We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovwly place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed for two nights in one of the cottages, really lovely. Reception staff were great. Nothing was too much trouble. We had dinner there as well. Lovely food. friendly staff. An all-round good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALIE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay at Knysna Hollow and we are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us - with thanks from Clive and the team at Knysna Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed 2 nights to start Garden route part of SA tour. Good accommodation and convenient for visit to Knysna. Would recommmend for relaxing time. Stayed in cottage around swiming pool area (too cold for swim though). Did notice a funny damp smell in room (as did others in party), which may be due to ceiling construction. Quality of food and sevice very high. Had problem with remote for TV, but staff very amenable to sort out. No safe in room though but reception offered very good safe service.

Room Tip: Despite funny smell, would still recommend the cottages arounf swimming pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISD_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for the positive feedback posted in your review of Knysna Hollow. We do appreciate the time taken to provide us with this very valuable information. In regard to the smell mentioned in your cottage, we have been busy over the past 2months replacing some of the old thatched roofs with new grass and this may be the cause - our sincere apologies for this. Thank you once again from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages at the hotel, and found the accommodation to be very comfortable. The cottage was clean and very spacious for our needs. Even though it was cold at night the staff were by helpful in getting a fire started in our room and the heaters were more than enough to take the chill of the room. The staff were also very helpful with suggestions on our daily itinerary. The breakfast were good, with a big selection for all tastes. The location is good, as it is right next to the main N2 highway, so easy access to location east and west.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cmbuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you very much for the positive feedback on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow - it is always tremendously gratifying for myself and my team to hear from guests who enjoy their time with us and I will be sure to pass your comments on to all of them. Thanks again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Knysna Hollow sometime soon. With kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Knysna Hollow. Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, fireplace that helps on those cold nights, delicious breakfast... I can go on and on. The only problem with my stay is that I could only stay one night!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquesDK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Fantastic review, thanks ever so much and we are super-excited that you enjoyed your time with us here at Knysna Hollow. We hope to be able to welcome you back at some time in the future. Best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Great rooms, if a little cold. We had ajoining rooms which was great for our teenage son. Dinner was excellent with wonderful service. Sadly, the amazing service at dinner didn't extend to breakfast where the staff were morose to say the least!. Reception staff really helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We would certainly stay again but would skip breakfast!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank LOU1965Worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thanks very much for taking the time to post your comments about you recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. While we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your time at Knysna Hollow, the service you experienced at Breakfast is not the norm and we will do our utmost to address this issue - thank you for bringing this to our attention. With kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

After a Great Safari at Godwana Game Reserve, we were in the way to the Bloukrans Bunjee and pass the night in Knysna Hollow Hotel. It have an Excellent Service and Hotel, Great and beautifull Installations, Clean and Spacious Rooms and the best, awesome Breakfast with a great variety of food to choose from. Recommended 100%.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afecheverri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow, we are all very glad to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us - from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

Maybe it was the time of year but the rooms were very smelly ( musty) and cold, no facecloths, suggest you bring a scented candle or room spray. There is a wood fireplace though. Room we had was spacious. Shower was big also. Breakfast hot food was not. My dinner food was bland (chicken curry) but my friend enjoyed her kebob. Service was friendly and good. Would have preferred a location closer to the downtown area or near the waterfront.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you very much for your review of Knysna Hollow and it appears that we did not get it 100% right with your stay - our sincere apologies in this regard! We do our utmost to make sure that every aspect of our guest's stay with us is enjoyable but appreciate feedback which assists us in rectifying problems when they do occur. With kind regard from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
869 reviews
2 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
4.3 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#21 of 30 in Knysna
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £64 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Hollow Country Estate was badly damaged in the Knysna Wild Fires on June 7 2017 and the business is currently closed, pending substantial renovations and construction. We hope to be operational again in the latter half of 2018 and plan to re-open with a superior, 4-star standard of accommodation complemented by a brand-new destination restaurant and wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing