We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 3 nights in romantic location”
Review of Conrad Pezula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Conrad Pezula
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My partner and I stayed in one of the houses overlooking the golf course for 3 nights in January with friends whilst visiting South Africa.
Very romantic setting with the swimming pool overlooking the ocean, so much of a perfect spot that I proposed to my girlfriend and she said yes. My now fiancée and I would certainly go back to this place as it holds fantastic memories for us. Our friend captured the moment when my partner found the ring in her glass.............

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milleroz146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Milleroz146,

What a big moment for the two of you. CONGRATULATIONS!! I am so pleased you enjoyed the hotel and what the destination offered. Thank you for the review and allowing us to form part of your memories.

Knysna is the perfect romantic destination and I look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps even assist you in planning your wedding or honeymoon.

Best Regards

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

Fantastic location and wonderful rooms.Very nice bar and lounge area .Excellent and attentive staff but service can be a little slow at times.Good food.Pool area a bit on small side if was busy.Fantastic golf course but busy and slow.Plenty o good and reasonably priced restaurants in Knysna.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts
Thank X9222IBpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

Thank you very much for the review and advising us of what worked and what did not work. We certainly take your comment on board with the service that is slow and will look at the processes to increase the speed and productivity.

Knysna is such a diverse destination, you can find just about anything to your liking and I am pleased you ventured out and explored.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna and Conrad Pezula.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

In spite of a disappointing start, the staff made this a great stay. The shower in our first room had a blocked drain and then the hairdryer caught fire - didn't just spark but literally caught fire with flames shooting out of both ends - the acrid odour of melted plastic in the room necessitated a change of room (rather than a hairdryer change as first proposed by front desk!) In spite of this little hiccup, we were fully satisfied with the actions of management who arranged a change of room while we dined. The (saltwater) pool is very nice, but I was a little surprised that it wasn't bigger, given the hotel size. There would appear to be space in the grounds to add another (kids pool?). The only other very minor surprise was that we expected additional mattresses for the kids to be on rollaways, rather than set out on the floor.

We'd highly recommend a visit to the private beach (free of charge), and hotel-provided picnic (at a charge). It was really lovely, and the activities were great too - my daughter did archery in beautiful surroundings: the tutor was friendly and attentive - great value for money.

Dinner was rather disappointing in Cafe Z, but breakfast was great. Breakfast waiting staff were excellent - Lisele deserves a special mention for organising egg-free scones when she learned of my younger daughter's egg allergy. There was another very minor hiccup when I was slightly overcharged for a glass of wine in the restaurant - I suspect that the 2014 prices in the system have not yet made their way into the printed menu....in spite of the fact that I struck out the incorrect charge on the receipt and wrote a note identifying the correct price, the incorrect charge still appeared at checkout - but this was swiftly corrected by front desk staff who were also friendly and efficient.

This is perhaps not the best place to stay if you plan to use Knysna as a base for touring the surrounds, due to the slight distance from the main N2 highway, but if you want a relaxing getaway with great service, this is the place to go. Overall we had a great stay and we would have returned the following week, had there been availability.

Room Tip: Upper rooms afford a (better) view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokescreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Smokescreen,

Starting the way you did is never ideal but I am very pleased that you where satisfied with the way the team dealt with the situation and that you allowed us to rectify the problem.

Thank you for the review and highlighting areas where is is possible for us to improve and do better. Please accept my apology for the incorrect charge in the restaurant. If you like you may advise me direct a bit more detail why you did not enjoy the dinner experience in Cafe Z.

The beds should be roleaway beds and I will look into this. We did have an unusual amount of children in the hotel and I suspect that the team had to make alternative arrangements to accommodate the children in the best possible way. My apology about that.

Thank you for the review, the positive recognition of team members by name is valuable and I look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A four day stay at the Pezula was something to look forward to and turned out to be even better than expected. The accommodation is luxurious, spacious, fresh and clean. The breakfast, whilst being fairly traditional, consists of the best quality fares and even special requests are catered for. One can hardly expect better service. All in all, one of the best local holiday destinations at what appears to be very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwandrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear WWandrag,

Thank you. A review from a Top Contributor written like that makes our chests swell. We are proud to always strive for the best guest experience and are always grateful for the recognition.

I look foward to welcoming you on your next break in teh beautiful Garden Route.

Best Regards

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We just spent the weekend there and what a place. The rooms are awesome the setting fantastic the general staff are amazing and so accommodating to children. However, the service at the pool and Cafe Z NEEDS to improve. There was not a meal when an order got lost. You cant keep using the same excuse that they "docket got lost in the kitchen". The first time is acceptable and understandable but every meal we had? The coffees always arrived cold at breakfast. The breakfasts took forever to get made (even when there were just 4 of us at a table).

There was one brilliant waiter at the pool but the others were terrible. It took on average 40 minutes per order before we would complain. That is when there was a waitron around as we kept on having to go back to the hotel to find them. There were 4 umbrellas at the pool for possibly 30 chairs. Just not enough.

Couple of other minor complaints - the pillows were huge but hard as rocks. Int he bedroom, the chaise lounger was badly worn. The hotel had tried to cover this up with a "throw blanket" but when you are paying those prices, the least you could do us recover the furniture. Our room had no internal lock as the bracket was missing. We had to ask for new slippers as the ones we had looked "worn".

Dont destroy this perfect place by letting down the team with poor service and minor irritations. This is a truly amazing place.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room and ask to face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear DavidR,

Thank you for the review and giving us the constructive critisism. We are reviewing all processes in the Cafe Z environment and looking at how we can streamline the guest experience even better. Please accept my apology for the service delivery problems you did experience.

We have a pillow menu and it is possible for you to order a different pillow. Perhaps at the next visist we will be able to provide you with a suitable alternative and you can have a peaceful night's rest. Teh comment about the Chase lounge is noted, we have been re-upholstering them the past few weeks and will continue untill all is repaired.

Thank you once more for allowing us to look after you while you stayed with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best Regards

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Really loved the Pezula Resort Hotel & Spa in Knysna. Fantastic accommodation, great views. Overall great experience. However, stay away from the Turbine Hotel - stayed at this hotel for a night - hugely disappointing. Should have stayed another night at the Pezula Resort Hotel & Spa.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Francois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Francois V,

One night always seem to be disappointing. I am pleased you enjoyed the evening and teh day with us and look forwad to welcoming you for a longer stay the next time you are in Knysna.

Thank you for the review and teh public recognition. I am proud of the team and what they do to create lasting memories.

Travel Safe

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

An excellent stay. Terrific views from the balconies. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the resort to anyone who would appreciate a luxurious holiday. The golf course is excellent as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts
Thank RickyBruges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear RickyBruges,

I appreciate the time you took to provide us with a review. Thank you. It is always nice to hear what our guests enjoy and give fellow travellers an idea of what to expect.

Travel safe and we hope to see you soon.

Best Regards

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
3.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
16.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
4.1 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.5 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Pezula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Pezula

Address: Lagoon View Drive, Sparrebosch | Eastern Head, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#1 Business Hotel in Knysna
#2 Family Hotel in Knysna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £142 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Pezula 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Pezula delivers a whole new world of luxury and privacy in elegant African style. Situated in Knysna, just a 40-minute flight from Cape Town, it is known for its gourmet restaurant, award-winning spa, exquisite location and secluded beach. A wide choice of activities includes golf, tennis, horse riding, canoeing and hiking. Accommodation is in 78 stylish suites each with its own fireplace, balcony or patio and spacious bathroom and 5 two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Conrad Pezula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pezula Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing