We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homebase is cool”
Review of HomeBase Knysna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HomeBase Knysna
Ranked #28 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We've stayed only over one night, but it was very good, nice and clean place, generous braii dinner was served. Rooms were clean and tidy. Nice and quiet location, very friendly staff and helpfull management. Even though we've been there very short, they made our stay very special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZuzanaKrhlova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaysoncvl, Public Relations Manager at HomeBase Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Hi there ZuzanaKrhlova!

Thank you very much for your review!

We appreciate your comments on all of our staff, Friendliness is one of the main things we work towards, and every time we get a review it makes us proud to be part of the HomeBase Team!

We hope you enjoy your many travels around the world, and we look forward to welcoming you back to HomeBase Knysna sometime in the future!

Kind Regards
The HomeBase Knysna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for HomeBase Knysna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Staying at Homebase Knysna exactly fulfilled my expectations. I experienced a really friendly environment, with high quality facilities and many additional services such as good tour recommendations. The location in Knysna is very convenient as well.
First I stayed at Penthouse on Long which is one of the amazing Homebase hostels as well.
Overall I enjoyed my Homebase experience in South Africa every second. Thank you very much guys will be back soon :)

Room Tip: I really liked the 16 bed sleeper, sounds like a huge room, but the view and space is surprisingly g...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borisbass88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaysoncvl, General Manager at HomeBase Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi Borisbass88!

Thank you very much for the amazing review!

Our extra services, like the tour recommendations are something we pride ourselves in. By helping our guests have the best time in Knysna, we can go to bed well every night knowing travelers are getting the best out of our beautiful city of Knysna.

Our 16 Sleeper dorm. Quite often the sheer size of sharing a room with 16 other people scares guests slightly, but the huge size of the room, coupled with the large space in-between each bed, the very high ceilings, the custom-made extra tall bunkbeds and the private balcony overlooking the lagoon make that a very special room indeed! The social energy we experience from this room is something else, and is often the place where future travels are imagined and planned with people having met for the first time - the epitome of backpacking!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Clean, very secure, friendly helpful staff, good location- close to Main Street. Rian and his family were an absolute pleasure! Would highly recommend this backpackers that feels like a guesthouse. Loved the wraparound deck, view, hammock and complimentary light breakfast of toast, cold cereal and coffee or tea.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wallyhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaysoncvl, General Manager at HomeBase Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi there Wallyhow!

Often have we had the argument with guests about whether we are a backpackers, or a guest house! We are indeed a backpackers, with a big dose of class!

"Friendliness, Cleanliness and a Good bed" - The HomeBase Motto. It would seem we lived up to our motto, and we over delighted to see that appreciated our input.

Our "chill" facilities are quite amazing, the deck, where I have my coffee every morning, the hammock and the amazing view is indeed something special.

We wish you well for your future travels, and you are always welcome back at HomeBase Knysna!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed 4 nights at homebase backpackers and enjoyed it!!! Nice rooms, nice employees, nice braais - we can recommend this backpackers without any restrictions!!! We stayed in a double room, but also the dormitories looked good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djudisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaysoncvl, General Manager at HomeBase Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi djudisz!

Thank you very much for your amazing review.

The employees and quality of our rooms stands at the top of our focus, and we are over-joyed you enjoyed both. Braai's are an almost daily event during summer here at HomeBase Knysna, and the conversations, experiences and memories at our braais help us to remember each and every special guest who stays with us.

We wish you well in your future travels, and you are always welcome back at HomeBase Knysna :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Staying 4 days at Homebase was an amazing experience, it felt like home. Very friendly and helpful staff. I will definitely visit them again :) Room that we stayed was big and comfortable, very cosy and nicely decorated. I just loved it... I really recommend Homebase if you visit Kynsna.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinem1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaysoncvl, General Manager at HomeBase Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi there Sinem!

We are glad that you enjoyed HomeBase Knysna so much!

One of the key aspects we focus on here is not having people leave having just enjoyed our place, but definitely as bringing them into our extended family of travelers!

We look forward to welcoming you back to HomeBase Knysna in the future! We will have the braai warm, and the pool cool for when you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Staying at HomeBase Knysna was one of the highlights in our Garden route journey. Only when we got there that we found out that they were not open until 5 days later. However, Clifton had kindly let us in and stayed with them, to be their first guests YAY! Even though there was still some construction going on, they made us feel at home and comfortable at once! The room that we stayed in was very spacious and very nicely decorated. When Daniel showed me around, I was really amased at how big and beautiful the house actually is! If you are lucky, you might get a room with balcony where you can watch the amazing sunset (at that moment,it was not ready yet but I am sure we will go back again and stay in that room!). Besides all that, Noelline, Daniel and Clinton were so helpful and gave us a lot of information we needed for our trip! We could not have found any better place to stay than Staying with them! I highly recommend HomeBase Kynsna if you ever visit there. We send our best wishes from Malaysia!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsiaTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaysoncvl, General Manager at HomeBase Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi There Msia!

Thank you very much for the amazing review.

As our first official travelers at HomeBase Knysna, you were the begging of our amazing journey here in Knysna.

We are glad to report that all the construction is now finished, and our hostel is looking beautiful!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hostel, and wish you many travels and amazing experiences for the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hope_basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.5 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
17.5 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
159 reviews
3.0 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
821 reviews
5.5 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HomeBase Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HomeBase Knysna

Address: 10 Hill Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: £7 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Knysna's newest hostel. We offer a range of accommodation from dorms to en suite rooms. All rooms are individually decorated and every dorm bed has a large private locker. Free tea & coffee, basic breakfast and WiFi. You can relax next to the pool, have a drink in the bar or wander off into town to explore the sights. Our friendly staff can advise you on all the activities in the area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing