We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A benchmark for hotels in South Africa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conrad Pezula

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Conrad Pezula
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A benchmark for hotels in South Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I visited Pezula for the second time with my wife and two young daughters. We stayed for 11 nights and the hotel is one of my favourites in South Africa. The staff are exceptional, special credit should go to Liesel and Helen who are a massive asset to the hotel. The location is good, the rooms a decent size, spa pleasant and food is fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Titanic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Titanic1,

Thank you for acknowledging the service you received. As a Top Contributor and a Super Long Stay guest in our hotel you definately know what to expect and we are honoured to have had you in the hotel for so long.

I appreciate the time you took to post a review and recognizing the team members by name inspires everyone to go the exra mile. Thank you for making our job easier and I look forward to welcoming you back to Conrad Pezula.

Best Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    139
    51
    25
    17
See reviews for
232
359
7
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
231 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We traveled to SA for my 40th Birthday and the stay in Pezula was the end of a fantastic trip that I really will never forget. SA is truly amazing :)

Having stayed in the Hilton CT and numerous other bespoke hotels on the trip I was really looking forward to Pezula. I am a Diamond HH so travel a lot (I've stayed in Conrads on most continents) so my expectations were fairly high. Pezula failed to deliver and I am still a bit unsettled by the experience a month on.

First impressions are very positive. The hotel is really smart and clean, the room was amazing and the staff who checked us in (quite late) were very professional. While at the hotel we used the Spa twice and golfed, both were very impressive and the staff in these facilities went out of their way to be helpful and welcoming.

Unfortunately, our experience in Cafe Z (for breakfasts in particular) was just simply appalling. Similar to Hamish11 we experienced the aggressive waitress. I noticed her being exceptionally rude to another customer and she then turned on me! She really was very very rude and the whole thing was very unpleasant. We actually decided not to breakfast in Cafe Z afterwards, we also decided against Zachary's for this reason.

There does seem to be a more general breakfast issue though - once shown to your seat you are asked for tea or coffee. Coffee seems to take an excessive amount of time for what is just filter and arrives in a teapot! There is a very limited selection (Hilton CT is FAR superior) and the "hot" food is lukewarm, at best. Oh and no toaster.

The other thing I was less than impressed with was the reception service. Any time we rang for something it would take an inordinate amount of time, and numerous follow ups, to complete. We actually sat in one night and waited for over 2 hours for the fire to be lit, we must have rang 5 times....then gave up. On check-out not one of the 5 members of staff behind reception asked me if I had enjoyed my stay or thanked me for my custom.

I expect a lot more from any 5* hotel but particularly a Conrad.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livo_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Livo_73,

Thank you for the review. I always value feedback and appreciate the fact that you took the time to advise us of your experience.

Please accept my apology for the poor service you received. It certainly is never the intention of any hotel to upset their guests or deliver poorly. We have subsequent to your stay revised some elements of our breakfast service and it runs a lot smoother now.

Thank you for staying with us and supporting us and I look forward to welcoming you back to Conrad Pezula should you travel to Knysna again. Please advise me direct of your travel dates.

Thank you for being critical and assisting us to improve.

Sincerely,

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My family and I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. It was my husbands 60th birthday surprise and we very much enjoyed the stay! All of us had a treat at the Spa as well which were wonderful!! The restaurants on the premisses are excelent! Why go overseas if you can get it all here on your doorstepp, South Africans??

Room Tip: Every room has a magnificent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plattelander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Plattelander,

Happy Birthday to your husband!

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the time with us. It's always so special when we have the opportunity to look after our guests with special occasions. Thank you for the review and selecting us as you best hotel in South Africa.

Best Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a must for anyone doing the Garden Route , a gorgeous location wonderful golf course perfect service good food and very relaxing .

All the rooms suites are special with open fire places and some even more than others .

Can only say in my opinion all would be happy visiting this resort .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathonSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear JonathonSwitzerland,

Thank you for staying at Conrad Pezula and secondly for giving us a 5 star review. We never take them for granted and thank you for recognizing the team that looked after you. I am pleased you had a great time and that fond memories will be with you about your stay in Africa.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Conrad Pezula with more great golf and exquisite food.

Best Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel was fantastic. Very modern hotel where the large rooms are in fantastic villas with great views. The grounds are attractive, great food and friendly and welcoming staff. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 21 April 2015
Dear Michael R

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

It was a pleasure having you with us and I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic experience.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

What a delightful place to stay. extremely quiet and relaxed. it was understated luxury. the suites were delightful, with every convenience you could want. the restaurants (Cafe Z and Zachary's) were great and we ate at both. The steak at Cafe Z was fabulous, as was the parmesan souffle. The overall meal at Zachary's was good, and pricey, but the beef chop was a little disappointing and lacking in flavour. The spa was fantastic and we treated ourselves to some serious pampering - the massages were fabulous. Overall a wonderful time and we look forward to heading there on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Angie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 21 April 2015
Dear Angie K

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

It was a pleasure having you with us and I am very pleased that your overall experience was wonderful.

Thank you for your positive and encouraging comments which I will be sure to share with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent stay.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

What a great stay at Conrad Pezula in Knysna, were staff are efficient and friendly and make you feel very welcome. It is situated in a picturesque coastal environment with great views as well as excellent suites and amenities for adults and children.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nisar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear NizaT,

You have picked the perfect time to come to Knysna and experience our hotel. Thank you for recognizing us for doing a job well. Guests like you give us all the more reason to strive for perfect service. I am pleased that you have great memories to take with you.

I look forward to seeing you back in Knysna soon.

Best Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.8 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
4.7 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
9.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Pezula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Pezula

Property: Conrad Pezula
Address: Lagoon View Drive, Eastern Head | Pezula Estate, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#1 Business Hotel in Knysna
#4 Family Hotel in Knysna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Pezula 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Pezula delivers a whole new world of luxury and privacy in elegant African style. Situated in Knysna, just a 40-minute flight from Cape Town, it is known for its gourmet restaurant, award-winning spa, exquisite location and secluded beach. A wide choice of activities includes golf, tennis, horse riding, canoeing and hiking. Accommodation is in 78 stylish suites each with its own fireplace, balcony or patio and spacious bathroom, 5 two bedroom villas and the grand Pezula Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotelopia so you can book your Conrad Pezula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pezula Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing