We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
HomeBase Knysna
Nearby Hotels
US$141
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$169
US$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$641
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falcons View Manor(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Country House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackwaters River Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
79
40
12
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
40
12
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I am pleasantly surprised by the backpacker and will be back again! Staff extremely helpful and accommodating! Thanks again for the friendly and homely atmosphere to management and staff! This added to a great Pink Loerie Festival and was close to all venues!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Piet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaysoncvl, Public Relations Manager at HomeBase Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Hi there Piet K!

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!

We wish you well with your future travels!

The HomeBase Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Our stay at the homebase backpackers was really awesome. The rooms were cosy and clean, and are decorated in different, fun themes. The team there was so hospitable and welcoming, and were willing to help with anything we needed. Will Definately stay there again :D

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaysoncvl, Public Relations Manager at HomeBase Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hi There Simsilva!

Thank you very much for staying with us at HomeBase Knysna!

"Friendliness, Cleanliness and a good bed" The motto we live by at our HomeBase Hostels!

Our Garden Room is one of our favorites, and we are ecstatic that you enjoyed it as much as we enjoyed putting it together!

Going above and beyond the call of a hostel is something we specialize in, and take great pride in doing!

We look forward to welcoming you back to HomeBase Knysna!

Kind Regards
The HomeBase Knysna Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

If staying in Knysna, the Homebase is all new and thus still a secret hot spot within the beautiful Garden Route. It hardly feels like being in a backpackers, when you are wamly cared by the gorgeous and vibey hostel community. The dorm is sea-side and you wake up by seagulls and sunshine. The kitchen equipment is brand new, the breakfast and wifi are excellent. If looking for a perfect place to stay, single or with mates or a partner, experience at expert level in Homebase Knysna. Seriously.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaysoncvl, Public Relations Manager at HomeBase Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hi Nadine Sy!

Thank you very much for the beautiful review!

Our Dormitory, although not technically sea-side, does overlook the lagoon, and yes, those gulls are a pleasant wake up call! The morning sun that streams in puts a smile on anybody's face. (For new clients, the room she mentions here is our 16-sleeper social dormitory)

We've taken quite a lot of time to make sure our entire Hostel is connected to the internet through our Free Wi-Fi, and we are glad you took advantage of that!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful Hostel, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels!

Kind Regards
The HomeBase Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I was a little apprehensive when my company booked into a hostel, but once I met the great staff team, saw the clean rooms, I was pleasantly surprised about the high standard for a hostel. Even with a doggie barking, people making noise early and late, it was after all the Pink Loerie Festival and I suddenly felt transported back to university. It's walking distance to everywhere. I liked staying there.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaysoncvl, Public Relations Manager at HomeBase Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Oh we had such fun during the Pink Loerie awards!

Everyone from your entire company was so amazing, you are all welcome back again! And Again! And Again!

We try keep our hostel a cut above what people's perceptions of hostels are, and the reviews we receive from our guests show that we are achieving just that!

Basey the dog enjoyed all of your guys attentions, and was sulked quite a bit after you all left!

We look forward to seeing you next year!

Kind Regards
The HomeBase Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Couldn't have asked for more from budget accommodation.
The en-suite twin room we were in was clean and welcoming.
Bonuses were free wi-fi and a basic breakfast.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Centrally located so even without a car, you're within spitting distance from dining, shopping, etc.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews