We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best brunch in Knysna”

Leisure Island Coffee Shop
Ranked #2 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best brunch in Knysna”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed on Leisure Island and twice took a stroll to the other side of this little stretch of paradise to visit the Island Cafe. Expect warm hospitality, a charming antique/ gift shop and delicious selection of local preserves. We had one of our best brunches here (we are brunch people!) - fresh, quality ingredients and good home cooking served with a genuine smile. It's a great spot for afternoon tea too and there's a highly recommended Sunday roast lunch that we didn't get around to trying for ourselves.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donyale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    41
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
1 review
“Wonderful breakfast accompanied by stellar service!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Leisure Island Coffee Shop has great atmosphere, wonderful people and fresh cuisine! I thoroughly enjoyed my breakfasts there. In addition to a historic location and quaint products, the Coffee Shop delivers delightful food served by a delightful waitstaff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElizaStepien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A really lovely spot to grab a coffee and slice of cake”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Really special little spot to stop and take in a few nice little things lovingly made and well served.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Great Friendly Cafe”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The Coffee shop is a very friendly gathering place for locals and tourists. It offers a good range of breakfasts, lunches, and cakes at very reasonable prices.
The food is good quality and the staff very friendly
You can eat inside or outside, weather permitting.
You will see many of the residents of the island or neighbouring areas most days as the café is used by most as a great place to meet friends for a drink or meal.
It operates a superb quality and value Sunday lunch
At peak times - particularly Sunday lunch it will be very busy so make a reservation or get there a bit earlier

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bob n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leisure Island Coffee Shop also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Leisure Island Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing