We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for conference delegates but but not couples!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My husband and I booked the hollow as part of our Garden Route trip but were both disappointed with the location (30 min walk from the lagoon) and that they couldn't give us a double room.

I think this place is used a lot for groups so the rooms have twins that they tried to convert by putting a blanket across both beds! I'm sure in Summer the rooms are lovely and cool bit in Autumn they seem quite sparse and lack a cosy feel with a number of cracked tiles in the bathroom.

Having said this the gardens and pool area were very well kept and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dipsyalx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thanks very much for the review on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we appreciate the candid feedback on your experience while staying here. We can easily convert our twin rooms to doubles on request and my apologies that this was not offered to you while staying with us. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future and ensure that your specific room requirements are met. With warm regards from Clive and the entire Team at Knysna Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Knysna Hollow Country Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay after an upgrade to a detached bungalow at a cost of about an extra 1200rands for the four nights .We initially had a garden room but were disappointed to find that there was no safe or,fridge, and only one chair inside and one garden chair on the patio . There was also no soap dish and tumblers in the shower room and the tea tray had only powdered milk . The upgrade gave us ,a large bath ,shower and twin wash basins,a fridge,two comfortable chairs inside and out , a double bed and not singles.No individual safe though valuables could be left in a safe at reception.
The setting is very pretty and the above may seem less important if your stay is only one or two nights.
The staff are very good especially in the restaurant where Denzel and Amos are particularly attentive. The food was very good.
We did enjoy our stay but I would definitely recommend booking the detached accommodation.

Room Tip: See above,our bungalow was near the back fence and there was some commuter traffic noise at 7am and...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 804stomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thanks very much for the detailed and positive feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your upgraded room and that our Team took good care of you during your stay. With kind regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Pity the garden rooms have only two single beds. Having some with double and some with two single beds would be more suited. Made sleeping uncomfortable at times.
We had a double shower but only one of the showers worked. Was comfortable and pleasant otherwise. Nice setting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thanks very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us. Warm regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This hotel was booked by our travel agency during our trip thru the garden route,
The appearance of hotel is nice, the cottage are big but the bathroom is horrible, they have 2 big shower and very small sink.
We had only one time dinner in the restaurant, food was OK but the atmospheres was cold, I couldn't read the menu because there is very little light, and they didn't even ask if we want to change the table.
Over all look like a motel, plenty of new guest every days and services are not warm at all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cunillu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Knysna Hollow and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay here with us. We sincerely appreciate the feedback and will do all we can to improve in these areas, where possible. With warm regards from Clive and the Team at Knysna Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

A well placed hotel on the N2 just before Knysna. Situated in a well appointed estate with thatch cottages and two out door swimming pools. We paid for a suite which was very comfortable with a large bathroom( two hand bowls) and comfortable beds. The breakfast was good,everything you would want with eggs or omlette cooked fresh on the griddle. The restaurant was very good value and the deck good for a lunch time snack. We stayed for 8 nights and found the location great for getting out and around the area. Can recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a garden chalet
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for the tremendous feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. With many thanks from Clive and the entire Team at Knysna Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights during our trip along the garden route for our honeymoon. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised to discover our room had been upgraded and were lead to our chalet, with its thatched roof surrounded by beautiful gardens. All of which made it hard to believe you where in a town.

The staff are all so helpful, welcoming and friendly. It is also popular with coach trips, which can make dining a bit noisy. The good is also of good quality.

The only negative we do have and it is no means the staffs fault, was the early morning wake up calls from the guineafowl.

The concierge service also offers a car washing service for a small tip, nice touch.

Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tclark104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Knysna Hollow. We hope to be able to welcome you back at some time in the future. With kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed over at the Knysna Hollows hotel for 3 days and from the initial booking with Claudine to the time that we arrived, we were treated like VIP guests.The rooms of our garden chalet was very spacious with a very large bathroom and a long double shower that the 2 young boys absolutely loved. The bedrooms was very neat and our garden chalet was right next to the pool...certainly a recommendation.
The rondavel (hut shaped) chalets all have names of indigenous birdlife and the outlay of the chalets with ample flora of the area complimenting this added greatly to the peaceful setting.
Breakfast was excellent and something that I looked forward to and we all thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is set just of the N2 (national highway) and is a few kilometers outside of the town of Knysna which means that you're away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel is very family orientated although our only slightly bad experience was with a tourist who wanted to swim/train lengths in the hotel pool whilst my two boys was just trying to have a swim and she thought they were getting in her way but thankfully we were able to resolve this without hotel management's intervention. We were rather sad to leave at the end of our stay but this is a place that I will most certainly re-visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thanks very much for the great feedback on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow with your family and we are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Until the next time when we hope to welcome you back, all the very best from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.3 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Belvidere Manor
Belvidere Manor
#18 of 30 in Knysna
283 reviews
1.9 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £71 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Hollow Country Estate was badly damaged in the Knysna Wild Fires on June 7 2017 and the business is currently closed, pending substantial renovations and construction. We hope to be operational again in the latter half of 2018 and plan to re-open with a superior, 4-star standard of accommodation complemented by a brand-new destination restaurant and wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing