We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was our 3rd hotel on the garden route, and was best yet, the rooms are huge, the bathroom have a double shower, if you feel the urge. The food at the hotel was very nice, and good value well the exchange rates helps, got some washing done here, it was cheaper than the other hotels. The T.Vs don't work well at all.
If your staying here on Friday, try the market round the back, not like the markets at most places more like a family get together, with live music, different kinds of foods to try. there is a bar, a few stalls, take a jacket as it get cold, when the sunsets, but then they light fires all around market.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. For your info, the TV signal has been down in the greater Knysna area for the past 2 weeks due to storm damage on the local transmission tower, but this is all sorted out now - apologies for this inconvenience. We hope to be able to welcome you back at some time in the future. With kind regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed in many hotels on our South African trip and unfortunately this was the only one we did not like. We were in thatched cottages ( like the Hippo Hollow in Hazyview) but these were smelly, musty and unbelievably cold. There was just one wee panel heater that was not adequate to heat the room on a winter's night . We asked for extra heaters but were told that there were none. My husband has a thermometer on his watch and it only registered 13 or 14oC on both the nights we were there . Some of our group's rooms had two panel heaters and they seemed a little warmer. We had to pile on every available blanket to try and keep warm. Having a shower was agony as you had to step out from the warm water onto freezing bare tiles( no rugs or mats) and try and get dressed as quickly as possible in the cold.
The bar area was also cold on the first night they had a fire lit but on the 2nd night we were going into dinner at 8 before they lit it. Restaurant wasn't even warm.
We didn't like the restaurant food either. One night I had salt and pepper squid which was just like salty string inedible . My husband's fish and chips was unremarkable. On the 2nd night we were a large group and the service was awful. We were on a set dinner with just a choice of 2 starters , 3 mains and 2 deserts so they knew what we would be ordering. We ordered at 7 and did not receive our mains until 8.40 and the food was freezing , it was actually very tasty but who wants to eat cold fish and springbok? Deserts took an age too and we gave up waiting for coffee and returned to our cold room.
Our bus group( 47) were leaving next day at 7.30am but unlike any of the other hotels we stayed in they would not open for breakfast until 6.45am and in fact kept us waiting in the cold outside until the very dot of 6.45 before letting us in and then things weren't ready. Surely if a hotel is getting a regular group booking from a tour company they could make the effort to accommodate them better?
Definitely one to miss and really our only bad hotel experience of the whole trip as we found the standard and value in S Africa very good.
Perhaps the hotel is better in summer as there are two pools and sunloungers

Room Tip: avoid rooms 58,59 and 60 ( and probably all the cottages in that area )as they only have one wall he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. While we do our very best to make sure that everyone has an enjoyable stay, it does happen on occasion that a combination of circumstances results in an unpleasant experience and for this we sincerely apologise. We certainly appreciate all your feedback and I will personally look into the matters you have raised and discuss with my Team on how we could improve in these areas. Thank you again and all the very best from Clive and everyone at Knysna Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent three days here as a good central location for our activities: westwards back to Mossel Bay for shark diving, eastwards to Plettenburg Bay beaches and elephant/monkey/bird sanctuaries and kayaking in Knysna. Secluded and peaceful setting c2km from centre. Individual cottages were well equipped. Cold at night but a real fire provided. Big bathrooms with plenty of hot water. Food and drink were good value and menu varied enough for us for three nights. Outside facilities a bit limited: swimming pools very small. Staff were all friendly and helpful - happy to help with booking activities

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WymeswoldOFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thanks ever so much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. Myself and the whole Team are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. With best regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

did a roundtrip and it was raining and raining, but thats nothing Knysna Hollow can change. Everything we asked for was friendly tried. Wireless internet did work in the lobby, a clean nice place, the house cat was a laugh, breakfast with fresh fruits and juices, rooms terriffic!!!
dinner did take a while, but we were a big group and ordered a la carte.

I cant say anything that I wasnt happy with!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snirak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

We are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Knysna Hollow. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Kind regards from Clive and the entire Team at Knysna Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights. We had individual chalets with our own log fires, which were very cosy in the evenings. The chalet was cool to start off with, but once we put the heaters on and lit a fire it was great. We ate at the restaurant every evening. Whilst the menu didn't vary a great deal, the food and the service was very good. It has nice swimming pools, but the weather was too cold to use them. The estate is situated just a couple of kilometres outside if Knysna. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WymeswoldKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope we may be able to welcome you back at some stage in the near future to this beautiful part of South Africa. With warm wishes from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We are very pleased with the service offering from the reservations to the actual stay. We also had a late request to accommodate an extra child and the reservations team offered the accommodation at no additional cost - thank you!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the family unit with the fireplace - lovely warm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you very much for the great feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. It's always a pleasure for us to hear when our guests have enjoyed their time with us and we hope to see you back in the not-too-distant future. With best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

beautiful place, very nice cottage, great shower for two!!
Close to the harbour, but really quiet.
We had a great time, unfortunately we could only stay 1 night, because
we had to travel further.
We were the only ones because it was just after the Oyster festival, but nevertheless the breakfast was great and they didnt put out less because it was just us.
Very nice people.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank clairebleumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thanks very much for your fantastic review, we certainly appreciate hearing that you both had a great stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back to our beautiful part of South Africa! With warm regards from Clive and the entire Team at Knysna Hollow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.1 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
2.0 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.9 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £104 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Hollow Country Estate was badly damaged in the Knysna Wild Fires on June 7 2017 and the business is currently closed, pending substantial renovations and construction. We hope to be operational again in the latter half of 2018 and plan to re-open with a superior, 4-star standard of accommodation complemented by a brand-new destination restaurant and wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing