We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (911)
Filter reviews
911 results
Traveller rating
644
158
57
32
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
158
57
32
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe znoetzie beachgolf courseprivate beachindoor poolin room diningwalk in closetbeautiful resortplay golfsouth africahotel restaurantrooms are hugeindian oceangarden routeattention to detailtop classlong drive
Filter
Updating list...
563 - 568 of 911 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lovely room with great golf course views. The interior decoration throughout the hotel is excellent. Bed comfortable - but not as good as some. You can have an open fire during the chillier months. Breakfast was adequate but not extensive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts
Thank Trishb2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Pezula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Trishb2302,

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Conrad Pezula, I always appeciate the feedback we receive. Our Breakfast offering does seem smaller in comaprison to some but all ingredients are locally sourced, produced in our own kitchen and absolute produce integrity is kept front of mind at all times.

If you let me have the suite number you stayed in I will personally check the mattress.

Thank you for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Conrad Pezula. The easy access room for my father and the wheelchair was wonderful. Our other rooms were just as good. Spacious, comfortable and well equipped, with log fires and air conditioning! The service was courteous and the Reservations manager, Tracy Hoff went the extra mile to accommodate my father in the disabled room. The golf carts to whizz you around were always available and the indoor pool was warm and quiet. We ate at Cafe Z both nights and found the food, wine and service very good. My only small gripe would be that the bar service was a bit haphazard and slow but the drinks were great when they finally arrived. The setting is so peaceful and you are only a short drive down the mountain to Knysna. Highly recommended by all our party, with age ranges from 26 to 87!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spursfanlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Pezula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

Dear spursfanlondon

It was a pleasure having you with us and we thank you for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we are delighted that your overall experience was excellent and enjoyed by your whole family.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for some more wonderful memories.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Conrad Pezula as a break on our Garden Route trip. What a place! What a suite! It was one of the most spacious and most comfortable we ever had. Anything you might need is there, including a beautiful view from the balcony.
The service was great, and we felt very welcome all the time.
The only small problem we had was to find a master key on our room door one evening, left by the cleaning lady. This was mentioned to the manager on duty who immediately came to apologize and offered us a nice bottle of wine. This was much appreciated.
Breakfast was great and the waitresses did not hesitate to move tables when we wanted to sit on the terrace to enjoy the great South-African weather. Great job ladies!
A shame that we had to leave, we could have stayed a few more days...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Pezula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

Dear Gallia53

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us and delighted to hear that your overall experience was excellent.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

From arrival to departure, all perfect. If you are looking for a time of relax, retreat and to treat yourself this is the place.
Personlaized check in (although a welcome drink would have been the cherry on top), we were taken to the Suite with the golf car and provided all assitance and explanation required after a long trip (most of the cases for all guest since nearest airport is located 1 hr from Knysna- George)
The suite is comfy and cosy, breathtaking views over the lagoon at sunset and peace is everywhere. Make sure you book one of the suites with the view, although a bit more pricey.
Dinner ar Zachary's was unbelievable, as an amuse bouche we were offered an oyster with pineapple crushed ice on top and it was delicious. Amazing service, by ladies only on that specific night. Rest of the meal was as good as the amuse bouche. Very creative cheescake, unexpected presentation.
Breakfast was ok, elegant buffet, not very practical and a bit slow in service at times.
Credits to all the waiters at Zacharie's, Bar, Concierge team for being present and anticipate needs and finally to the Kitchen team as they cook like gods..All meals tasted were beyond and above our expectations.
Nice spa as well, relaxing area behind the pool is worth to be seen.
Keep it up!!

Room Tip: Get those overlooking the lagoon
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Pezula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Hendrick C,

Your review is much appreciated. I am pleased you enjoyed what Knysna and the hotel had to offer. The Culinary team strive to exceed expectations all the time and I can see that you where impressed. Thank you for the compliment.

You visited a special time of the year and the sunsets are particularly beautifull over the Outeniqua maintains in the West.

Trust I will welcome you back to Conrad Pezula in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were guests at Conrad Pezula for three nights towards the end of our trip to South Africa and truly enjoyed the experience. We stayed in a junior superior suite which was extremely spacious and attractively furnished.

Two memories from Pezula will last a lifetime - the trip down to Noetzie Beach where the Hotel set us up beds on the deserted sand with a delicious picnic, and then drinking coffee on the room balcony first thing each morning looking out across the golf course to the Ocean in absolute peace. The beach was key for us because the Hotel's pool and surrounding sunbed area is very small and, on the holiday weekend across which we stayed, this became very crowded.

As others have said service at the Conrad is not faultless and we too experienced our share of glitches. For example, despite the promised daily change the bed linen wasn't replaced once during our stay and turndown didn't ever show up before 930pm. The reception team were a bit amateur too - an agent checked us in simultaneously with another couple and then broadcast a group briefing on the Hotel's facilities across the desk which didn't really chime too well with us (or indeed with the 'Luxury of Being Yourself' branding that Conrad hotels have chosen for themselves). We also reported a broken floor lamp to Reception immediately after check-in but this went unfixed throughout the rest of our stay.

More positively, doorman Wayne had our bags into our room and our car parked in record time and Lizzie from the Cafe Z team did a great job describing the delicious breakfast menu to us - she's right that the parathas, lemon relish and yogurt are a great complement to a plate of baked beans!

We also tried dinner in Café Z one evening and although the service was hit-and-miss the food was fine. Portions were quite small and didn't represent great value compared to what's available at the Waterfront in Knysna, just a few minutes drive away.

At the end of the day none of the service failings impacted significantly on our enjoyment and we really enjoyed our stay. The Conrad Pezula is a great location just to kick back and relax and we'd recommend a visit here without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tint7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Pezula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear tint7003,

As a Top Contributor we are pleased with your review of our property and am glad that you enjoyed the time with us. Thank you for staying with us and allowing us to be of service. I do apologise if we let you down in service and we are rolling out increased training across all spectrims to empower the team.

I am particularly pleased that you have created great memories and that we could be part of that. Thank you for highlighting some of the team members that stood out, they appreciate the mention tremendously.

Kind Regards

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews