We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms but food and service poor. Spa is outdated”
Review of Conrad Pezula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Conrad Pezula
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice rooms but food and service poor. Spa is outdated”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Not sure what the attraction is to this hotel. The rooms are nice yes but the cigarette butts in the garden area of our room were a turn off. It took forever to get breakfast and coffee in the breakfast dining room. The food and beverage supervisor did a lot of walking around but did not notice we were waiting forever for our meals. One couple got up and left. Saturday night in the formal dining room there was no sommelier to guide us through their wine list.
Watch for the waiver they ask you to sign when arriving. It includes the phrase "we are not responsible for any items stolen from your hotel room..no matter what the situation". To me that means it has been a problem there. And it sure was for us during our travels in Africa.
We golfed at the golf course here..it was nice but would have been nicer had they included ice in the cooler with our water...they forgot. It was hot out and so was the water by the time we were thirsty. The golf course was not busy. They did not have a golf glove for purchase for me and it took forever to find one. The balcony at the club house had a big sign saying to stay off because it was "under review". This property was overbuilt and feels like it is now in receivership. Very empty and creepy. There is nothing to do in Knysna. A cute little port but 90 minutes walk about will do. I did not feel safe here either. They have "security guards" in town but these are self appointed and tourists need to be very aware that they stand out in a place like this.
Out of boredom we had massages at the so called spa. We both could not wait for them to be over. The girls who did them were very young and very inexperienced. My massage table rocked back and forth and was old. My daughter actually had back problems for days as the massage therapist had climbed onto her back. The locker room had a portable fan on the floor which was pretty tacky. The massages were grossly over priced for the facility. Spa was a huge exaggeration. I would never ever get any services done there!!
In five weeks we had our laundry done every where we went in Africa. It was always perfect and very reasonable. This hotel charged $75.00 for about half a load of laundry that was not pressed. Way out of line for what it was. The whole facility was grossly overpriced for what they delivered. It might have been a luxury spot at one time..but that day has passed.
It is now a convention type hotel. Huge rooms with lovely art in the common areas..but poor food and tons of staff but still it took forever to get food and beverages!

Room Tip: Upper floors would have a view. Lower ones feel very closed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Red Dear,

Thank you for the review. There is nothing more valuable than feedback from our highly regarded guests. I am sorry that Knysna and the surrounds did not suite your holiday expectations. It truly is the most diverse and active tourism destination in the Garden Route.

To comment on your experience at the hotel, in January we did have inconsistant service during breakfast but this has since been addressed and as you will note in other reviews, our service is back up tehre with the best. We are on a drive to invest even more in our team and they are all undergoing additional training weekly. Please accept my apology for the service rendered at the time.

The Spa has just been recognized at the World Luxury Spa Awards as the Best Spa in South Africa. My apology if we did not exceed your expectation.

Thank you for the compliment on the rooms and the art. I do hope that if you decide to travel to the Garden Route again that you will reconsider us and then please make contact direct with me and I will personally assist in making your travel arrangements in Knysna.

Best Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    142
    53
    27
    19
See reviews for
245
380
9
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a brilliant stay at the Conrad Pezula - the rooms are fantastic. Massive, with great balconies, large bathrooms, fantastic showers, large TVs, seperate sofas, great mini bar.. overall a brilliant room that we couldn't fault.

We ate in both restaurants several times and enjoyed them immensely - it is a shame that the menu doesn't change in Zacharys more frequently as otherwise we would have eaten there more. We also took advantage of the picnic on the beach which was a lovely treat and really different. I had a deluxe facial at the spa which I thoroughly enjoyed and we spent time relaxing at the pool.

The breakfast was the only slightly disappointing area - the fruit buffet wasnt that great and when we asked for toast we were given very small pieces of bread toasted.. all a bit strange!

Overall I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.. but I echo some of the comments of others that it is perhaps not on par with other Conrads. We had the pleasure of staying in Conrad Tokyo last year and it was (in my opinion) a good few notches about Conrad Pezula. There is nothing wrong with Pezula and we had a great time, but the Conrad Tokyo raised my expectations!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haeadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 13 May 2015
Dear Haeadie

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is only through feedback that we continuously improve, reach our best performance and offer our valued guests and extraordinary experience.

While I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed aspects of your stay, I am concerned to hear that we fell short of your expectations is some areas.

Please rest assured that we take every opportunity to learn from any mistakes and will use your appreciated feedback to assist with improvements.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your confidence in us.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Pezula hotel is just the perfect hotel set in SA's perfect destination. The food is amazing, Knysna's little town is incredible and the golf course at Pezula is unforgettable. Take a drive down to Noetzie Beach for an unforgettable beach experience. The hotel offers this drive as complimentary.

Room Tip: The rooms are all very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pragasen821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 13 May 2015
Dear Pragasen821

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your stay with us.

It was a pleasure having you with us and thank you for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

I am pleased to hear that your overall experience was excellent and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the activities at our resort and in Knysna.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back when next you travel on the Garden Route.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ried Im Innkreis, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Perfect, very relaxing stay in a spacious, stylish suite with walk-in closet, big balcony and huge bathroom with both tub and shower. Recommended to book an upstairs suite for the views. Ample property, restaurant and spa still in walking distance. Great service, very attentive and obliging staff. Fantastic spa with lovely indoor pool. Delicious breakfast buffet with a variety of hot and cold foods and plenty of fruits. We will definitely stay there again, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiLa1613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 13 May 2015
Dear TiLa1613

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is only through valuable guest feedback that we continuously improve and reach our best performance.

I am pleased to hear that your overall experience was excellent and delighted to hear that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
Level Contributor
207 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

An amazing three night stay in a family suite. Overall the place is perfect. The service shone throughout and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Great breakfasts as well. We enjoyed the heated indoor pool, the walks on the estate and the private shuttle to the beach. Will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GautengLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 13 May 2015
Dear GautengLad

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I am delighted to hear that your overall experience was wonderful and proud that you received excellent service.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ca
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A beautiful property with world class golf course overlooking the bay near Knysna, South Africa. The facility and golf course were excellent. Maid service needed some fine tuning; certainly not in keeping with the quality of our room and amenities. The Spa was excellent, we both did the 90 minute hot rock message; outstanding. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 13 May 2015
Dear fleish

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

We appreciate the time you have take to share your feedback with us and am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Definitely should have checked the spa prices! Have spa'd in 5 star hotels around the world so assumed a ballpark price. This spa may be good but its prices are 50% more than anywhere, leaving all of us feeling ripped off! You simply cannot justify a price of R2500 for 2 massages; one of which was for my 12 year old. What a let down and certainly none of us will return!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LouiseMcHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 13 May 2015
Dear LouiseMcHe

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We have noted your comments and please rest assured that we will use your valuable feedback to assist with continuous improvements.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Conrad Pezula and restore your confidence in us.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
4.5 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Pezula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Pezula

Property: Conrad Pezula
Address: Lagoon View Drive, Eastern Head | Pezula Estate, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#1 Business Hotel in Knysna
#4 Family Hotel in Knysna
#5 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Pezula 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Pezula delivers a whole new world of luxury and privacy in elegant African style. Situated in Knysna, just a 40-minute flight from Cape Town, it is known for its gourmet restaurant, award-winning spa, exquisite location and secluded beach. A wide choice of activities includes golf, tennis, horse riding, canoeing and hiking. Accommodation is in 78 stylish suites each with its own fireplace, balcony or patio and spacious bathroom, 5 two bedroom villas and the grand Pezula Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Conrad Pezula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pezula Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing