We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Oyster Review”
Review of Blue Oyster B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Oyster B&B
Ranked #23 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Once we found the Blue Oyster (at the top of the hillside) we were well pleased.
I think we had the best room in the house which could not be faulted.
Service by Vanessa and Charmaine was efficient, charming and helpful.
I recommend this small hotel to couples; whether its location and outside space is good for families I'm not sure but it does have a small pool Ok for kids.

Room Tip: We had a double aspect room on top floor (garden and Knysna views) which was excellent - with king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimAndSue_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

This lovely, well-appointed Bread and Breakfast Guest House offers wonderful views of the city of Knysna, the waterfront and The Heads. Rooms are spacious and well furnished, service is excellent, and several lounges, pool, and out-door living spaces provide pleasant areas for relaxation and enjoyment. Staff is considerate and professional providing any assistance requested. It's a great place to stay and an excellent value. I loved my month long stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eeking605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I would highly recommend the Blue Oyster to anybody visiting Knysna. Vanessa and Charmaine are excellent hosts and very knowledgeable on what to see and where to eat. The room that I shared with my daughter was very spacious and what a fantastic view! Everything was just wonderful and it was the highlight of my trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Picturesque Guest House with one of the best views of Knysna - and just a minute's drive downhill to town.

Amazingly clean and well appointment rooms, friendly owners, delicious breakfast.

Truly a home away from home.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArjunSavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed for 4 nights here, and being our first trip to Knysna we were not disappointed. The luxury rooms we booked( we booked both with the other couple with us even having space for a camper cot for there 10 month year old) were spacious and lovely. The best thing more so than the fact that the rooms had a shower and a bath was the view. The balcony has a lovely little table and a view of the whole of Knysna( really breath taking).

Bathroom Linen was changed every other day which was perfect, and breakfast was ample. My only critic on breakfast was the lack of variety, but that isn't even something to really make a noise about. Vanessa and Charmaine were so friendly and informative on things to do, and discounts that could be had on activities. They even put up with my wheat free intolerance( ;))

If you in Knysna I would recommend staying here for the view and the wonderful charm that Vanessa and Charmaine bring.Keep up the good work ladies.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Blue Oyster and experienced a wonderfull stay not at least caused by the hospitality offered by Vanessa and Charmaine. They did all possible to inform us about the ins and outs of Knysna, arranging restaurants (even arranging sole, which was not on the menu of a specific restaurant) all because it was Elly's birthday. The bottle of sparkling wine for this occasion was highly appreciated. Very handy to have the menu of several restaurants available in the guesthouse so you good make your choice in advance.
Many thanks,
Elly and Herman

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vosnieuws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My wife and I spent 1 night in Knysna at the Blue Oyster B&B and thought it was great. We were actually the only guests (there are only 3 rooms) and we had the run of the entire place. Vanessa helped us settle in - she upgraded us to the luxury room since it was empty - and got us a reservation for dinner including a shuttle service so we didn't need to drive ourselves. The room was very roomy, comfortable and had an incredible view of the bay. In the morning we had a great breakfast cooked for us and ate in front of that view! This B&B is great value and would be terrific for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.0 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#20 of 129 in Knysna
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
652 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
277 reviews
3.2 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#13 of 129 in Knysna
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#6 of 129 in Knysna
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Oyster B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Oyster B&B

Address: 11 Rio Street | Heuwelkruin, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £58 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Oyster B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4 star Mediterranean style villa superbly positioned high on the ridge overlooking the picturesque Garden Route town of Knysna and offering breathtaking 180 degree views of the lagoon and the famous Heads, the majestic Outeniqua Mountains forming a shimmering backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Oyster B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing