We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort - dubious eco credentials!”
Review of Conrad Pezula

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Conrad Pezula
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great resort - dubious eco credentials!”
Reviewed 29 October 2008

Gorgeous resort with stunning rooms and staff that are eager to please. We were a bit dissapointed to find a supposedly eco-aware sporting a menu of different bottled waters flown in from around the world! Zacharys restaurant was good food but a bit too fussy.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Very remote
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 12 March 2015
Dear Londonmallu

Thank you for you review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our special resort.

We appreciate your feedback and please rest assured that we take every opportunity to make continuous improvements.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    142
    53
    27
    19
See reviews for
247
383
9
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

I am due to stay at this hotel as part of my honeymoon in November. Nothing has been too much trouble for the staff in terms of organising dinners, spa treatments, on-site and off-site actitivties and even a special honeymoon bath! This is one special place and I cannot wait to get there.

Stayed October 2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 12 March 2015
Dear JoLo40

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

I am delighted to hear that you received excellent service and I do hope that you had a special honeymoon.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2008

i am a travel agent so we went on an educational trip to south africa and one of the hotels we got to stay in was the pezula.
From the minute we walked in I fell in love with it the rooms are unbelievable and zacharys restaurant serves the best food!!
We were treated like royalty from start to finish and I dont think I can say a bad word about this hotel.
My favourite part of the hotel is the staff they made you feel so welcome and nothing is too much for them
The castle on the beach is gorgeous and the land that the hotel own is huge where you can go horse-riding or play golf
I have had the priviledge of staying in some beautiful hotels around the world and in other areas of South Africa and I have to say this is by far the best hotel!!
If you get the chance to stay here you wont be disappointed and I cant wait to go back!!

  • Liked — the land around the hotel and the staff
  • Disliked — nothing!!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 12 March 2015
Dear shelly2212

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

We thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Pezula - Best described as perfect ! The service is impeccable, the staff are sensational, the accommodation is magnificent and the cuisine sublime. A visit to Pezula's Castle at Noetzie is an absolute must.....quite out of this world. Apart from all the staff, special accolades must go to Pezula's Operations Director, Russel Binks, and Rooms Division Manager, Carla Puverel, who set incredible standards. Pezula is a MUST VISIT destination for a real "WOW" experience.

  • Liked — Absolute luxury, convenience.......they have anticipated guests' needs
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 12 March 2015
Dear WANDERMAN

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

We appreciate your positive and encouraging feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2008

My boyfriend and I were introduced to Pezula by our friends, who live in Cape Town. They had found the resort reviewed in a guide book, so we weren't exactly sure what to find.

The 4 of us showed up in the afternoon - almost an hour late of a spa appointment that we two girls had made in advance. We called ahead to warn the spa that we would be late, expecting that they would give us the shpele about a 24-hour cancellation notice. Instead, they told us to drive safely and that everything would be ready for us when we arrived.

After driving up to the front entrance, porters greeted us, unloaded the trunk, which was completely jam packed, and brought all of our stuff to our rooms for us. Walking into the main entrance, you immediately know that you're at a classy place. It is immaculate, with high ceilings and lots of marble. The concierge desk seems to float above the floor. Everyone who greeted us treated us like we were special.

The two girls were ushered down to the spa for our appointments, which were TOTALLY THE BEST SPA TREATMENTS EVER! I got a spa facial, mani and pedi. Two women attended to my mani and pedi as I lay, half asleep in my mask. After the treatments, I was guided to the "recovery" room (like who needs a recovery after a spa treatment?). This dark, beautiful room was lit by little candles and contained 3 aquabeds that give you a warm massage for 20 minutes before you leave.

The suites are immaculate and huge. They have a pillow menu for you to choose pillows if you don't like the already plush ones in the room. They drew a bubble bath for me, complete with champagne, waiting for me after my spa treatments.

Pezula has a castle that they've built on their private beach, which is absolutely immaculately, stunningly beautiful, where you can enjoy lunch while overlooking the red beach heads and the Indian ocean.

My boyfriend loved the golf course. When he rented clubs, they asked him his preferences and gave him the exact clubs and shafts that he wanted. The golf carts were equipped with GPS, so they knew where he was at all times and could bring him food or drinks.

The food as really, really great. Very gourmet. In the beautiful dining room, I sat in a little alcove and when I looked up, there were little twinkling stars in the ceiling.

The service was perfect. As I mentioned, everyone treated us like we were their first priority. Everyone seemed to know our plans for the whole day, and people would come up to us and say, "We see that you have a spa appointment at 4PM, can we send a golf cart for you?"

Finally, my favorite part was the beautiful brand new Yamaha baby grand next to the bar. I spent some time playing for the appreciative bar staff and made some new friends.

All in all, I wish I could live at Pezula. Maybe I'd spend my summers at the castle and my winters at the resort :)

  • Liked — The castle on the ocean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 12 March 2015
Dear Jujukate

Thank you for you review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

I am delighted to hear that your overall experience was excellent and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2007

Now this is a hotel!

We stayed here for a week as part of our honeymoon and it is superb! Lets not kid ourselves for the area this is a pricey hotel but you get what you pay for – first class service, superb suites and fabulous facilities.

The first encounter with the hotel set the scene for our whole stay. The reception staff and concierge were first class – some of the well known London hotels could take a few lessons – and before we knew it we were in our room!

We had a lovely suite overlooking Kynsna lagoon (we recommend you request this outlook) which was larger than some 2-bed flats we’ve seen in London! The suites do look like the pictures on the website – bar area, lounge, enormous bed and a bathroom you could fit a rugby team in!

The spa is fantastic - great variety of treatments with very knowledgeable staff. As a guest we were able to use the gym, indoor pool, lounge and smoothie bar at our convenience. The sports facilities are incredible and the array of sports is surprising!

As it was our honeymoon the hotel had organise us a bottle of champagne and Knysna oysters for us to enjoy watching the sun go down over the lagoon! We were also each given a spa treatment and given gifts of chocolate, wine and spa products.

The breakfasts are incredible! Everything from fresh fruit to maple syrup covered pancakes to goats cheese omelettes as well as a buffet style area! Zachery’s serves fabulous dinners and everything we ate there we would recommend! We also spent a number of evenings at the Waterfront in Knysna where we found lovely bars and restaurants thanks to the recommendations of the concierge.

We lazed away days at Noetzie Beach. It is an oasis of tranquillity compared to the hustle and bustle of the beaches at Buffalo Bay and Plettenberg Bay! The hotel has taken over the old castle on the beach where we were able to borrow beach towels and have a lovely on a veranda overlooking the beach.

For those sightseeing we had a lovely evening on a sunset cruise through Knysna Heads, and enjoyed the Cango Caves and ostrich farms near Outshoorn and Plettenberg Bay is also worth a visit!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 12 March 2015
Dear SY2000

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

I am delighted to hear that we were able to assist in making your honeymoon special.

We appreciate your feedback and do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2007

This hotel really has the Wow factor. The rooms/suites are plain gorgeous. The hotel is set in a stunning natural location with access to a stunning beach with wild surf (which you definitely can't swim in!). We found the restaurant (Zacharys) to be a disappointment - the food was overly fancy and very overpriced. The restaurant service was a bit formal and stuffy too. Stlll don't let that put you off as there are loads of good restaurants in Knysna. The resort has a golf course and loads of additional activities on offer but we don't play golf and didn't do any of the activities.

Stayed January 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, 12 March 2015
Dear Bilky

We appreciate your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for your valuable feedback which will be used to assist us with continuous improvements to reach our best performance and offer you, our valued guest, an extraordinary experience.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.5 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Conrad Pezula

Property: Conrad Pezula
Address: Lagoon View Drive, Eastern Head | Pezula Estate, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Knysna
#1 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#4 Family Hotel in Knysna
#5 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Pezula 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Pezula delivers a whole new world of luxury and privacy in elegant African style. Situated in Knysna, just a 40-minute flight from Cape Town, it is known for its gourmet restaurant, award-winning spa, exquisite location and secluded beach. A wide choice of activities includes golf, tennis, horse riding, canoeing and hiking. Accommodation is in 78 stylish suites each with its own fireplace, balcony or patio and spacious bathroom, 5 two bedroom villas and the grand Pezula Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Conrad Pezula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pezula Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing