We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/05
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 02/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$266
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$315/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
195
239
74
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
239
74
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthatched roofriviera tourgarden chaletgarden routecoach partiesdouble showerlog fireceiling fantwo nightsswimming poollovely hotelfeatherbed nature reservemain buildingthe cottagescomfortable bedswestern capenice pool
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 538 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Knysna Hollow. Lovely units and all surrounding one of the pools. This also helped in it feeling more private than it could have been, if there was 1 pool.
The staff and management and Knysna Hollow know what it means to give good customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen75_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here. With thanks and regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

The Estate has many thatched roof villas in a lovely green setting. Ample parking. Large rooms, at least in the modern complex, with clean bathroom. Friendly staff always ready to assist. Very good quality & generous country breakfast is served. Nice swimming pool. About 5 minutes drive to the Waterfront, and 20 minutes to the East Head Cafe. Brenton-on-Sea is another 15 minutes away. Mario's Italian bistro at the Waterfront is a popular choice as is Ocean Basket.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humouresque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you for your positive and detailed review of your recent stay at Knysna Hollow. We are always happy to hear when our guests are satisfied with their stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back soon. With best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Very well located for those travelling through the garden route. Well appointed cottages (thought baths are very sparsely furnished). Service was friendly. Apparently one of the best restaurants in the Knysna area. We enjoyed our meal. Breakfast service is great (sit outside if travelling in the summer months). Three pool, well-maintained gardens (but not overly landscaped, retaining their natural charm).

Room Tip: Choose a cottage over a room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magiccarpetride2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to stay at some time in the future. With kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed for two nights (January 2nd and 3rd) and apart from a picturesque scenic setting found nothing about this hotel noteworthy.
The rooms were decent sized and the beds were ok but closet space was inadequate without any safe for storage of valuables...unacceptable in my opinion. In fairness, the other furniture including a coffee table, two armchairs in the room and one outside on the verandah was decent. The bathroom was large and shower pressure was good but the sink (basin) had seen better days and was probably twenty years old!
The lighting was saved from being a total disaster by a fairly efficient standing lamp and there were a couple of plugpoints for appliance-charging which was a saving grace.
Service at checkin and at reception was bordering on the brusque side but the breakfast staff were cheerful and efficient. Breakfast was not special...but was filling and of acceptable quality and the sausages were remarkably good.
The hotel had lovely grounds and a nice garden but seemed to be on a cost-cutting mission..there was nothing added to the visitor's stay to make it memorable. This was a shame as a property as beautiful as this one could be a really top-notch hotel!

Room Tip: All the rooms i saw overlooked nice grounds...whether any of them were better appointed than my room is not known to me!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Knysna Hollow and we are disappointed to hear that you found your stay to be average. We appreciate the detailed feedback and will look at ways we could improve upon our offering to our guests. With thanks from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed here for two night on our way east. The hotel was easy to find and the staff were very friendly and welcoming, as was Charlie the cat! The food was plentiful and tasty and the service excellent.

There was only one little problem. On entering our room, there was a noticeable unpleasant damp smell every time. However, this soon almost disappeared once all the windows were opened. However, it was always there on our return. Apart from that, the stay was a very enjoyable one and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you very much for the positive comments on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow and we are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. With best regards for the New Year from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews