We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to sleep and enjoy”
Review of HomeBase Knysna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HomeBase Knysna
Ranked #26 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
zarautz
1 review
“Nice place to sleep and enjoy”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Few places like HomeBase Knysna, lovelly family is in charge of this backpacker hostel. Just take 15 min to talk with them a they give you many info. about knysna and around. The rooms are very clean and the place is very quite to relax for your trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank igor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    40
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
36
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vejen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The staff is really nice and friendly, but there are so many people working there and using the common areas - kitchen, pool area - that we felt like we could not sit anywhere and talk to other travellers (there is a family of 4, the manager, the receptionist and one more). The hostel's really annoying and bad behaved dog will bark at you while eating your breakfast, and it will bite your fingers and jump up and down your legs when you enter the premises. We had a family room with a refrigerator that smells so bad you have to open doors and windows after opening it for a few seconds. The internet did not work in our room - we had to sit in the reception area or in the kitchen. Breakfast is really poor (toast, margarine, jam and cornflakes). The room was clean though, and the beds were alright. We stayed in so many nice B&B's while travelling the Garden Route, and maybe we just shouldn't have booked a room at a hostel, but based on the reviews we thought it would be a perfect place for us. Maybe this is just not a suitable place for a family, but I wouldn't stay here again even if my husband and I were just backpacking on our own again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaysoncvl, Owner at HomeBase Knysna, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi Susanne.

I am really sorry you feel you had a bad stay.

To answer your comments:

Too many people: Due to the large amount of hours our reception stays open (07H00 - 23H00) it is necessary to have many staff running the hostel. During your stay we had our management couple working, an intern and myself. Unfortunately we cannot identify the other person you are referring to, and can only assume this is a mistaken identity. At no stage do our staff unnecessarily hang around our common areas, and more often they can be found in their private quarters. We often get comments that there are not enough people here, not the other way around!

The Hostel Dog: Basey, our hostel puppy was approximately 14 or 15 weeks old when you arrived. On YOUR suggestion of a puppy school, we have started taking her to one. Unfortunately she used to slip inside while people are eating their breakfast, but we have put an immediate end to that, and she is behaving wonderfully now!

The refrigerator in the room - We apologize for this. Unfortunately, we had a new cleaning staff member training, and she did not look into the fridge. We have made amends to make sure the fridge is cleaned after every check out, and we apologize profusely for this.

The Breakfast: We are NOT a Bed & Breakfast, and most Backpackers/Hostels in South Africa do not offer any breakfast at all with their accommodation.

Unfortunately there seems to have been some confusion when booking our accommodation. When it comes to Backpackers Hostels, we are of a VERY high standard, and our guests are normally blown away with our quality and service. Due to you staying at B&B's and guest houses during your stay in South Africa, I can see why you arrived with such high expectations. Unfortunately, we are not a B&B, or guest lodge, and have always stated that we are a Backpacker's Hostel.

We are sorry you felt that your stay was so terrible, we would have really tried to have improved on any problems you had if you had communicated with us any issues you were facing

Kind Regards
Jayson Claassen Van Loggenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed in a wonderful pink flamingo room :)
It was really clean and nicely decorated. I slept like a princess!!
The people in the Hostel were really nice.
It's also close to bars and shops,...
I will definately go there again!

Room Tip: Flamingo Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Svenja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaysoncvl, Public Relations Manager at HomeBase Knysna, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi there Svenja H!

Ah, our lovely Flamingo room! The beautiful views out of the door-windows, looking right over the Pledge Nature reserve, the beautiful wooden floors, the funky decor. This room was the center of quite a lot of arguments among our build team! Make this a private family room where four people can be spoiled to a truly 5 star experience? Or make it an 8 sleeper dormitory so more people can experience the special magic that room offers? Eventually we decided with the Family Room option, and it has turned out to be one of our most popular rooms!

Our proximity to the city center is quite amazing. At only 950M from our front door to the Knysna Waterfront, HomeBase Knysna is right in the hub of happenings!

We look forward to welcoming you back to HomeBase Knysna!

Kind Regards
The HomeBase Knysna Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The rooms and beddings are very clean. The kitchen is tidy, spacious, and clean. The hosts were very nice and helpful. Nice location. We stayed for two nights. Would recommend to anyone who is travelling on a budget but like to have a nice good night sleep. Free Internet connections with a common shared computer provided. European sockets installed in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JJR_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaysoncvl, Public Relations Manager at HomeBase Knysna, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi there JJR_Can!

Thank you very much for your great review!

You must be a truly seasoned traveler to have picked up on all the small extra amenities we provide!

We felt the need to make life as easy as possible for our guests. They are so often EXHAUSTED from a long day out. For this reason we have European plugs installed in our rooms, and we have many International plug converters available at our reception!

We pride ourselves on being able to offer a high level of comfort on a backpackers budget!

Thanks again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to HomeBase Knysna sometime in the future!

Kind Regards
The HomeBase Knysna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

ten minutes walk to the habour area. They have a nice pool and some parking lots bevor the house. The rooms were clean and big. The breakfast was poor - some toast and müsli for making by your self.
In total i can emphasis.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaysoncvl, Public Relations Manager at HomeBase Knysna, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi there Stefan B!

Thank you very much for your good review!

We are very lucky with our location, so close to the main hub of the village, and with so much parking available around our premises!

We are sorry you found the breakfast not up to scratch! This is a FREE breakfast we give to our guests as a complimentary extra, and it is not actually charged for. It is supposed to be a little get-up-and-go snack to help our guests who so often do not have enough time to get something light to help them get going in the mornings!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in and around South Africa, and we hope to be able to welcome you back to HomeBase Knysna sometime in the future!

Kind Regards
The HomeBase Knysna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The location is ideal for exploring Knysna nestled between George and Plettenberg Bay on the Garden Route a 45 minute journey in either direction. The accomodation was warm,cosy, clean and homely. Bed was super comfortable and made for a perfect nights rest after a day of exploring. Hosts were friendly and made our stay welcoming.I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trulas_Madulas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaysoncvl, Public Relations Manager at HomeBase Knysna, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi There Trulas_Madulas!

Thank you very much for your amazing review!

"Friendliness, Cleanliness and a good bed" We try wrap up these three points into a closely interwoven package that we hope gives each and every one of our guests the best possible stay we can offer!

We look forward to welcoming you back to HomeBase Knysna sometime in the future!

Kind Regards
The HomeBase Knysna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The owners of Pent House on Long encouraged me to check out their newest property, HomeBase Knysna when I was in South Africa. After over scheduling myself for a week in Cape Town, my 5 nights in Kynsna were a blissful respite. The mangers recommended beaches, kayaking and nature walks which fit the pace I was looking for. I stayed in the main dorm room--a vaulted ceiling with views of the lagoon; each morning I woke up to the sounds of birds chirping.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CovingtonCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaysoncvl, Public Relations Manager at HomeBase Knysna, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi there CovingtonCorner!

Thank you very much for the amazing review, as well as the picture you put up of our establishment!

Our Hostel is something special, and we are over-joyed that you were able to spend five whole nights there!

The amount of Nature based activities in the area around is what encourages people to come visit our hostel, and you seem to have taken full advantage of that! Well Done!

We look forward to welcoming you back to HomeBase Knysna sometime in the future!

Kind Regards
The HomeBase Knysna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.5 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
17.5 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
155 reviews
3.0 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
5.5 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HomeBase Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HomeBase Knysna

Property: HomeBase Knysna
Address: 10 Hill Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Knysna's newest hostel. We offer a range of accommodation from dorms to en suite rooms. All rooms are individually decorated and every dorm bed has a large private locker. Free tea & coffee, basic breakfast and WiFi. You can relax next to the pool, have a drink in the bar or wander off into town to explore the sights. Our friendly staff can advise you on all the activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your HomeBase Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing