We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay on the garden route”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Holland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay on the garden route”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights during our garden route trip. We loved the hotel. The rooms were very nice and the food was very good. In the vicinity is the Featherbed Nature Reserve. It is very close to the hotel and if you combine a visit with a great stay in het Knysna Hollow Hotel you get one of our favorite parts of the trip. It is beautiful there! Definitely would recommend to stop over here on your garden route. Also the room had a fire place and it was very romantic and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JzwHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Knysna Hollow and we are all very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It makes such a difference to all of us to know when our guests have had a great stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Garden Route sometime soon. Best regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    230
    73
    21
    9
See reviews for
102
262
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The small cottages around a pool was such a beautiful setting . I could have stayed there much longer than the two nights . The rooms were lovely and the service was really attentive. The food was lovely and the staff could not do enough to help. I only eat gluten free bread and this was provided and they remembered each meal that I may want some! This gives them five stars from me! Knysna is a lovely place and this hotel is well placed to visit the area . I agree with a recent review that this is a 'little slice of heaven'

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks ever so much for the fantastic review of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all thrilled to hear about how much you enjoyed your time with us and hope to be able to welcome you back soon! All the very best from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

A beautiful resort to suit a beautiful town. Knysna Hollow is the ideal place to rest, relax, lie by the pool, sleep in luxury, and enjoy great food. Close to town, but not too close, it is conveniently located, and peaceful at the same time. A little slice of heaven.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks for the amazing feedback on your stay with us at Knysna Hollow. It's always such a pleasure to hear about guests enjoying their stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! With kind regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incheon, South Korea
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed for four nights and enjoyed every aspect of this charming and well situated hotel. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and free of any problems, and the staff were friendly and helpful from start to finish. We could not fault either the buffet breakfast or the truly excellent meal we enjoyed in the restaurant. The grounds were a treat and the three (stunningly clean) pools provided us with a much appreciated cooling off from the heat of the South African summer. Knysna is a short bicycle ride away and well worth exploring, and the hotel kindly provided us with the bicycles to do just that! Without a doubt, one of the highlights of our month in this beautiful country.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here on the Garden Route and hope to be able to welcome you back at some time in the not-too-distant future. With warm regards from Clive and the Team at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I stopped here with my wife an daughter travelling on the garden route. The bungalows were very comfortable and clean. All the staff were very happy, helpful and polite. Attendance during breakfast was slightly lacking, but that is being picky. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and our waiter, Denzil was a star. So very charming and happy. It rained a lot while there, but we managed a few hours by the pool.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us - I will let all the staff know about your feedback and I'm sure they will be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again and best regards from Clive and the Team at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived here after already staying at a few places and it looks incredible. Small huts located around the grounds and 3 beautiful swimming pools. The rooms however were a slight letdown. Ours was very musty so we were glad we were only here for 1 night and there was no fridge in the room or a safe box for our valuables.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank scharteress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your time with us at Knysna Hollow - we certainly appreciate the feedback and will take your comments into consideration when planning our upgrade programme for 2014 - we would love to offer mini-bar fridges and room safes in all rooms but unfortunately this has an effect on the price we need to charge for the room! With kind regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Charming layout of cottages around the small pool. Great to watch your children. Rooms without airco. Eating facilities rather old fashioned, lacking atmosphere. Pics on flyer look much nicer than reality.
Friendly and helpful people.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We do apologise if some areas of our property did not meet your expectations and hope this did not detract from your overall enjoyment of your time in Knysna. Kind regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
2.0 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Property: Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2km from the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. Various room types to choose from including Garden Rooms, Garden Chalets and our new Superior Eco Estate Rooms, each room type offering various levels of comfort and amenities at different rates. Enjoy the lush, country feel of our indigenous gardens, yet only 5 minutes from Knysna town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing