Knysna Hollow so much. It really makes the day of our whole Team to hear that the extra effort does pay off! We hope to be able to welcome you back to Knysna Hollow in the near future. With best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Knysna Hollow Country Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have passed a wonderful stay in this hotel.The rooms are spacious and very clean.
The restaurant is very good and the prices really correct.The service is very professional.
We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CleverClive, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and we are all glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - we hope to be able to welcome you back to Knysna Hollow at some stage in the future. With kind regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Our family stayed at this property last week. Before traveling there I reviewed this web site and the hotels website and was quite excited to stay. This hotel is misrepresented on their website and frankly I have to wonder who in their right mind would give this hotel a 4! We arrived at the location and the grounds are beautiful. Be warned that the office closes at 9:30pm and there is no security, nor a gate across the driveway. I was amazed at this. When we got to our room it smelled terrible. The bathroom was moldy, the toilet was cracked, the bathroom light did not stay on and the room was so dirty I did not want to stay. Our children had been in the car for some time so we decided to let them have a swim and then drive into Knysna. We came back to the property and had dinner at the restaurant as we had pre-booked. The food was mediocre and we had a much better meal the following night at the waterfront. We decided to stay the two nights we had booked but I have complained to our travel agent and decided to post my first ever terrible review on trip advisor. This property is in dire need of upgrades. The beds are uncomfortable and the sofa bed my children slept on was broken. We asked for extra towels and received one. When our room was cleaned the towels were not replaced and as the room was so damp we had damp towels for the next day-lovely! All in all a bad experience. Will definitely not return. What was most interesting was that we were given a card to post our comments on trip advisor! Management you note on all the bad comments that you will take them into consideration yet all of the bad comments state the same issues over a three year period. Perhaps it's time to complete the upgrades or at least stop misrepresenting this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a family room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sunworshipper049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CleverClive, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you very much for your comments and my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We actively encourage reviews from all our guests which is why we give out the TripAdvisor guest cards and I can assure you that all reviews, good and bad, receive our attention. I was not made aware of your issues at the time of your stay and would have appreciated the opportunity to rectify all the complaints you mention in regard to your room and the meal you had in our restaurant. Thank you for your feedback and, once again, my apologies if your expectations were not met.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Set just outside the coastal resort of Knysa, it offers a good standard of rooms, food and excellent service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyMcGonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CleverClive, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback and we appreciate the time taken to post your review of your stay at Knysna Hollow. Best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We spent 1 night at Knysna Hollow Country Estate. We stayed in a triple room, twin beds for hubby and i and 1 single bed in the tv for my son.

Beds are comfy and we had a good nights sleep. The room has coffee and tea facilities and a fridge to store any refreshments.

Rooms are spacious, same goes for the bathroom. The room has a country house / biggie best feel with high thatched roofs

Breakfast the morning was yummy, nice selection of both hot and cold spreads. Really nice danish pastries.

Big swimming pool and ponds with koi fish.. pretty garden area too

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Zubayda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Excellent staff in all parts of the hotel: nothing was too much trouble.

Fergus

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fergus w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CleverClive, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Dear Fergus, thank you very much for your review - myself and the Knysna Hollow Team are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Until next time, with best regards, Clive & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at Knysna Hollow which is centrally situated in the heart of The Garden Route and a great place to stay while exploring the Garden Route. We were fortunate to stay in room number 28 which overlooks one of their swimming pools and a beautiful oak tree. The breakfast was delicious and the management and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CleverClive, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you very much for the positive feedback on your stay with us at Knysna Hollow. I will pass your comments on to the Team and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Knysna Hollow at some stage in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.3 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Belvidere Manor
Belvidere Manor
#18 of 30 in Knysna
283 reviews
1.9 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £71 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Hollow Country Estate was badly damaged in the Knysna Wild Fires on June 7 2017 and the business is currently closed, pending substantial renovations and construction. We hope to be operational again in the latter half of 2018 and plan to re-open with a superior, 4-star standard of accommodation complemented by a brand-new destination restaurant and wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing