We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed in one of the cottages at the hotel, and found the accommodation to be very comfortable. The cottage was clean and very spacious for our needs. Even though it was cold at night the staff were by helpful in getting a fire started in our room and the heaters were more than enough to take the chill of the room. The staff were also very helpful with suggestions on our daily itinerary. The breakfast were good, with a big selection for all tastes. The location is good, as it is right next to the main N2 highway, so easy access to location east and west.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cmbuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you very much for the positive feedback on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow - it is always tremendously gratifying for myself and my team to hear from guests who enjoy their time with us and I will be sure to pass your comments on to all of them. Thanks again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Knysna Hollow sometime soon. With kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    230
    73
    21
    9
See reviews for
102
262
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Knysna Hollow. Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, fireplace that helps on those cold nights, delicious breakfast... I can go on and on. The only problem with my stay is that I could only stay one night!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquesDK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Fantastic review, thanks ever so much and we are super-excited that you enjoyed your time with us here at Knysna Hollow. We hope to be able to welcome you back at some time in the future. Best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Great rooms, if a little cold. We had ajoining rooms which was great for our teenage son. Dinner was excellent with wonderful service. Sadly, the amazing service at dinner didn't extend to breakfast where the staff were morose to say the least!. Reception staff really helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We would certainly stay again but would skip breakfast!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LOU1965Worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thanks very much for taking the time to post your comments about you recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. While we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your time at Knysna Hollow, the service you experienced at Breakfast is not the norm and we will do our utmost to address this issue - thank you for bringing this to our attention. With kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

After a Great Safari at Godwana Game Reserve, we were in the way to the Bloukrans Bunjee and pass the night in Knysna Hollow Hotel. It have an Excellent Service and Hotel, Great and beautifull Installations, Clean and Spacious Rooms and the best, awesome Breakfast with a great variety of food to choose from. Recommended 100%.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afecheverri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow, we are all very glad to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us - from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

Maybe it was the time of year but the rooms were very smelly ( musty) and cold, no facecloths, suggest you bring a scented candle or room spray. There is a wood fireplace though. Room we had was spacious. Shower was big also. Breakfast hot food was not. My dinner food was bland (chicken curry) but my friend enjoyed her kebob. Service was friendly and good. Would have preferred a location closer to the downtown area or near the waterfront.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review of Knysna Hollow and it appears that we did not get it 100% right with your stay - our sincere apologies in this regard! We do our utmost to make sure that every aspect of our guest's stay with us is enjoyable but appreciate feedback which assists us in rectifying problems when they do occur. With kind regard from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Room beautiful but very cold - ask for a hot water bottle at reception. But do not eat dinner here. Food was expensive and not good - our worst experience in sa. Soup was watery, springbok pie was undercooked and creme brûlée was curdled - not good for one meal. Breakfast was much better.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of your experience at Knysna Hollow and I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal in our restaurant. While we constantly strive to exceed the expectations of our guests, we do appreciate knowing about it when we fall short in this regard and your comments will be used to ensure that we avoid similar problems from occurring in the future. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We were very impressed by the chalet we stayed in as it was clean and well appointed. The open fire was particularly lovely. Also, although we were there in winter the restaurant was always busy with a good atmosphere in the evenings.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor detailing your experience with us at Knysna Hollow. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks and best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
2.0 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Property: Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2km from the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. Various room types to choose from including Garden Rooms, Garden Chalets and our new Superior Eco Estate Rooms, each room type offering various levels of comfort and amenities at different rates. Enjoy the lush, country feel of our indigenous gardens, yet only 5 minutes from Knysna town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing