We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel with great rooms, exceptional views, friendly service !!!!”
Review of Conrad Pezula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Conrad Pezula
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay for 4 nights at Conrad Pezula hotel. We arrived on a perfect afternoon, were greeted professionally and whisked away to our suite which was enormous in terms of dimensions and also had stunning views back down over the lagoons and Knysna township. Out our front door there are amazing views over the Golf course and out to the Indian Ocean.

A highlight was the wonderful Bar and outdoor seating areas which we enjoyed taking in the wonderful views and the zephyer breeze. We ate in both restaurants and can compliment the staff for high quality dinners and especially good buffet breakfasts.

Of course if you play golf you want to use the fantastic facilities of the Pezula Golf Club. The course was in first class condition, is a challenge but also a real joy and you do have world class views. A wonderful experience. The room had a small kitchenette, wonderful walk in robe with plenty of hanging and drawer space, and excellent bathroom with a large bath and separate shower.

We enjoyed a memorable stay, we also visited their own private beach and sat and watched the surf and the birds for 2 hours on a superb day.

As experienced travellers this is a Hotel to rave about and to recommend. We thank the friendly staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

Dear Ken050

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and thank you for your review. It was indeed a pleasure having you with us.

Firstly, we are delighted to hear that you were comfortable in your suite and enjoyed our picturesque resort. I am proud to hear that you received excellent service and will share your positive and encouraging comments with the team.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for another wonderful holiday.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed twice (overnight in each case) at the Conrad Pezula.

Hotel is a series of 'houses' that spread around the hillside and around the golf course, with lovely views out to the Indian Ocean. On the other side, you're looking down over Knysna and the lagoons. Golf buggies are available get you around if you don't fancy the walk but nothing is very far.

We're travelling as a family with older kids and booked the Grand Suite - what a fantastic room (I think that there are only two suites on the property)! Large lounge area plus dining table and small kitchenette and a huge master bedroom. The kids had beds made up in the lounge area (proper beds, not just little fold-up) and still had plenty of room to 'relax'. Lovely log fire which the staff can light for you and I have to say, a wonderfully comfortable bed. Slept really well.

The pool is heated - but they don't have any changing rooms down by the pool area! Seems a little odd.

Had dinner at Cafe Z - which we learnt the hard way - you really need to make a booking for. Some nights its quite, other nights its packed and you're looking at a 45 minute wait! So book, just in case.

Have to say 'thank you' to Nkosi, the concierge. I needed to get a tyre repaired and he was able to phone around the local tyre shops to see who had the tyre in stock, what they charged etc. Saved me a lot of time.

Really enjoyed the stay here and would certainly look to go back.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with older kids, look at booking the Grand Suite! Definitely worthwhile and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conrad P, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2015

Dear Joel O

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your family enjoyed the Grand Suite.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to our picturesque resort.

Best regards,
Victor Chalfoun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed only one night in this hotel. The room is very huge and there is the possibility to make your own warming firein your room.
Food for dinner was good, but unfortunately some days only one restaurant is open, so you don't have a big choice.
The main reason for us to stay in this hotel, was the golfcourse. This is fantastic. The course is in a very good condition and there are some outstanding views over the ocean.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Nicole J,

Firstly I would like to thank you for the review. Your time is valuable and recognising us for the experience is appreciated. I am sorry that you felt limited by the one restaurant being closed. Our Chef is very accommodating and I am sure had we known you felt limited, he would have suggested and prepared someting to your taste.

I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the golf and do hope to see you in teh not too distant future, and hopefully a little longer than 1 night.

Best Regards

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our room at this hotel was wonderful with a small kitchenette area, walk in wardrobe and huge bathroom. Bed was really huge and very comfortable with a put up bed for our son, and still had loads of room to walk around.
Shower water took a little time to come through hot but once it did, the shower was excellent. There was a nice little balcony to sit and watch the sun go down over the little bay.
The grounds were lovely and well maintained, livened up occasionally by a member of staff chasing the occasional baboon away.
Dinner was excellent as was breakfast on the first day. Breakfast on the 2nd day was a little bit less co-ordinated as they had a very large banking conference in residence and when we arrived, a member of staff was on the phone but waved to us to find our own table ( escorted to a table day 1), had ask for cutlery and condiments and whereas day one they took our breakfast order, day two turned into a buffet....but no-one said.
The staff are excellent, always smiling and couldn't do enough.
Only 1 main complaint was that our 12 year old son was not allowed to use the indoor spa pool....over 16's only....which is not in their blurb! Shame because every pool we came across in South Africa was sooooooo cold and virtually unusable but whilst they make an effort to make the Pezula outdoor pool slightly less cold than others, I really was looking forward to some swimming time, somewhere warm :-(

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcxz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conrad P, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2015

Dear jcxz8

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Conrad Pezula. We appreciate your valued feedback.

Please rest assured that we have noted your comments and will use your valuable feedback to assist with further training of our team.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Conrad Pezula soon.

Best regards,
Gert Venter,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lovely room with great golf course views. The interior decoration throughout the hotel is excellent. Bed comfortable - but not as good as some. You can have an open fire during the chillier months. Breakfast was adequate but not extensive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts
Thank Trishb2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Trishb2302,

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Conrad Pezula, I always appeciate the feedback we receive. Our Breakfast offering does seem smaller in comaprison to some but all ingredients are locally sourced, produced in our own kitchen and absolute produce integrity is kept front of mind at all times.

If you let me have the suite number you stayed in I will personally check the mattress.

Thank you for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Conrad Pezula. The easy access room for my father and the wheelchair was wonderful. Our other rooms were just as good. Spacious, comfortable and well equipped, with log fires and air conditioning! The service was courteous and the Reservations manager, Tracy Hoff went the extra mile to accommodate my father in the disabled room. The golf carts to whizz you around were always available and the indoor pool was warm and quiet. We ate at Cafe Z both nights and found the food, wine and service very good. My only small gripe would be that the bar service was a bit haphazard and slow but the drinks were great when they finally arrived. The setting is so peaceful and you are only a short drive down the mountain to Knysna. Highly recommended by all our party, with age ranges from 26 to 87!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spursfanlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

Dear spursfanlondon

It was a pleasure having you with us and we thank you for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we are delighted that your overall experience was excellent and enjoyed by your whole family.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for some more wonderful memories.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Conrad Pezula as a break on our Garden Route trip. What a place! What a suite! It was one of the most spacious and most comfortable we ever had. Anything you might need is there, including a beautiful view from the balcony.
The service was great, and we felt very welcome all the time.
The only small problem we had was to find a master key on our room door one evening, left by the cleaning lady. This was mentioned to the manager on duty who immediately came to apologize and offered us a nice bottle of wine. This was much appreciated.
Breakfast was great and the waitresses did not hesitate to move tables when we wanted to sit on the terrace to enjoy the great South-African weather. Great job ladies!
A shame that we had to leave, we could have stayed a few more days...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

Dear Gallia53

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us and delighted to hear that your overall experience was excellent.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
3.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
16.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.1 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
4.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Pezula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Pezula

Address: Lagoon View Drive, Eastern Head | Pezula Estate, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#1 Business Hotel in Knysna
#4 Family Hotel in Knysna
#5 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £180 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Pezula 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Pezula delivers a whole new world of luxury and privacy in elegant African style. Situated in Knysna, just a 40-minute flight from Cape Town, it is known for its gourmet restaurant, award-winning spa, exquisite location and secluded beach. A wide choice of activities includes golf, tennis, horse riding, canoeing and hiking. Accommodation is in 78 stylish suites each with its own fireplace, balcony or patio and spacious bathroom, 5 two bedroom villas and the grand Pezula Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conrad Pezula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pezula Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing