We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite 5* but still very good”
Review of Conrad Pezula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Conrad Pezula
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed for 2 night whilst doing the garden route.

Room was luxurious. All rooms are in separate blocks to the main building and our bags and ourselves used a golf cart to get to the room. Huge bed, great bathroom, walk in closet, bar area with drinks and capsule coffee maker. Only downside was that they put a z bed for my 14 year old which wasn't very comfortable, he ended up sleeping on the couch. Housekeeping did make up a separate single bed for the next night though.

Great views of Knysna from the hotel main balcony, seemed to be lots to do at the hotel. We all had a go at the golf driving range even though we had never done it before and the hotel organised everything including loan of clubs. Spa looked good but we didn't have time to use it.

There are some issues with the restaurant staff. On the first day when we checked in we made a reservation for the restaurant but when we turned up there was no table for us and we had to wait for people to leave before we could get a table, There were still some issues with service that we had to complain about but they did get resolved and we did get the meal on the hotel but it left a feeling that the restaurant staff weren't on top of their game. There were still some issues at breakfast , 25 mins waiting for a couple of poached eggs!!!

I was going to give this a 3* review but that wouldn't be fair, it's a very luxurious hotel , it's just some of the service in the restaurant that lets it down.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiltsKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2015

Dear wiltsKeith

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

While I am pleased to hear that your overall experience was good, it concerns me that there were some service issues for which we sincerely apologise.

Please rest assured that we have noted your comments and will use your valuable feedback to assist with further training our team.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

What a treat. They have their own beach. There are beach chairs, towels, umbrellas and water waiting for you. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are beautiful. The restaurant has very tasty food. The breakfasts are delicious. They have dvds you can choose from. A very modern bathroom. We cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NooneyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear NooneyG,

Noetzie beach is one of the most secluded and prestine public beaches in the area. We are very fortunate that we have access to such a natural resource and am very pleased that you had a great time there.

Thank you for the review and giving us the public recognistion for looking after you and creating exceptional memories.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Conrad Pezula.

Kind Regards

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We had a great stray at the Conrad pezula.. It's a lovely hotel with a beautiful gold course. Nice views of the ocean and lagoon. Up in the hills away from the city of Knysna. If you have a car it's not far away from the Knysna water front where you have some good eateries.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samdalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Samdalal,

Thank you for the review. We are so grateful when our guests take the time to tell us about their stay, the location and service. Knysna truly is the gem in the crown of the Garden Route. Sitting on the viewing deck watching the sunset over the glistening lagoon is one of the most beautiful scenes.

We enjoyed being of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you to back to Conrad Pezula.

Safe Travels

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

There is good views all around the hotel and the pools are heated but the service lets them down a bit it's a bit like that are understaffed because we had to wait 28m42s before poached egg and bacon on toasted arrived and that was satisfactory. And it all seemed a bit hap hazard so we wouldn't come back again also after the first evening the manager reassured that it was a one off there was no bed for me (14yr old) when my family got to the room and when the bed did turn up it was as hard as a brick so I slept on the sofa. So it was an average stay

Room Tip: Choose whatever you like rooms 1,2,3,4 and 33,34,35,36 are close to breakfast and rooms 81,51 are fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Ewan C,

We always value feedback and I have to apologise if you were let down with service. Our team and the personal touch is one aspect that our guest always refer too.

I am sorry that you found the rollaway bed uncomfortable. Young Travellers are amongst the most critical and I thank you giving us your feedback.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the views and the quality of the food. Our Chef sources locally and always as close to nature as possible.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Conrad Pezula and we can make sure you receive a comfortable bed.

Best Regards


Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Incredible service and luxury. Beautiful scenery. Staff were simply amazing. Room was absolutely huge and beautiful. Food was wonderful. Really the best of the best in all respects. And Spa was a step ahead of others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Marc W,

Thank you for the review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the space our rooms have to offer and that the spa offering is superior. Thank you for acknowleging the team members because without them we would not be successfull.

Keep well untill we see you again at Conrad Pezula.

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights. We had a great stay. Very superb, all the staff are professional and very friendly.

When we arrived we received a warm welcome. We were taken to our room and a fire was made for us, they also have a turn down service every night. When ever you need anything you just call the front desk and they'll be there in a sec.

The breakfasts was very nice every morning and their HOT CHOCOLATE is divine :-)

This was one of the stops during our honeymoon. They made it unforgettable with the fires in the evening,swimming in the heated pool in the spa, we enjoyed a horse ride with a very informative guide that told us about all the different trees in the forest and we also had a canoe trip up the Noetzie river very peaceful, romantic and secluded.

We had a great stay!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Alicia305,

Creating memories and unforgettable experiences are probably one of the biggest responsibilities we have as hospitality professionals. We are extremely pleased that you have many to refer to.

It was our pleasure to be of service to you and I thank you for giving us such a glowing review.

Be sure to visit us again on your 1st Anniversary.

All the best and safe travels.

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have just experienced a piece of heaven on earth! Conrad Pezula is truly an exceptional place. Superb location in Western Cape, on the Garden route, with beautiful, white beaches etc..need I say more? They even have a Castle on the beach! Highly recommended for honeymooners,families,everbody!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoziTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear JoziTMan,

Thank you for you review of the stay at Conrad Pezula. Receiving such a review is very rewarding to the team and motivates us all to do better. The Pezula Private Castle is one of the most exclusive holiday locations in the world, and Noetzie beach one of the most pristine.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Conrad Pezula on your next visit to South Africa.

Best Regards

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
3.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
16.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
4.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.1 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Pezula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Pezula

Address: Lagoon View Drive, Eastern Head | Pezula Estate, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#1 Business Hotel in Knysna
#2 Family Hotel in Knysna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £132 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Pezula 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Pezula delivers a whole new world of luxury and privacy in elegant African style. Situated in Knysna, just a 40-minute flight from Cape Town, it is known for its gourmet restaurant, award-winning spa, exquisite location and secluded beach. A wide choice of activities includes golf, tennis, horse riding, canoeing and hiking. Accommodation is in 78 stylish suites each with its own fireplace, balcony or patio and spacious bathroom and 5 two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Conrad Pezula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pezula Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing