We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views”
Review of Blue Oyster B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Oyster B&B
Ranked #21 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Stayed for two nights with my wife. Excellent clean and large room with fantastic views of the ocean. Extremely helpful staff with ideas on things to see and do. Well worth staying at if you visit Knysna.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DazzaOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

We found Blue Oyster on the internet in our search for accommodation for the Oyster Festival. As both me and my wife love a beautiful view, we were intrigued by Blue Oyster's website and claimed stunning view, right from our room. We had a high expectation arriving there, but were a bit sceptical since photos on the internet can be deceiving. We were blown away with the beauty of this place with one of the best views in Knysna directly in line with the mouth of the Knysna lagoon between the heads. Our room was spacious, cosy, attention to detail, the food was scrumptious and Vanessa and Charmaine's service was very friendly. We are already looking forward to next years Oyster Festival and staying again in this special place. Vanessa & Charmaine, thanks a million. Your place played a pivotal role in us cherishing very fond memories of our long weekend in Knysna.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mykonos room, and it must be the one with the best view and a delightful balcony. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharneyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The view from the rooms is amazing and everything you need for a comfortable stay was provided. We were greeted so warmly by Vanessa. Vanessa is very helpful with where to go in Knysna.
Such a beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Knysna lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilly7317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Me and a friend stayed over at the Blue Oyster B&B on the Oyster festival weekend. We did the cycling events that weekend. First off, it is a very beautiful place to stay, nice views and in a very nice area of Knysna. We both found Blue Oyster were very helpfull towards us, who are not from there. It is very clean and cosy and we felt right at home during our stay. The Blue Oyster's service are some of the best that we both have experienced in the past and will most definitely stay there in the future. Also will definitely recommend to all I come across who is searching for accommodation in Knysna.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We found Blue Oyster B and B by its beautiful view photo in Your Travel Companion, the small guide available at the Tourist Office in Cape Town. Nothing could have prepared us, though, for how lovely the place is--not only for its 180 degree view of the town, Heads, and Lagoon, but also for its blue and white Greek decor and beautiful rooms--or for how friendly and helpful our host, Vanessa, and her assistant, Charmaine, would be.

We loved the breakfasts, our conversations with Vanessa and Charmaine--their advice on things to see in the Knysna area could not have been more helpful--and absolutely everything about our stay.

I cannot recommend Blue Oyster highly enough. Go--and stay for several days in this
lovely, restful spot.

Room Tip: The luxury suite is amazing, with its huge deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wfurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed at Blue Oyster for 2 nights. Had one of the luxury rooms, enormous could have a party in the bathroom. Great attention to detail, flowers on the bed and candles in bathroom etc. Very neat and clean. Very friendly and helpful. Thanks Charmaine and Vanessa.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zantenait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We had one of the smaller rooms but it was lovely and the bathroom was huge. The standard of both rooms was very high justifying its hotel awards.
the view of the bay from our bedroom and the dining room was lovely as the hotel is located high up on the mountain. A bit tricky to find when you arrive so check directions.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.0 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#17 of 127 in Knysna
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bridgewater Manor
Bridgewater Manor
#6 of 107 in Knysna
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Guest House
Atlantic Guest House
#15 of 127 in Knysna
148 reviews
3.2 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#16 of 127 in Knysna
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Oyster B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Oyster B&B

Address: 11 Rio Street | Heuwelkruin, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £62 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Oyster B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4 star Mediterranean style villa superbly positioned high on the ridge overlooking the picturesque Garden Route town of Knysna and offering breathtaking 180 degree views of the lagoon and the famous Heads, the majestic Outeniqua Mountains forming a shimmering backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Oyster B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing